We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“karat hotel , very unhappy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Karat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Karat Hotel to your Saves list
Karat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Caddesi No 60, Alanya 07400 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 369 Hotels in Alanya
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“karat hotel , very unhappy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

i stayed in karat hotel for a week with my school class and could not be more unpleased with it !

Room Tip: pick rooms high up in the building so you don't get disturbed by the people in the lobby during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We were really disappointed with the hotel. The food was horrible and the staff unfriendly. No sunshine at the pool. Hotel was reasonably clean and location was ok.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff, food, pool
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Karat very much. Although we found the price of the ac extremly high! We´d only booked BB last time, and it was so good, so this time we decided to "book it all"! When I read the reviews from some other guests from last year, I do get a little bit nervous, "Is it that bad, really"? We love the location, everything is close, you can walk for hours, BUT YOU DON´T HAVE TO! We have a little favouritrestaurant, Sedir, in the Pehlivanarea, and I promise, we´ll be back.The rooms at Karat are clean, the cleaningladies are nice and polite. And I haven´t noticed ONCE one thing beeing missing.I can recommend this hotel, not for children though, because of the small pool, and now as i hear, all the drunk russians!

  • Liked — The reception, haha!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed in the karat hotel the first week in September and i can honestly say it was brilliant......................

Pro's: Excellent location,Bars restaurants,The beach,castle,the harbour,millions of shops.everything was within walking distance.We would recomend the Greenbeach restaurant & also EV'S.The hotel staff were very friendly,helpfull they could not do enough for you especially the hairdresser Rambo(blowdry€5.00)tThe barman(mali)The photographer-Iwould recommend him he takes beautiful pictures and for a resonable price

All in all it was the ideal holiday for a couple.

Cons: There was not many,The pool does not get sunshine during the day but it is nice if you wanna stay out of the sun and its still roasting,Way too many Germans that hog the pool and dont spens a penny.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the germans
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry,ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

stayed at karat hotel in aug 07, was not impressed. staff were not friendly at all and seemed to cater for germans only. the pool was impossible to get at as there were people from other hotels using the karat hotel pool, i watched them coming in the back gate myself. we will not be staying there again

  • Liked — it is clean
  • Disliked — the staff were not at all friendly
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We have stayed in the Karat before and because of that we were shocked by its current condition. Too many russians and Germans who were staying AI so therefor drinking way too much.

We had booked BB and the breakfast was not as good as before. The staff had changed a lot and was not as friendly anymore. They had to work hard and were sometimes rather smelly.

Also the cleaning was not as good as before. We were used to the hotel being spotless but unfortunately it wasn't this year.

No more Karat for us. That's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Just back from week in alanya having stayed at Karat Hotel last week June 2007.
Small hotel 60 rooms 4 floors 2 silent lifts. Hotel spotlessly clean and rooms cleaned well each day, airconditioning good and needed as temp up to 36 to 43 over week. pool small and sheltered from sun 2pm onwards (suitable for use in strong sun)
Location on main road ,frequent bus service,800 metres from beach and 600 metres from town centre. Staff helpfull and frienly. Bar at time of visit not used very much but prices were reasonable. house credit card system. Massure/pedicure exelent and reasonable priced, staff very professional and helpfull. No hassle from persons selling tours ect.

However entrance hallway could do with sensor light. food breakfast only sampled as on B/B.Breakfast was only fair eggs bread and cheese. Price list in bar would reassure customers that prices were reasonable.
Tip ; air conditioned dolmus bus from end of beach to castle every hour, 1 lira each way, taxi about 12/15 lira.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — entrance to hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karat Hotel

Address: Ataturk Caddesi No 60, Alanya 07400 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 369 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Karat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karat Hotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.