We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardenia Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gardenia Hotel to your Saves list
Gardenia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saray Mah. Guzelyali Cad. No:34 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 07400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 369 Hotels in Alanya
DAMASCUS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gardenia Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Good point:
1- Great location in front of beach
2- good food especially cakes
3- nice staff and they knows English
4- vary clean and daily cleaned
5- most the rooms have beautiful sea view
6- the restaurant have good vary menu for lunch (out of HB)

Bad point
1- pool is too small
2- people how’s in charge for SPA is not trusted although the massage lady was very good
3- there no animation team (but twice a week some signer sing slow songs I didn’t like it)
4- WLAN internet not free
5- Safe not free
6- Most of customers are old German cables a few taking English

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The owners and staff were wonderful. Going out of their way to accommodate dietary restrictions at breakfast. Setting up the patio for an evening nightcap, even though it had been "closed" for the evening. Very informative owners. Great resource for the town and vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Were a couple in our early 20's - Cheap bargain last minute holiday!!

We booked our holiday via Airtours (part of Thomas Cook) - last minute cheap deal.

We normally go on activity holidays, so we were worried about a 'beach holiday' being too boring, however we were pleasantly suprised.

Hotel:
Rooms - We paid for a safe in our room, cost around 50TL (£25), and got 30TL back at end of week. But, it was worth it to know our valuables were secure. The hotel tended to have twin rooms, so we pushed them together to make a double, not a problem, the maid even put a double sheet on our bed to keep them together! The balcony was a decent size with a washing line, table and chairs. The room had air con, a fridge, plenty of storage space. A decent sized bathroom and hairdryer. The room has automatic key cards which we left with the reception each day for safety.

Rooms are simple looking, but didn't matter to us as you don't come on holiday to live in your room! The hotel was very full of German's, however this didn't bother us.

Food - Half Board:
The waitors are very polite, very professional. The dining room is clean - buffet food.

Breakfast:
The Turkish do not eat pork due to religion - so didn't find your typical english fry up for breaky! There was your breakfast cereals, yogurt and fruit salad. The food is very mediterranean - you got cheese, olives and a selection of salad and some meat slices everyday even at night time! There was plenty of bread and jam also. There was a hot plate, where a lady made an omelette or fried egg at request.

Evening Meal:
Every evening there was a different hot meal - including traditional turkish kebab, steak, chicken and fish. There was always the cheese, olives and a selection of salad and some meat slices. Puddings tend to be the same every night - creme brulee, traditional turkish cakes etc.. pretty sweet, also whole fruit such as apples, pears. The price of a big EFES local beer was 5TL (£2) - pretty good.

Facilities:
Very clean pool - we saw it being cleaning frequently in and around the area.
Water slide - No one tended to use it because they were older couples.
Lots of sunbeds and cushions - not close together like sardines which was good.
The gym was tiny - not really worth going to.
The hotel has its own turkish bath, but its better to go somwhere else which is bigger.
Table tennis is always good to play before you evening meal :)
One night a week - evening entertainment.
Can be a bit loud in evening from surrounding hotels - but shut balcony door.

Things to see and do:
The beach was 50m, very close, you pay 5TL (£2) for the sunbed for 2 people for 1 day. However, we liked to stay round the pool, away from sand.

We walked up to the castle - took over an hour, but it was worth it for the views, pretty steep and cost 10TL (£4.50) to get in. But, you can get a taxi (really expensive) or could take the local bus. We walked to the harbour, went on a boat trip to see the caves. Ate a traditional turkish casserole, very tasty! We strongly recommend to have a turkish bath on your first day of holiday before you get too tanned, it is very refreshing.

We recommend to walk around, chat to the tour sellers, and bargain to get a cheaper deal - You take the price they offer you, and half it to get a decent price. We thought it was better to book our own trips because they were cheaper, than go through the holiday company - however one day we did go on the organised river cruise, water falls and market tour through the company, cost £35 each. Unfortunately, we didn't think it was worth the money - all the 'markets' in turkey just sell fake copies of designer clothes. However, the waterfalls were very pretty to see.But i suppose, you have the security of a tour operator.

