We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 For A Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barut Lara to your Saves list
Barut Lara
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“#1 For A Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We picked this hotel for our honeymoon and have not regretted it. There is a reason Barut Lara is the best hotel in Antalya.

Hotel - We were the 1st hotel to get dropped off from the airport transfer. The lobby and hotel itself is grand yet inviting. We got ungraded to the honeymoon suite and we're greeted with a bottle of champagne and a hot tub on our private balcony overlooking the pool. Grounds were spotless and pools were clean and amazing. Plus there were always enough sunbeds per guest.

All Inclusive - this covered everything from snacks by the pool to cocktails which was a must for us. They had several a la carte restaurants that you could visit as many times as you like (with a reservation). Food was lovely and they were generous with the drinks.

Activities - you couldn't be bored at the hotel. Every day they had aqua aerobics, rifle shooting, archery, football, pool games, volleyball etc. We also booked an excursion through First Choice to visit Side for a 1/2 day. Temple of Apollo and a beautiful waterfall. A must do! You can not fault the entertainment team, they never stopped. Plus the hotel would get external entertainers such as Chinese acrobats and host firework displays.

Overall all we could not fault it. You must have a full Turkish massage (chargeable) but worth it. We have been spoilt and now have extremely high expectations for any other 5* hotel. Thank you Barut :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Sidney,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive impressions regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you have chosen Barut Lara to be a part of your special day. Our staff has made a commitment to offer friendly and efficient service, and we are happy to hear that we met your expectations. Also thank you for your amazing comments about the room, quality of food and drinks, and the entertainment team. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    245
    89
    13
    15
See reviews for
734
606
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I returned from a well-deserved late summer holiday in October 2013 through Thomas Cook. It was our first experience of Turkey, we LOVED it!! First we were dropped off a nice quick drive away from the airport. Our encounter with the reception staff was excellent, they all spoke excellent English and when they heard it was our first trip, they upgraded us immediately, what a surprise! Our room had a spacious living room, large balcony towards the back of the residence part of the hotel, overlooking a quiet swimming pool. We had a nice well equipped kitchen area, mini-bar (no milk) which was also free, Sony music system, 2 TVs (bedroom and living room), bath and overhead shower, towel robes, slippers, welcome fruit basket and DVD player. Do not forget to check the customer service area, which is where you can borrow a DVD and book a la carte dinners! Hotel currencies were Euros Pounds Dollars and Turkish Lira. I enjoyed a much appreciated "Turkish Hammam experience" in the basement area, so serene and afterwards I felt completely rejuvenated and baby soft after a Balinese massage, by a real Indonesian lady, no less! We could not get used to the all-inclusive idea at first. We did not require Turkish currency during our trip. We could even tip in Pounds Sterling! We had such a variety of food each day, very clean and it was never a "tired" buffet. Evening entertainment that we went to was good, all ages seemed to enjoy it. Their animators roused the audiences and presented prizes for various tournaments that had taken place that day (backgammon, tennis etc). I think everyone seemed to be happy. Children enjoyed the free ice cream in the patisserie area, adults enjoyed sitting in the hotel lounge playing cards or chatting around a great array of drinks. We met other holiday makers who were all impressed, with many coming back year after year. The Barut Lara is undergoing renovation and by 1 April 2014 it will be more attractive, trying to keep up with the glitz of the other hotels on Lara Beach area. A trip to Keleici the old town was enjoyable we managed to bag a few local bargains. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms in the "residence" are only a short walk away from the main building. You need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear LadyFontaine,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your vacations in Turkey. We are pleased to receive your positive feedback and feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation. Glad to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your time. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to the opportunity to do so again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

