We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentido Gold Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sentido Gold Island Hotel to your Saves list
Sentido Gold Island Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fugla Mah. Golcuk Cad. No: 27, Alanya 07407, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 368 Hotels in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just back from two weeks at the Gold Island. From start to finish all was superb.

We had a great room on the 5th Floor facing the beach and the mountains, lovely scenery and big balcony to sit take in the view, drink a coffee, room had tea & coffee facilities. At night the entertainment from nearby hotels was pleasant to listen to and relax after a day in the sun.

Rooms are fairly big with all you need including small fridge, daily replenished with water. Bathrooms good, lovely large shower, good 'added' goodies, towels changed every two/three days and bed linen too.

Food was good and varied, not sure why others are unhappy about the choice, only slight issues some nights the dishes of hot food were 'luke warm'. Great service from one waiter in particular, older guy with glasses, a tip here and there kept him attentive with drinks and coffee supplied.

Drinks were good and strong, a double or triple plus a little tonic!! All in all friendly service and all staff happy to help.

A la Carte was good and different from main restaurant, we did believe that it was something different!!

Outside space plentiful and never a problem getting a sunbed. Pool Restaurant great at lunch time with pizza, burgers, kebabs, spaghetti and most days Turkish filled pancakes.

Entertainment team tried hard but not as good as other hotels, a good Dance Night and a Turkish Evening had superb dancing.

Only went one trip 'Discover Alanya', £37, thought good value, started with an hour boat trip round the cliffs under castle seeing caves, a trip to castle the lunch and a trip down the Dim Caves finishing with 90 mins at shops in Alanya.

Hotel itself is unique and offers a great view of the coast and hills and at night it's own light show.

Recommend highly for a break in the sun with good food, service and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    83
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
82
160
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel and had a great time. On arrival was greeted with a glass of Champagne and was made to feel extremely welcome. Room was very spacious and clean overlooking the sea. The shape of this hotel makes it quite unique and is a landmark on the Turkish coastline especially at night when it is lit up. Food in the main restaurant was buffet style with excellent quality and choice with a visit to the A la Carte restaurant which was also included. Pool area was large with cocktail bar and Grill for food, and the hotel has its own beach if you preferred to be by the sea. Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed for ten days during August 13, this is a truly lovely hotel, the rooms are spacious and the view from the balconies are exceptional. The staff could not be more helpful if they tried especially the house maids. The hotel is right on its own beach, but there is also another larger beach which also caters for some other hotels. After walking around the area I cannot understand why this hotel is not ranked number one in Alanya. The buffet restaurant has a huge selection to choose from and as for the alcart restaurants well the food is divine. And yes as in my previous review there was a nice paddling pool for granny to cool off in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

An excellent vacasion at a lovely hotel, unfortunately someone stole from our hotel room. Even our travel companions lost two items from their room. When telling the reception, they asked around, but Notting happened.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed at, all areas kept beautifully clean. The food was smashing and really tasty, Our Room 309 was massive and overlooked the pool and sea good decor good bathroom and kept beautifully clean sheets and towels changed every day. All but one of the staff were really great no hanging around expecting tips, the greying waiter with glasses who worked by the drinks station in the restrauant could hardly give you the time of day if you we're not German or Russian big parties or big tippers. The spa is excellent value for money. And this hotel is a sight to behold in the evening when its all lit up you can spend most evenings at the pool bar watching the light show alone . The lobby bar is also great very relaxing with a lady playing the baby grand piano. A small niggle was in the day sometimes the music was a bit loud around the pool but when customer relations were told it was turned down. There are a few shops just a short walk from the hotel and we felt perfectly safe walking around outside the hotel. All in all a fantastic holiday and as a couple who do not go to the same hotel twice all we can say is see you all next year.

Room Tip: Room 309 really big and kept beautifully clean by Nahil
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just back from an 11 night holiday at this hotel with my husband and 2 year old. We had a fabulous time and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel has the wow factor and our room was modern and nicely decorated but not as spacious as we had hoped. The food was delicious and varied. We never had an issue with getting a sunbed on the beach or by the pool and plenty of seats at the hotel bars too. The location is fabulous on the peninsula and by far the best hotel in the area. It is stunning lit up at night. If you are looking for a lively place to stay then this is not but perfect for relaxation. The hotel was spotless and thanks to Urfa the housekeeper who made swans from towels to my daughters delight. We would recommend Emre the photographer who took some amazing photographs. The things we would change:

- No iron in room but reception can get one quickly for you
- Mini bar in room not stocked, only water.
- Some bar staff could have been more friendly and helpful, majority were though.
-The bar next to the sea should be part of all inclusive as stunning location but had to pay extra, it was empty the whole time we were there which was a shame.