Overall, we were pleasantly suprised with our last minute, cheap deal to Gardenia Hotel in Alanya, Turkey. It took 2 hours transfer from Antalya airport due to hotel drop offs. It was worth going for 1 week. Good clean hotel, very friendly professional staff. Great location, close to the beach, harbour and town centre. All the inclusive hotels were in the middle of nowhere. - We recommend!

Room Tip: Always bargain down market sellers and trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Mostly German middle aged couples here, so the general atmosphere is calm, quiet, sober, and certainly not flashy. Very few Brits. We were the only ones there during most of our stay. This was actually very relaxing indeed for us because of course you don't overhear the irritating conversations of fellow Brits!
The Gardenia is ideally located, an easy walk to the busy central area’s shops, bazaars, markets, bars, harbour, boats, etc, but far enough away from the centre to be quieter. Being a town hotel means the grounds are very compact, so don't be misled by some pictures which show extensive gardens, fountains, etc - these are actually the very nice municipal gardens just across the road from the hotel! Gardenia itself has a pleasant small garden with a couple of tables among shrubbery, but there is plenty of other seating around the sides of the hotel and within the lobby. The pool is clean, well-maintained and quite stylish. The pool area is a nice place to read and relax. It’s sheltered, quiet, with comfortable sunbeds and plenty of parasols. It loses the sun by late afternoon.
Rooms are small but adequate. Ours had a fridge and hairdryer but no kettle. Beds were very, very firm. Air con was quiet and efficient. TV was predominantly Turkish and German, plus CNN and the tediously repetitive BBC World.
Gardenia's restaurant is on the top floor and provides fabulous panoramic views of the sea, coast and the castle, especially if you sit at the tables on the balcony outside. The open buffet style of food suited us very well. There’s a limited choice of hot dishes each evening but these were interesting and different every night of our two-week stay. All the food is beautifully prepared and cooked. The restaurant lighting is harsh and bright, so sadly there is no ambience at all. It closes at 8.30pm so you have to eat rather early. A bottle of red wine cost 30 lira.
The lovely Cleopatra beach is less than half a minute from the hotel, across a quiet road and through pretty ornamental gardens. The beach is excellent, clean, over a mile long, very wide, with fine sand near the water although grittier further back. Lots of sunbeds and parasols for hire, bars, etc. The whole beach enjoys good views of sunset, and is backed by very attractive new parks and a new promenade for walkers and joggers.
Gardenia has a gym, and also hires bikes. Try cycling along Alanya’s eastern seafront to DimCay (flat all the way) and then, if you’re keen, up the beautiful Dim river valley to the barrier dam (some steep hills). Or you can walk from Gardenia up to Alanya’s incredible castle. It’s uphill all the way, but take it slowly and you’ll get to the top in well under an hour. Taxi drivers will try to discourage you from walking by exaggerating the distance and difficulty. The views all way up to the castle are absolutely stunning, and there some lovely places to stop for refreshment along the way.
We paid under 900 pounds for two people on a fourteen night half board package deal from Gatwick through Manos (Thomas Cook). Gardenia was a good choice of hotel and Alanya was an excellent holiday destination.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Although primarily caters for the Germans, we were made to feel very welcome. Felt if you made the effort to talk to the staff they would chat to you. We did'nt feel that the drinks were overly exspensive, but maybe the prices go up in the height of the summer. The food was a little different, but is it not why we go abroad. There are plenty of restaurants to try, but if you only want to eat " english" food then there is a Mc Donalds, Burger King and K.F.C to try. Rooms were clean and not a bad size, air-con worked well. Location was fantastic and the views from the restaurant balcony were breathtaking. Enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year- can not wait.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I would not give this hotel 4 stars
The hotel is set in an ideal location on the sea front and far enough away , but within walking distance to the town centre. The hotel is clean and MOST of the staff are friendly, although we got the impression that being English was an issue for some of them. Rooms are small but comfortable with a small fridge for a mini bar, which we filled with our own alcohol and soft drinks. There is no tea making facility in the rooms....sadly missed
You need a mortgage to drink the alcoho asl it is so expensive . The food isn't up to much.....Foreign country, foreign food to be expected, but the food in this hotel is definately a big let down, There is a variety of cold salads to choose from both for breakfast and again at dinner(usually the day befores dinner disguised as something else).The hot food was always over salted.
The pool has a water slide which is the only entertainment for the kids (and most adults!!), and like all other hotels you had to fight for you sunbeds.