When I booked the hotel and noticed the décor was themed around French cinema and music, I wondered how that might work - good taste or bad? Turned out to be very good - it's clever and tasteful, the hotel is nicer than the pictures. The staff is exceptional - couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Martin,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We are truly happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Barut Lara and found our facilities and staff interactions to your liking. We appreciate all guest feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The first day was a nightmare, with a shock when entering the room we had booked. It looked more like a 3* hotel and the furnishing was more similar to a dorm room than a hotel. We had booked this hotel instead of others on guiding ourselves by the excellent reviews it had got on tripadvisor and booking.com...I have to say that I really do not get it why it's rated so high. Or maybe our expectations were too high, I have to admit it was the first time we were in Turkey and the previous hotel we had stayed in was a 5* in St Moritz Switzerland.
We stated our disappointment to the consierge who was very sad to hear our oppinion and asked us to give the resort a chance. The a la carte restaurants are all free for the first time you try them, so this was a good thing as we are not very push-the-tray-buffet kind of people. We tried the buffet on one evening only just to see what it was about and the food was indeed great. Also, there are a lot of things to do as the resort is huge and you could well spend one full week never doing the same thing twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Ioana,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Barut Lara. We are glad that you found our food and extensive facilities good enough for your needs. At the same time, we are disappointed to learn that your recent stay was less than expected. We are sorry to read your comments regarding the hotel rating level. Please know that we offer a very different concept in design and hotel landscape, comparing to other hotels, but the real 5-star selection of facilities and amenities. The hotel has received a lot of recognition for achieving and maintaining the highest level of hospitality standard by the international organizations such as TUI, Thomson, Thomas Cook, Tripadvisor, HolidayCheck and many others. Our number one priority is to provide a warm and welcoming environment, and serving whatever needs our guests may have. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us on your next visit to Antalya.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited this hotel for the 5th time in September, the first time when it first opened and the 4th time in 2011 but, after our 2011 visit we thought that the food standard of quality and choice had slipped so we gave it a miss in 2012. That said we decided to give it another try this year. We have visited a good number of hotels in Lara and Belek but have always found that if we went to the Barut Lara you were assured of a very good holiday in a well run, spotlessly clean hotel, good food, fantastic entertainment staff and, this year was no exception. Reviews are always how a hotel fulfills the specific needs of the guest, couples with children will be looking for different things from an over 50 couple.

We usually travel with teenagers and have always stayed in the 2 bedroom residence. This year we were travelling as a couple so we only booked a standard room but when we got there we were given a room in the Residence - the first time we have been upgraded at any hotel in about 25 visits to this area. The 2 bedroom residence is brilliant for families with teenagers because they have their own bathroom and there is a large living area with tv and dvd. We did think that the rooms looked a little tired but they were absolutely spotless and they had all the usual toiletries. The mini bar was re-stocked every day with soft drinks and beer. The Residence has its own pool and restaurant but we never use it as we much prefer to find a spot under a tree .

The grounds of this hotel are the most spacious that we have ever been to on Lara - all the other hotels only have the width of the hotel building going down to the sea but the Barut was one of the first ones built and is the first one you come to on that strip of beach so it has so much open space that you can always find a secluded spot. We never got out until well after 11 and always had a choice of sunbeds under the trees by the slide pool, which is also near a small beach bar for drinks, toilets (also spotless) and the large pool bar.

RESTAURANT AND FOOD. As mentioned we have visited many A/I hotels on this strip and this one for the first time nearly 10 years ago and, although the food and service was still very good it had gone a little downhill - still very good but not up to the same high standard of our first few visits. They had a couple of themed nights but the food seemed nearly the same as the 'International Night' (which was 4 nights out of the 7 we were there). The food in the Delphin Palace has much more choice and is of a much higher quality. For instance, the Palace has a pasta chef on duty and you choose your ingredients and he makes your pasta while you wait. At the Barut they only had bolognaise or tomato sauce in a keep hot container and I had to complain because it was only lukewarm. No worries because in the buffet restaurant I could always find something good to eat. The wine was very good and we asked for and were given a whole bottle so we didn't have to wait for a re-fill. The cheese in the evening is sliced and laid out on trays but if you want cheese after your meal by then it has been turned over and is dry. At the Palace they have a large fridge with a chef standing besides and you point to the chees you want and he cuts it off for you. The Palace has a milk and white chocolate fountain every night whereas I didn't see one at the Barut These things may seem picky but I think I would describe the buffet in the Palace as a bit more upmarket and in keeping with a 5 star.

The service in the restaurant was very good. However, the waiters never interacted with us even though we tried to be friendly. The uniforms are a little bland and the same colour and style day in and day out. In the Palace the waiters are so smart and the uniforms are changed on a daily basis, depending on the theme night. The waiters are a lot more vibrant and interact with the guests more. The terrace at the Palace is much nicer - they have a guy playing the saxophone every night just background music but gives you a better feel when you are eating your meal.

They have a large selection of bread, rolls, jam, yogurt and fruit. They also have hot trays with sausages, scrambled egg, tomatoes etc and also chefs cooking fried eggs and omlettes. The chef making the crepes was only there a couple of times.

Lunchtime at the Barut is very good - you can visit the buffet restaurant or a restaurant overlooking the beach or the small kiosks that open at about 12 mid-day and close about 4. Here they serve pizza, jackets, crepes, fahitas, ice-cream etc. This is a nice change some days when you have had a large breakfast.