We would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just back from the Gold Island hotel after a 2 week stay 5 – 19 September 2013. We were given 1st floor room, which was to the rear of the hotel which had a great sea view from our balcony, which suited us fine. As other guests reported, the rooms in the hotel are spacious, with very comfy beds and spotless. Only gripe was after 11:30pm when things quieten down was the noise from people talking in the bar area in the dome shaped lobby, their voices echoed into the rooms above. Light and sober sleepers beware.
The food in the restaurant, we found to be very good, lots of choice, but on occasions the hot food could have been hotter. A microwave for guests to use would be a bonus. The pool bar food for lunch was also very good. Meals provided are breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and late supper at midnight (mostly leftovers from dinner). Checked out the a la carte menu, wasn’t impressed, so didn’t bother.
The pool and beach areas we used on alternate days and we enjoyed both. Loungers at both areas have mattresses and brollies. One thing I noticed was the different coloured AI wrist bands worn by quests around these areas, so queried this with hotel to be told that the White bands were Gold Island guests, Blue were Golden Bay (who are allowed to use the Gold Island hotel facilities), Lilac were for guests under 16 from both hotels and Orange were returning guests who are given a few treats.
Cold water is available 24 hours, Pool towels are provided which can be exchanged daily and Wifi is free. For the readers, there is a book swap area opposite the reception in various languages. The room safe is free, please note it’s not attached to anything (not bolted down)!.
Animation/Entertainment Team – They tried hard to entertain themselves daily by inviting the guests to join in on their activities. Went to one of their shows, it portrayed a mother and 2 children beating up each other, we walked away. I’ll give them 5 out of 10 for effort.
In the local area, you have a 10 minute walk to the large bazaar area where you can pick up some tat (I mean bargains) and you were not hassled to much by the bazaar owners. If you fancy a beach walk, the beach running alongside the other hotels in the area will take around 50 minutes there and back. You also have the usual beach activities parasailing, banana boat and pirate boat rides etc.
Currency asked/preferred by the hotel and shops was euro’s or dollars, but they will take lira.
Guests in the hotel during our stay were multi-national with a good few from the UK. Must admit, only heard 1 Russian person who was complaining to reception that signs and notices etc in the hotel were in English only.
We will return to this hotel in the future and will recommend the hotel to family and friends.
Gold Island keep up the good work and people will return.

Room Tip: The Island rooms look nice, but where they are located, glad we were not allocated one as it felt yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentido Gold Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Gold Island Hotel

Address: Fugla Mah. Golcuk Cad. No: 27, Alanya 07407, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 368 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Gold Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Gold Island is built in an unusual architectural style and opened in 2011. The hotel is located on a magnificent peninsula surrounded by turquoise waters of the Mediterranean Sea with golden sand beaches. Directly at the Turkish Riviera is the SENTIDO Gold Island at the beach of Fugla. Besides the beaches you can find a lot of cultural aspects and historical background. The city Avsallar is around 2 km away from the hotel. This area is ideal for shopping trips. Furthermore, Alanya is around 20 km away from the SENTIDO Gold Island and the airport of Gazipasa is 70 km away from the hotel. The SENTIDO Gold Island offers a huge variety of meals and dishes. The breakfast is in the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Gold Island. Moreover, the lunch and dinner will be prepared in form of a buffet with fresh meals. Besides the main restaurant you have got the possibility to eat in one of the two À la Carte-Restaurants. Furthermore, you get small snacks at the pool and lobby bar. You can enjoy the sunset with a nice drink at the pool bar in the evening. You have the possibility to use all the facilities in the hotel. Inside of the SENTIDO Gold Island you can find the indoor pool with the spa-area. Here you can get different massage programs. Outside you can use the pool, play tennis, beach ball and basketball. Furthermore, you can work out in the gym and stay fit during your holidays. For children we have got a Mini-Club (for children in the age from 4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sentido Gold Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentido Gold Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.