We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Wings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Wings Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Wings Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 226 Hotels in Antalya
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at royal wings hotel between 13th-20th october, first off all the weather was fantastic did not expect it to be half as hot as it was hitting on average around 35degrees. Not one day did we have bad weather, so turkey is the perfect place to go for some late sunshine!! The hotel staff were lovely, although a few of the staff who seemed to be higher up in mangament seemed to doss around alot more than the cleaners,bar staff, resturant staff and entertainment team who were all so fantastic and polite. My daughter has very blonde hair and blue eyes and everywhere we went we were stopped by staff complimenting her. The rooms were very comfortable, my daughter is 18months and we didnt even need to ask for a cot bed it was already in our room the night we arrived. Cleaned daily by the most lovely cleaner who was so polite and worked her bum off all day long! We did not have a room facing the pools and beach but we still did not experience much noise at all and the veiw from our room was still not a put off in the slightest. I would reccommend taking turkish lira rather than euros as you seemed to be charged alot more in euros where ever we went. The pools were amazing so clean every day and such a variety i would count atleast 10-12 seperate pools not mentioning the wave pool and lazy river. The pools tiles were slightly slippery and my little girl did fall over a few times which ment we had to hold her hand at all times around the pool. They had a large variety of food through out the day, although the evening buffet all seemed a tad repetitive. Although the a la carte resturants within the hotel were amazing the best fish i have ever eaten! My daughter had to be taken to hospital the night before we were due to depart it was a very scary experience but the hotel were amazing had a doctor in the room with in 2minutes off calling reception and then thay rushed us in an ambulance, let us stay longer in our rooms the next day to get all our bags packed and were very very helpfull and caring. We had no problems with air-con in our room, it has 3seperate settings high meduim and low so you could always get the perfect tempreture for you.
All in all very good hotel with plenty to do, the beach was AMAZING too!! x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    245
    65
    23
    22
See reviews for
722
199
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent week 42 in Royal Wings. ´First stay for us, but have been to 3 other hotels at Lara beach. The hotle growns on you, liked it better and better as the days passed. The rooms are fairly big and very clean, but the interior is a bit old and tired. TV's old style and poor quality.And the beds are horrible !!!! But that is not only for this hotel! Delphin was the same !!!But hard as rock and the whole family complained about back ache. So if you suffer from a bad back don't go. The sunbeds at the pool are of much better quality and comfort.
Main part of guests were Dutch and British, very few Russians, did not meet any Scandinavians.
I have read about entertainment team,,,,,,,, hmmmm,,, what can I say - 4/7 shows were good, they dance very well, but the shows about me and mrs. Royal Wings and so on is SO not funny and very far from our sense of humor, our friends left as they found it too stupid. So as long as they do not speak and fool around but dans´ce and perform instead it is nice. They seem as a nice group and do not bother as they can do in other hotels.
Pool area is nothin less than FANTASTIC!!!! kids loved it. Beach in lovely but the synbeds are SO uncomfortable -like the beds in the rooms :-(. The food is very nice, and the different oppotunities for eating at the pool area is great. We went to the Italian restaurant one evening and it was wonderfull and service was great. We spent 2 birthdays at the hotel and the dtaff was SO friendly and attentive. Servie in the reception is also fine. Lobby bar is amazing, service too. We enjoyed out stay very much and I will go back for sure, BUT so sad only to give this hotel 4 stars instead of 5, but beds and rooms are not worthy of 5 starts - 3,5 max. With a few changes it could be 5 !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had an amazing stay besides the sleep with very helpful staff and nice food. The best staff were Mohammed and Burak who worked at the fair ground and slides, they were good with my 3 year old who loved the slides and the rides, particularly the pirate ship.

The best member of staff was the woman who ran the kids club, i think she was called Dama. She did the kids club and mini disco on most nights and was amazing with my 3 year old girl, when she was at the kids club we were sunbathing nearby and there was only one exit.
The food was good and i particularly enjoyed the kebabs and pizza from the seperate food outlets.