We didn't visit any alacartes as we find them a little soul-less but our previous experience was that the Barut's are better. We didn't like the Palace alacartes at all.

The international drinks at the Barut far exceeds any other hotel and you only have to ask for a specific malt whisky, tequila or Jack Daniels and they have it. I do like a Southern Comfort and this is the only A/I hotel that I have been to where they have it.

The service at the pool bar is really good and after only one night they remembered our drinks order.

Where the Barut comes out so far ahead of the Palace is the entertainment and the entertainment team. The entertainment team are visible all day long and taking charge of the various activities - darts is always so funny. The show is 9.30-10.30 and then there is live music or disco music every night at the pool bar. The entertainment team are always there dancing with guests albeit old or young or someone, like me, whose husband doesn't dance. They never slip away before the end and are always chatting to the guests. The Palace is hopeless and the entertainment and staff are mediocre at best.

You do get a lot more eastern Europeans at the Palace whereas at the Barut there are more Germans, Belgians and Dutch.

All in all we really enjoyed our holiday. The staff are all very efficient; the hotel is spotlessly clean; the food was very good; you could get a sunbed any time of the day, what more could you want.

Room Tip: If you are a family try the Residence, much more space with 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear essexworldtraveller9,
Thank you so much! Taking time to write a beautiful and detailed review about your stay with us is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of it, the calm and relaxing atmosphere, the spacious, clean rooms and its amenities, the spotless grounds and the pools. Thank you for appreciating our animation team's commitment and dedication. Your comparing feedback with the Delphin Palace Hotel is very helpful, since it gives us a chance and indication of where we could improve. We hope that you get to enjoy the improvements we are making this winter and decide to renew with us again next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We returned last week from our 6th visit to our favourite, home from home hotel. Everything was good there as usual, but there was a feeling of change. No invite to Cocktail Party, but been to them before so did not matter.

We felt the staff are a little down as not knowing what is happening while the renovation is taking place and whether they will be paid and have jobs when the hotel re-opens. All we can advise is keep all the wonderful staff as they are all a credit to the hotel. A special mention to Bakit for our games of boccia, Tan for the rifle shooting and Abdullah in the Sofa restaurant, what a funny man, we had such fun trying to say thank you in Turkish to him.

The food was very good especially the buffet when the food is cooked outside as there are a lot more choices. We went to all the a la carte's and enjoyed them all. We did laugh in the Arkdeniz as we had heard about the manager wanting people to tip the staff. We watched as people were not tipping and he moved the table further out so that people would see the box better. That did not work so he then put a candle next to it. The staff did a good job, but we did miss the old staff who were more efficient. We were not even offered coffee after the meal, such a shame.

The live music definately needs a new twist to it. Same groups who have become very boring, when it was on outside the atmosphere was much better, but putting it on in the night club was a mistake as most people will not go in.

As usual the return guests were there and it was lovely to see our friends from previous visits from Germany and Holland, also nice to make new friends.

Well hope the changes to the hotel will not be too drastic as we would hate our favourite hotel being spoilt. Looking forward to our 7th visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear kaznjoe,
It was our great pleasure to welcome your family again to our hotel. We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to write one more review on Tripadvisor. We strive to provide a unique and excellent experience for all of our guests. It is always important to us to know that regular guests like you are satisfied with our level of service and friendliness. Also, we deeply apologize for the incident you witnessed at the Akdeniz restaurant. Please know that we have taken your feedback very seriously and passed it on to relevant managers. Thank you again for your kind comments about our hotel, and most importantly our staff. We can't wait to see you again among our loyal guests next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff here really made this place great. They fulfilled my request of a room with a view of the mountains which set the mood for the rest of the week. The room was simple but very nice and had a great large bathroom and shower. Excellent grounds and awesome water slides.

Only problem was that the buffet food would not appeal North American palates as I believe they were catering to British, German, and Russian tastes. More ethnic diverse and spicy food (Indian, SE Asian, Mexican) would be nice. The ala carte restaurants made up for that with great steaks, seafood and excellent desserts followed by drinks made with name brand alcohol (in a country with expensive booze).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Kroparobert,
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer a review based on your Barut Lara experience. It is so nice to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we were able to deliver the 5-star services. We are pleased to hear that your room change request was able to be met and handled promptly and in a professional way. Please know that we have taken note of your valuable comment regarding the food variety in the main restaurant. Your feedback will be used to reconsider improvements needed. We would love to have another opportunity to host you at our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#20 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barut Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.