We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh and Yes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gardenia Hotel to your Saves list
Gardenia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saray Mah. Guzelyali Cad. No:34 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 07400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 369 Hotels in Alanya
Saue, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Meh and Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The food first of all was not that tasty. My family did go to eat Breakfast but i didin't after a few days but i did eat Dinner. There is NO SLIDE! But anyways a very nice hotel with nice rooms and a nice pool. The Pool Food Place was very good we even gave them many tips. And a VERY NICE location. Right over the road you have the wonderful beach and a few blocks away you have the Alanya Water Park. And close to the Main Street and the Old Castle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My Girlfriend and I visited this hotel in July and we missed nothing.

The hotel itself I situated very close to the fantastic Kleopatra beach, very short walking distance to Alanya centre and the Bazar; no matter which direction you walk in, you will find an endless stream restaurants and shopping opportunities.

The staff here were absolutely amazing. It is very obvious that work hard to give their visitors the best stay; everyone does a good job, from the reception, to the restaurant, to the cleaning staff etc. the main language spoken among the staff is German. Although we are Danish, I remembered some German from high school and I speak English as well. We had no problems communicating with staff, regardless of the language spoken. Importantly, we did not have any difficulties during our stay, which requires a larger exchange of words. In the end, we experienced absolutely no language barrier. We felt we were able to understand each other perfectly.

Now to the breakfast and evening buffet - WOW! What a selection of fresh foods and desserts. We literally ate breakfast and dinner there every evening (it was included, but still). It is very popular and it was very clear that many people enjoyed the food as much as we did. They also have a
Restaurant facing the street, where you can buy the same quality of food and good prices. We ate here 3-4 times, which we did not initially plan to do.

I don't really these things as negatives, but it is important to mention a few things: First of all, Internet (Wifi) and the use of a safety box for one's money, wallet etc., must be bought separately. Secondly, drinks at dinner where not included, but these could be bought at reasonable prices.

I give this great hotel 5.8-5.9. If one or two of the last points I mentioned were different, I would give the hotel a clear 6! It is important to mention, however, that I do not know if these additional payments I mentioned just above, are always the case in hotels in Alanya - if so, which might be true, this is then a normal practice. Overall, this hotel is absolutely great and I give it my LARGE recommendation for fellow travelers to Alanya :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms were nice. The breakfast and dinner was great. A lot of tasty food to choose from. Close to the beach and a nice location. There are a lot of Germans there, but you will mostly be understood speaking English. For Germans it's perfect and for eveyone else it's really great :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having arrived at the hotel in early February 2014, I found to my dismay that there was a discrepancy between the flight and arrival date. I had booked for seven nights so I tried to explain this to the receptionist on the desk. However, his manner and response to my situation was quite disgraceful. I explained at length my situation, and that I would like to bring my booking forward by a night. As the the hotel was half full, this should not have been a problem. Unfortunately, I was told that I'd have to pay a significant sum for an extra night in a room in the back of the hotel that was not occupied by other guests. Upon hearing this, I asked to speak to a manager who was not available. I was told to contact my travel company, but as it was Saturday evening, the office was not due to open again until Monday. Therefore, I asked once again to speak to a manager. This time I was told in a very rude manner, that there would be no manager available until Sunday morning at 10.00 am. As a result of this, I asked if it was possible to access the internet. I was again informed in a rude manner that I would have to purchase it for 24 hours at an excessive cost for the privilege. Fortunately, I managed to cancel my reservation at the hotel and book into Hotel Savk whose staff were extremely obliging and only too happy to help. I would certainly not recommend Gardenia and their extremely rude staff to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in August 2012 as part of a holiday package. The hotel had many German guests and most of the staff also spoke German. We have different nationalities, but we did not mind this at all. The hotel is very close to Cleopatra beach (the nicest beach in Alanya). We only had to cross a quiet road to get to the beach. The beds at the pool are for free, but you do need to pay for the beds at the beach. The restaurant is located on the top floor which gives an amazing view of the sea and the castle as well as a beautiful sunset every evening. The food was fine (mix of Turkish and international dishes). Especially the desserts were very nice. There were different choices of main courses every day. We definitely did not get bored with the food during the 11 days we stayed at this hotel. Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the pool area. It was comfortable and equipped with modern furniture. The city-centre is not very far, about a 20 minute walk to all the shops, bars and night clubs. The hotel is in a quiet location, which we liked. I would recommend this hotel to couples without children. It is not very suitable for families with small children. Not much animation (which is one of the reasons why we did choose this hotel) and the pool area is quite small (although it was big enough for us).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd,Serbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location, food, friendly staff.Hotel is just renovated,smells clean.My fiance got basket with fruit and wine for birthday,really nice gesture.
The hotel is located at the best part of Cleopatra beach and between hotel and beach is big park.
Alanya is busy,a lot of tourists,mostly Scandinavians.But there is fun for everyone,you can party every night or find some quiet cafe or restaurant.Try ice cream at Hanchi!
We really enjoyed!

Room Tip: The first room faced pool,we asked is it possible to change for a see view and it was very next morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Everybody at the Gardenia made us feel welcome. The The cleaners keap our room spotless.The waiters worked their socks off.
The hotel is just minutes from the wonderful beach.
Alanya is very busy,with lots of places to eat and lots of shops.
Make time to go to the harbour and see the fantastic boats.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Address: Saray Mah. Guzelyali Cad. No:34 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Alanya
#25 Spa Hotel in Alanya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gardenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is located just 500 meters far away from the city center. Hotel is placed on the Cleopatra Beach nearby Damlatas Cave. Hotel's own beach is 50 meters to hotel and can reach in 1 minute. The thick type sandy beach gets deeper slowly. The beach bar waits the guests who are suffering from hot weather and want to eat something from the snack menu. In the beach part, you have to pay for sun beds and umbrellas that are free in pool part. Hotel has five floors that have 119 rooms' and 4 lifts. Lobby, lobby bar, air conditioned restaurant, TV room and two meeting rooms (with 100 capacities) are the main parts. Near the hotel's pool there is an A la cart restaurant waiting you with delicious meals. Also in the pool hotel has a special children part. Internets, business room, market, Turkish Hamam, sauna, table tennis are the entertainment parts of the hotel that are with charge and fitness room without charge. The rooms of hotel are comfortably decorated with Laminate and furniture, having direct telephone, special air conditions, Minibar and satellite TV. All the baths are with Shower . All the rooms have balconies and 60 percent have sea view. You can stay in our hotel Half board with open buffet. We have live music and Turkish traditional night organizations every week. There are also 3 tennis courts in front of hotel with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Alanya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.