We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Termessos

Termessos
On the Antalya Burdur Road, Antalya, Turkey
5322748556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 144 things to do in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Approximately 34 kilometers northwest of Antalya lies Termessos and the beautiful Güllük Dagi National Park. The ancient Psidian city is built on a mountain platform, surrounded by pine woods and an abundance of rare plants. It’s one of the best preserved historical sites of Turkey and, due to its isolated location, an oasis of calm and tranquility.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

My all time favorit in this area. It is a combination of a really nice(little bit long) Walk and a great view. If you have fysicall problems i would maybe not recommand. Once you arrive above just enjoying the view and the tranquillity, it is amazing

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    71
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best ruins -breath taking amphitheater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

9km highway on a very scenic drive up the mountain. hike 3km further uphill in tough trails to various ruins. the amphitheater is on a cliff with another mountain top as backdrop. a little like machu picchu peru.no crowds. Alexander the Great didn't conquer this place.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A revery of bygone days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

We were glad to have on hiking boots and our poles in hand and we explored this extraordinary site, and perhaps this is why others avoid, but what a treat to have this terrific site almost to ourselves. In our three hours we didn't see more than ten other explorers which meant balancing our internal reveries with the external beauty of the site. With no archeological reconstruction work apparent, not even numbered ( catalogued) architectural elements, one could indulge in the phantasy of being one of the first to have come upon this place in the forest.

I have been to many ancient sites and would recommend this highly.

Bring lots of water and a picnic lunch. There are many delightful spots to indulge the latter.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning views, no crowds!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

The city that Alexander the Great failed to take is a trip well worth while. It takes a bit of effort but the views over the old greek theatre are simply incomparable.
While there are other more complete ruins in Turkey none are situated like this.
Some reviewers complained about the uneven paths and the fact that it is uphill.
Folks, I am in my seventies with a truly bum knee, almost ready to have an artificial knee joint inserted. My wife is in her late 60s and neither of us had any trouble walking up there and among the ruins. And we are not in super shape, in fact somewhat overweight.
Just wear decent walking shoes, NO FLIP FLOPS.
If you are truly overweight and really out of shape - do not go. Otherwise enjoy!
There are no tour busses going up there, there are no shops. No carpet sellers, no ceramics, no trinkets - just great views.
Go where few others go and you will not regret it.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Termessos is an ancient ruined town high up in the mountains near Antalya. It is easy to reach by main road, then a smaller winding road and finally by a fifteen minute walk up a steep path to the ruins of the old city. The views are amazing and the atmosphere and sheer beauty of the site are stunning. It is well worth the strenuous walk. The amphitheatre is fabulous and you can see Antalya in the far distance from the top walls. How the ancients built this place is an extraordinary achievement. We have visited many ruins in Turkey and whilst Termessos is not as spectacular as, for example, Ephesus, it has a special place in our hearts because of the setting, the beauty, and the atmosphere. A very special place indeed.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Termessos also viewed

Antalya, Antalya Province
Antalya, Antalya Province
 
Antalya, Antalya Province
 

Been to Termessos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termessos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.