We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Wings Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Wings Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Wings Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 225 hotels in Antalya
south wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is by far the best i have ever stayed in. We arrived in the evening at around 9.30pm after a short 20 minute journey from the airport. When checking in we were offered to change our 3 rooms to one inter-connecting room with jacuzzi and one double, we declined this offer due to lack of privacy but the jacuzzi room was really impressive. Our rooms were very clean but lacked a view and we found the following morning that we were opposite some air conditioning units that make a lot of noise when the generator kicks in in the morning. We arrived on a Saturday when the garden party is on this was brilliant the music was good, drinks were flowing everybody having a really good time and we decided we had made the right choice as there were a couple of youngsters in the party but then we found out that the garden party is only every saturday and the entertainment throughout the week was very low key bordering on boring. The next day we got our bearings and found out that the take away kiosks only open for a short amount of time which takes a bit of getting used to as we kept missing one or other of them. The food was brilliant something for everyone. Kebab kiosk opened from 12.00-3.00pm, Ice cream from 1.00-4.00pm, jacket potatoes from 1.00-4.00pm and so on. Drinks were good quality lovely sparkling wine, lager and cocktails and all your usual spirits. Like i said earlier entertainment was very low key but we made the best of it. Mosquito bites were a bit of a problem although the hotel sprays regularly so take some sprays and bite cream with you. We went into Antalya for the day but couldn't wait to get back as the hotel was so good the shops are cheaper in the shopping centre opposite the hotel than they were in Antalya so wasted journey really. The only gripe i had was on the last day like a previous reviewer experienced there were no late check out rooms and with a party of 7 it was quite hard to co-ordinate showers etc and did spoil our last day a bit but i did speak to the rep who said she would speak to the management as there isn't an option to book a late checkout room before you travel either. Give the hotel a go though i think you will be impressed.

Room Tip: As with the other reviews high floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    225
    60
    23
    19
See reviews for
654
188
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were a group of four: 2 x adults, 2 x children aged 10 and 12 staying during last week of May.

This was our first experience of a Turkish All Inclusive Holiday, and I can honestly say our expectations were well and truly exceeded. The split level family room was well equipped, spacious, comfortable and most importantly, very clean. The pool area was beautifully landscaped to a high standard and was a great place for the family to relax. The water park is a really excellent facility for the kids, who spent many an hour enjoying the slides and lazy river. There were endless opportunities to get involved with the many activities taking place around the resort (Football, Volleyball, Water Polo, Darts, Archery, Shooting, Table Tennis etc, etc, etc). The animation team were incredibly energetic and hardworking (special mention to Mehmet who was like a Pied Piper with the kids). The beach was of a good size and again, very clean. Plenty of bars around the place, serving pretty much anything you wanted (the local Beer is particularly good!). However, what really impresses about the Royal Wings is the quality of the food. The variety of different dishes is mind-boggling and the quality is outstanding. We ate one night in the Chinese a la Carte which was excellent, however to be honest we would have been quite happy with the main buffet restaurant every night (the desserts are just fantastic!!!). A couple of minor negatives were the air con wasn't particularly efficient and was quite noisy and the entertainment wasn't generally our cup of tea, but these were not in any way major issues. One tip, bring Euro's as they seem to be the currency of choice in the local area.

In summary, if you're looking for a top quality All Inclusive holiday, this is the place for you. We will very probably be booking the Royal Wings again in the near future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just come back from a family holiday and we thought it was fantastic. We have holidayed in Turkey 5 times previously...all good..but this one seems to have the edge. There was loads to do with the water park and lazy river...although we had a few bruises from falling off the canoes. The food is what you would expect from these types of hotels. They had the usual theme nights, Mexican, Italian etc. The onsite restaurants were of high quality too. Entertainment in the evening was not as professional as we have experienced, but it was still great fun. There was definitely food available all day...the salad rolls in the afternoon (Il Patisserie) were scrummy.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best higher up..we were on 9th floor so all you could see when you were lying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner and I (both in our 20s) travelled to this hotel on 27th April 2013. We got a late deal with Thomas Cook.

