We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alanya Kalesi (Castle)

Alanya Kalesi (Castle)
Alanya, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Alanya
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent views of surrounding area - but not for the sufferers of vertigo. Bus ride there is scarier than any rollercoaster I've ever been on. Castle itself bit of a let down just few holes in ground and crumbly rocky bits

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    232
    75
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“V Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Get a Taxi from the harbour they will take you for a tour round the castle (about an hour) well worth it our cabbie was funny and very informative. Cost us 50 TL

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Tower, great views, no signs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We paid the TL 10pp to get into the Tower/ Bastion bit but it seemed like some paths inside were barriered off from visitors as was the barracks section so really, you can get around in 15 minutes and we even took our time to enjoy the view which is lovely.

There is a sign before you enter with historical facts but it would have been useful to perhaps put up signs inside to guide you through what was used for what purposes. I felt the whole castle area was lacking information. They still seem to be getting many visitors even in November so for the money they charge they could get some signs made with more info. I would recommend taking the bus from the bottom of the hill which gets you all the way up to the top for EUR 1.50 or there are taxis at the bus stop offering to squeeze in 7 people for EUR 1 pp.

It is a nice walk down the hill with many restaurants and elderly ladies selling all sorts of very pretty hand made rugs, lanterns etc. all for around EUR 1.

When you get down to the Red Tower level you can choose to buy a saver ticket which grants you access to the red tower and the castle museum bit including the shipyard - we skipped the Red Tower and headed straight for the shipyard where, if you are willing to pay a few EUR you can have a wander through the catacombs - finally some signs and descriptions to the items ( cannons, catapults, etc.) on display there. The more adventurous can climb up from the cavern to the upper levels. This section is certainly not suited for wheelchair users.

We finished off our castle-tour with a visit to the Harbour Restaurant with great food and a refreshing fruit cocktail.

All in all it was interesting but you are better off taking a guide book with you if you are keen to walk away from the experience having actually learnt something.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled up to the Castle by bus 1.5 lira each - the views were stunning. Well worth the trip up there. We took a slow walk back down the hill and there were plenty of cafes/bars to stop for a drink or to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alanya by night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Alanya by night tour took us to the castle which was interesting to get some local culture. Also included a boat ride to see from all angles. Really lovely day

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alanya Kalesi (Castle) also viewed

Alanya, Turkish Mediterranean Coast
Alanya, Turkish Mediterranean Coast
 
Alanya, Turkish Mediterranean Coast
Alanya, Turkish Mediterranean Coast
 

Been to Alanya Kalesi (Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alanya Kalesi (Castle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alanya Kalesi (Castle) to your Saves list