Be prepared for Turkey tummy and don't forget to pack your immodium tablets.

Overall, not a bad hotel if you're German, Russian or Scandanavian. Definately not geared up for the English. Will not be returning to this hotel. Big NO

Cleopatra Restaurant (100mtrs up the road) Truly recommended. Great food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Ok so I stayed in this hotel in July 2010 It was me and a friend and we are 18 and I had mixed feelings when I read other reviews so here goes.
Location and Things to do:
Location was FAB. Beach opposite the hotel. Beach was nice, not sand though, very small stones which get everywhere but it was a lovely beach, very clean. Bed was 4 lira and umbrella was another 4 lira but cheap for the whole day. Very nice breeze on the beach.
Clubs were not far from hotel. Turn left outside hotel, walk down the road, then turn right onto the main road with shops. You can see the bus stop when you join the main road. Buses are every 15 mins so 8:00pm, 8:15pm etc and its the bus with all the writing in different colours in the left corner of the windscreen. Costs no more than 2 lira ask for centurm, but sometimes you didnt have to pay because it was so busy! The stop is hard to find but there is a statue on the right hand side of the road, get off there and walk right, you will find all the clubs,
Clubs were so much fun!! Go on the bar crawl with thomas cook, get loads of free drinks and they take you to the best places! Any drinks and alcoholice dribnks are VERY expensive! soft drinks are 6/7 lira for a small, shots are between 8-12 lira. very very expensive. So we bought vodka in a small bottle and put it in out bag, then mixed it with cokes we bought! You dont have to pay to get in the clubs which is good! Taxi from clubs to hotel was 9 lira, only use the yellow ones!
Water park about 5 min walk. Turn right outside hotel, then left, walk all the way down until you see a crossing. Turn left, walk all the way down then turn right, its next to a burger king! 15 lira for entry and a meal with drink, very good! sunbeds uncomfortable though!
Outside the hotel turn right then left, there are many restrants and shops along this way, keeping going and cross the road straight ahead, again more shops and restrants. If you keep going you will find BIM a supermarket, go there to buy crisps, coke, juice etc, so cheap! 1.45 lira compared to 3/4 lira in the little market shops!
Only bad point is that the transfer time from airport is 3 hours and flight times are at awful times, thats the only draw back but I heard that they are building an airport there soon.

Hotel and Staff:
Hotel itself is quite nice. I would give it 4 star for rooms, Always cleaned however the maid would never clean rubbish up unless it was in the bin! Towels changed every few days and bathroom was very clean. Air con was free which you really need to use as it gets very hot. There is a fridge in the room. They put drinks in it but you can take them out and put your own stuff in there, as long as you put the drinks back before you leave they do not mind and do not charge. Only annoying thing at night is sometimes the hotel opposite would have entertaiment til quiote late and if you wanted to get to sleep this was impossible because it was so loud!! Safety deposit box is 49 lira for 2 weeks and you have to give a 30 lira deposit which is annoying but you get it back. Swimming pool again 4 star. Small and gets busy now and then but it is always clean, beds are comfy, pool is nice and cool with an awesome pool slide!!
Women staffd were very polite and helpful, men staff were very rude!! Not that friendly because we are english. They much prefer germans! By the way they are everywhere, english are definatly rare in alanya and this hotel, so sometimes you feel left out and not as welcome. Germans in this hotel were VERY rude. save sunbeds but dont use them until the end of the day, push in line for food, they were a bad point to the holiday