Food:
The food the hotel was great. There was lots of choice and everything was really tasty.

There is the main buffet restaurant, which is very large and has a lot of different things; every night there is pasta, pizza, some kind of meat/fish being cut from the bone, kids section, desserts, soup, salad, and then a large variety of other food. They also do a theme each night, although we sometimes found that it wasn't much of theme; for example on the Italian night, there was a a couple of extra Italian dishes but that's all. But the main buffet is only part of it.

There's also the A La Carte Restaurants (Italian, Seafood, Turkish and Chinese), You only get to try one A La Carte per week for free, but to use a second is only a small charge. We tried the Italian and it was fantastic. There was quite a lot of choice and everything we had was really lovely.

The hotel also has several food corners near the main pool; ice cream, sandwiches, pizza, desserts, jackets potatoes etc. They are great for during the day when you want a bit of food, but don't really fancy going into the main buffet dining room.

There's also a patisserie where they have cakes and tea all day – really nice!

Drinks
The choice of drinks is really great. There are loads of cocktails to choose from, which are really nice. As for cold drinks, the choice was good, the usual type of thing really. As with most hotels abroad, you don't get that many International brands but it wasn't something we missed.

Rooms
This was the only bit of the holiday that was a problem. The room was really lovely, clean, spacious etc, but when we got there there was no air conditioning (despite there being a heat wave with temperatures over 30c each day). In the room, you get a fridge with a few soft drinks and beers in etc (all free), a TV (not many English channels), and the usual stuff. All very nice. We asked about the air conditioning on the first day and were told it is normally switched on around 1st May. We then went to our Thomas Cook rep and complained (the room was just so hot, especially as we were on the 9th floor) but were told that a lot of people had also complained about it, and she would speak to reception. Days later, still no air con until finally on the 1st May, late afternoon, it was switched on. Thomas Cook advertised the hotel as fully air conditioned, and it was really necessary, so this did have a pretty negative effect on our holiday.

Location
There's not much near to the hotel, just a few small shopping centres and a whole long row of hotels along the beach. The nearest town, Altalya town is a bus ride away, and apparently there is a bit more there, but we didn't go. To be honest, it's one of those hotels where you are going to mainly stay within the hotel grounds. The hotel is only around half an hour from the airport.

General hotel
The hotel is really nicely decorated inside and out. It's just lovely, very clean etc.

Pool Area
The pool is huge, with loads of separate bits and is really nice. When we were there, there were loads of sunbeds free, so no problems with that. There are areas in the shade and in the sun, loads of choice of where to sit. One bit of the pool is the activity pool which has a few games during the day, and music.

Beach
There are lots of sunbeds on the beach, and again bits in the shade and in the sun. The beach is lovely and the sea is really clean.

Bars
There are a few difference places to get a drink and have a sit down and they are really nice. The pool bar outside has music on in the evening.

Activities
There's a kids club, and there are games for adults in the activities pool, along with darts etc. There's also tennis courts and a couple of other things. In the evenings, there is usually a show; musician, Miss Royal Wings (comedy style), comedian, etc. Some nights we thought were great, others were more aimed at children.

Staff
When we were there all the staff were really lovely. The bar service is great everywhere and we had no problems.