The only negative thing i have to say as a non smoker is that the air conditioning in our room smelled of cigarette smoke, this only happened in the 2nd week, i am unsure if it was because someone in a nearby room was smoking or the fact that there were no designated smoking areas and people were smoking near to the air con intakes. I contacted reception to complain and the only thing they did was to send a maid with air freshner!! poor service from reception. I was tempted to put something in their tips box, not money but a tip to sort their air con out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second time at the Royal Wings with wife, 2 daughters and three grandchildren, as before the grand kids realy loved it, water park , fun fair, free ice cream, waffles, pancakes, unlimited drinks, kid heaven.
I would not recommend this hotel to singles or couples though due to the large number of children running around. I thought the drinks were a bit weaker this year and the air con needs to be turned down a bit, we couldn't get our room bellow 25` with a card left in 24/7 and a visit from engineering.
Grumble over. This large hotel will suit most people with children who just want to relax around a large pool complex with unlimited food and drink on hand. The staff are hard working, the rooms adequate, the food varied and interesting, just all a bit on the large impersonal side.
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first time to Turkey (me, partner and daughter aged 6) and we travelled to RW from 25.9 to 6.10 and I must say we were impressed by the hotel and resort. I will write a full trip report with more details but will keep this review brief.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. There were 6 lifts and yes they were busy when everyone was trying to get back to room and to restaurant at same time but you really didn't have to wait long.

Room was spacious with TV limited English channels ie BBC world news, CNN news and in the evening channel 11 had US & UK shows / films.Our daughter watched cartoon network even though it was in Turkish (I think). Slippers, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion (2 small bottles each would do 4 people per day), no tea and coffee facilities though but we took our own kettle. Mini-fridge stocked daily. Hairdryer. The AC did cool room but was loud on 3 fans during night so we turned it down to 1 fan and the temp could also be adjusted.

Pool was massive and sprawled here and there throughout the complex with bridge walkways. This gave the feeling of smaller areas to sunbath and swim. Although hotel was full there was always a sunbed available and the pool never felt crowded at all. Pool towels included but don't lose them otherwise they will charge you.

Beach was clean and again plenty of sunbeds with beach bar serving drinks only. Jetty was very basic compared to other hotel jetties.

Restaurants & food bars were everywhere. There was Bistro, patisserie, main restaurant, beach restaurant, turkish tent, amphi-theatre food bars. Food was excellent. Plenty of drinks and cocktails were brilliant.

Bars included piano bar and lobby bar which shared outside terrace, pool bar, amphi-theatre bar and beach bar.

Entertainment nightly for kids and adults with own nightclub. Our daughter loved the funfair and kids disco at night. We didn't go to adult shows as this didn't start until 9.45pm and after going to funfair we stopped to have a quick drink in lobby bar before retiring to bed via the patisserie of course and a couple of cocktails to drink on the balcony.

Shops were good. Bag and clothes shop were actually cheaper than some of the Bazaars we visited which surprised me as Rep said they were more expensive.

If you are a family this is a very good hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to come back or recommend. For adults if you don't want kids around then don't go although I must say that there were plenty of the more mature couples / parties there who didn't seem to mind at all. It all depends on what you want.

Weather (32 deg no humidity) was glorious although there was a couple of thunder storms but it didn't last long and sun was out again in full force.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and will return when we can. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Odd room nos for sea view and pool view. Take kettle but hide it in cupboard when not in room. Kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent two days in this hotel then we were offered to move to another one of the same group and we did it. The hotel is nice but with several problems. The worst is the complete failing airconditioning system: I have never seen such a horrible conditioning system in a hotel. The common areas are like saunas. When you get out of your room (in the rooms airco is OK) the feeling is exactly like entering a sauna, especially at the end of the day. In our room the first thing that we notice was a big hole in the sofa as well as the poorly finished bathroom's parts. Nothing negative to say about restaurants: excellent food and big quantities. We were very disappointed by the animation team, especially the mini club people. Instead of entertaining the children, they were selling dvd's and gadgets, even during the shows. No comments... Another big problem is the elevator: if your room is quite up, then you can spend plenty of time waiting for an elevator. Better to ask a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs. After two days, we decided to move to the Royal Holiday Palace and this was a very good decision.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just back from a week inclusive package at Royal Wings Hotel - booked through Thomas Cook.

I must say that we had a fantastic time.

Not everything was correct but overall it was great and I would definitively recommend this hotel, not for couples (there are just too many kids around) but for family with kids it's great. Our son of 4 had sooo much fun.

Overall the staff is friendly.

The food is great - but can become repetitive if you are staying more than a week.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (10 floor) with sea view. I really recommend to ask for that. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Wings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wings Hotel

Address: Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#8 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Wings Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Wings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Wings Hotel Turkey
Royal Wings Turkey
Royal Wings Antalya
Royal Wings Hotel Antalya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Wings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.