Food:
Food not so great. I am not a fussy eater but it was odd food! You didnt no what most of it was and if it had a label it was mainly in german. As Alanya was mainly for germans it food was catered for germans. Breakfast was lots of breads, cheese and cold hams. They had butter and jams and had fruit. Tea coffee and they had about 3 types of juices which were so nice!! Hot food was always fried egg, pankcakes and ommlettes, some sort of potato (so chips wedges etc) boiled egg and some weird stuff that was horrible and i cant explain! Dinner was not that great. They had bread, cheese, ham, cold pastas and lots of salad. Hot food was always some rice, beef, chicken, somtimes potato, pasta, spag bog. Desert was watermelon, every other day ice cream and weird gloop and cake things. Any drinks are NOT included for dinner, you have to pay for drinks! This was annoying as thomas cook told us they were included, but they are not and they are very expensive! 7/8 lira!!

Trips and tour rep:
Our tour rep Shannon Smith was AMAZING! So helpful and honest. She told us everything about nightlife (buy alcohol in shop and put it in your bag when you go out and mix) , the shops, the water park (they did a trip back to antalya so 3 hours away for £40, she just told us the one local and that was £15 with food!) so she was so helpful in saving us money
We did the tuekish bath with thomas cook because we had heard stories of men touching women in the wrong places in the ones local to us. Our tour rep agreed. Turkish bath is so relaxing and it makes your body feel better, Get it at the start to help your tanif thats what you want. We went on the market trip with cruise. Cruise was about 2 hours with a stop of at beach, lunch included, then went to market,. then went to visit a massive waterfall. Only £20 and it was all day. Haggle at markets!! One lady askled for 25 lira for one silver braclet we got 2 for 5 lira! There is a castle/tower right near the hotel but we didnt have time to see it.

Overall:
If your fussy with food dont stay at this hotel, go self catering and eat out (food was better and you could get a cheese burger and chips for 9 lira, lasange for 12 etc. Germans are annoying but they are everywhere! Turkish men do say things to you if your a woman like i am single sexy ladies! I want your lips! etc but if you said no they would leave you alone so you left safe at all times day or night! We had a great 2 week holiday and I would recommend the resort alanya to anyone, the hotel building to anyone but the food and staff wasnt the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Address: Saray Mah. Guzelyali Cad. No:34 Alanya Merkez, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Alanya
#25 Best Value Hotel in Alanya
#31 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gardenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is located just 500 meters far away from the city center. Hotel is placed on the Cleopatra Beach nearby Damlatas Cave. Hotel's own beach is 50 meters to hotel and can reach in 1 minute. The thick type sandy beach gets deeper slowly. The beach bar waits the guests who are suffering from hot weather and want to eat something from the snack menu. In the beach part, you have to pay for sun beds and umbrellas that are free in pool part. Hotel has five floors that have 119 rooms' and 4 lifts. Lobby, lobby bar, air conditioned restaurant, TV room and two meeting rooms (with 100 capacities) are the main parts. Near the hotel's pool there is an A la cart restaurant waiting you with delicious meals. Also in the pool hotel has a special children part. Internets, business room, market, Turkish Hamam, sauna, table tennis are the entertainment parts of the hotel that are with charge and fitness room without charge. The rooms of hotel are comfortably decorated with Laminate and furniture, having direct telephone, special air conditions, Minibar and satellite TV. All the baths are with Shower . All the rooms have balconies and 60 percent have sea view. You can stay in our hotel Half board with open buffet. We have live music and Turkish traditional night organizations every week. There are also 3 tennis courts in front of hotel with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Alanya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.