Overall
Brilliant hotel, but I would not go there when the air conditioning is off (i.e. any time before 1st May or after September-ish, as you literally can't sleep there and that really ruins part of your holiday. Otherwise it's perfect and I would recommend it to anyone; it's great for couples, for kids and families, for groups, anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just got back from the royal wings, it was a absolutely wonderful hotel, spotlessly clean. Infant there are always staff going around clearing tables, sweeping the floor collecting cups round the pool etc. the food is fantastic, a great selection if you are not a fussy eater. Great salad bars, sweet table and food themed nights. There was nothing I couldn't fault on the food, even a kiddie area. The water park was fantastic for my kids who are 3 and 5, the only fault is the water parks shuts from 12 noon till 2.30 which I can't understand why? It's a big chunk of the day gone and it doesn't mention that in the brochure. Plenty of sunbeds, the main pool is amazing so is the beach, plenty of shaded area. The animation team were great and the shows they put on were entertaining. My only gripe of the holiday is we had a night flight home, we couldn't keep our room on (which we would of done at 10 euros a hour which is a bit steep but needed it for the kids) so you can shower in the spa area, but there is only one shower and no plugs for hair dryers etc. and as a 5 star hotel thought there would be a shower block as there was allot of families trying to shower all at the same time. But apart from that would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Lifts are a bit of a nightmare there are only 6 very busy when everyone going to breakfast or dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived late evening &had a fast check in. Champagne & juice were available, we weren't offered it but it is self service.We had a quick snack in the patisserie, lovely! Dozens of different small cakes, muffins ,biscuits & savoury rolls & pastries.
The room was a reasonable size with a smallish balcony with 2 plastic chairs & 1 table. A bit cheap looking for a 5* hotel. The bedroom smelt as if a chain smoker had been there before us. I left the balcony doors open to get some fresh air but it was still there. Should have asked for a change of room but was too lazy to start pack in up again.
Restaurants were very good. I liked the adults only corner as it was much quieter to have dinner there. I can not imagine anyone not liking the food there was something for everyone.
The beach bat was great too. Food ordered from a menu. Self service salads. All freshly cooked pasta ,& KFC to die for.
There was also a food corner with stalls had pizzas, crusty rolls (smoked salmon was our favourite), ice cream, baked potatoes, waffles & pancakes. This was great if you weren't too hungry for lunch.
We were also also surprised that we had no outside waiter service, this is the 1st in a 5*·
Some of the bar staff we really friendly Elif was great.
On the last night we went to the a la carte Italian restaurant, this is free for 1 visit in the week. We can honestly say this was the best Italian food we have eaten . Sahin the waiter was excellent.
Another little gripe was that the hotel according to the Thomas Cook brochure had reduced facilities until the end of March. But when we were there in mid April 2 of the a la carte restaurants were still closed, and the entertainment theatre only opened on the Saturday which was the night we were at the Italian so the show was over when we had finished. We watched them rehearsing & everyone said it was brilliant. Also the pier had not even been started & we like to snorkel there.
Not much around the hotel, some bazaars for the fake shirts. We went into Antalya for the day to buy some things but it was more expensive than other parts of Turkey.
The morning we left after handing the keycard, 5mins later I remembered I had forgotten the charger for my kindle I got a keycard immediately went to the room were the maid was already cleaning. I checked for the charger but it was already gone.
These little things did not spoil the holiday in any way.
We loved the free champagne & Irish coffees, the grounds are beautiful and the majority of the staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but not to go in April!

Room Tip: Room on left side of hotel to get the afternoon sunshine and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place, could not ask for more facilities. We ended up staying in the hotel all week as we felt the weather was too hot to drag the children on excursions.
Particularly liked our room which was a family duplex on the 10th floor. Mini bar included and restocked daily. Beds made every day, very sweet maids doing funny things with my Daughter's stuffed toys! We also found the food amazing, something for everyone. Only downside was I found two hairs in my food on the first day. No one else in our party did, then the next day I found a hair in a muffin at the poolside coffee and cake hut. I did report it to the staff. Also noted the brown bread was mouldy one morning after my husband had lovingly toasted it for me. Apart from these hiccups food was great. The piano lobby bar was particularly nice for an early evening drink, very nice staff. Great entertainment in the evening. We were lucky to catch Chinese acrobats, who were amazing. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Wings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wings Hotel

Address: Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#8 Family Hotel in Antalya
#21 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Wings Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Wings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Wings Hotel Turkey
Royal Wings Turkey
Royal Wings Antalya
Royal Wings Hotel Antalya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Wings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.