We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saphir Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saphir Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Saphir Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alara Turizm Center | Okucular, Alanya 07460, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 368 Hotels in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Saphir Resort & Spa for two weeks in early July 2011. We found everything to be very fine and the staff to be friendly. The hotel itself was in very good condition and kept very clean all the time.

Beach and pool:
For us beach was very nice with plenty of free sun beds. However, if you have small children you should be aware that it is getting deep very fast - something we and our children (13, 15) like, but not ideal if you have small children. The pool area is also very nice, but securing a sun bed is more challenging here. The garden is very beautiful and kept very well.

Animation:
The animation team was doing a good job, with the evening entertainment being the weakest part.

Food:
As for the food there are one buffet restaurant with a fairly big variation of dishes. The food are at all times arranged beautifully with e.g. vegetables carved as flowers. You also find an ala carte restaurant at the hotel, serving either Italian or Osmanic food, which you can visit for free once a week. If you want to eat there more often it is for an extra small cost. Besides the restaurant there are a snack bar near the pool area which serves e.g. hamburgers and salad and a beach snack bar which serves a kind of hotdogs and some very delicious filled Turkish flatbread. Of cause there is also cake and ice-cream so you will definitely never go hungry.

Things to do:
The main drawback for this hotel is the location which is quite far from good shops and local restaurants. The nearby Alara Grand Bazar (370 shops) is really a rip-off. However we rented a car for a couple of days (there are a lot of beautiful places to go and see within a few hours' drive e.g. Dim Cay, Sapadere, Side, Manavgat) and also went to Alanya by bus one day.
We tried the go-carts and the Water Planet, which are both within walking distance of the hotel. Go-carts were really fun and relatively cheap, whereas the Water Planet was a little too crowded compared to the number of slides.

Spa:
The spa is also worth a visit. We tried a package with Hamam including scrub and soap massage followed up by relaxation and mud-mask and a long nice body oil massage. Surprisingly they do not have fixed prices so you have to bargain for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
63
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Went to this resort from 12.05.11 - 20.05.11. To sum up in one word - WOW. The whole resort was stunning and exceeded all of our expectations. I went in a group of 7 adults and all agree that it is one of the best places we have ever been.

What was so great? Well, to start with, the place is spotless. There are cleaning teams constantly working around the place from everywhere from rooms to the gardens. I witnessed petals from flowers falling onto the paths, and within 5 mins, a gardener arrived and swept them up! The staff are very very good and there is always a smile to accompany your request. The food was outstanding in both choice, quantity and quality. Don't think I've ever eaten so much on one holiday!

The on site entertainment team (animation team) were great and we soon got to know them. We were the only English people staying when we got there, and the resort caters mostly for German and Russian tourists. Don't let this put you off though. Most staff were keen to practice English and enjoyed having us there. All the reception staff speak very good English and you really don't need to speak any other languages to get along!

The pools and leisure areas are fantastic. Snacks and drinks available all day. Beach nice with certainly no shortage of sunbeds anywhere!

Rooms very spacious and very well maintained and cleaned.

All in all, a really fantastic resort and truly deserving of a 5 star review. Go visit!

Room Tip: Aim for rooms on floors 1-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We travelled as a group of 7, aged between 27 and 64. The hotel animation team were very excited to find out that we were English, as (in their words) they 'love' English people! This meant we got a lot of attention throughout our stay, as we were the only English group in the hotel for most of the week. The hotel is mainly occupied by Russians and Germans - we found the Germans to be quite friendly if you spoke to them. The staff in the hotel were generally excellent and very helpful, and although their English wasn't always great, most of them did try to communicate with us.

The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious. The only down-side was that we had booked a sea view, and were only allocated a side sea view. We asked to move and were told that we couldn't, but we didn't really spend much time in the rooms anyway.

The hotel itself is beautiful, and you certainly get five star treatment. The food is amazing - something for everyone. Drinks are generally good (the beer is a little bit weak) but because we stayed off peak the main billiard bar wasn't open. The lobby bar was lovely with views out to sea, but drinks are only all inclusive in that bar until 11pm. The outdoor pool bar serves free drinks until 12.30am, but the staff in that bar didn't really speak english at all. We ended up with some strange drinks!

The location of the hotel is great if you just want to relax by the pool, on the beach, or in the bar. The ancient town of Side is about half an hour one way (well worth a visit), and Alanya is half an hour the other way. Buses and tours are available, but there isn't anything within walking distance of the hotel. If you just want a relaxing holiday with maybe one day out, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The Animation team really made our holiday, organising activities and sports throughout the day, and provising a variety of entertainment at night. They are so friendly and really get you involved, and are great with the children. In particular, Deniz, Ozzie and Chartai were fantastic and spoke great English.

All in all we loved the holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Saphir. Just be aware that there are two Saphir hotels very close to each other, so make sure your transfer driver knows that it is the 5* Saphir Resort and Spa in Ockurcalar, as we nearly got taken to the 4* Saphir instead!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed at the Saphir Resort and Spa hotel which is a lovely hotel. It has a great pool and there is a smaller shaded pool for the children. There are plenty of sunbeds for guests and away from the pool there are hammocks and large wicker furniture for you to use. The beach has quite a lot of pebbles towards the sea and the sea has quite a sharp drop very close to the front so not suitable for children. Food was great, I ate far too well!! The hotel is very clean and most of the staff were great, however, their English wasnt as good as their Russian or German but it was better than my Turkish. The entertainment at night is dreadful and Im being generous. The spa is great but I didnt use it as it was so expensive. I didnt get a sea view room at first so I asked to move and they did. However, it seems that if you give a very generous tip, you get a great room!!! We met 2 English families there but that was it. It is in the middle of no-where but buses run frequently and are very cheap ( 2 euros ) for a 30km trip. There is a little water park with 3 slides for the children which all the children loved. The staff work long hard hours and nothing was too much trouble for them. The only down side is that the Russian are very rude, they do not queue and they just push in front of you and it is full of Russians. Dont book trips with the hotel as they charge double. Go up the road under the subway to the Bazar and on the corner see Dr Peace. You cant miss him as he has a slight growth on his cheek. He is fantastic, does great dealsand speaks great English.

Room Tip: A generous tip when you arrive at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Four of us visited the Saphir Spa Resort and Hotel. (Not to be confused with the Saphir Hotel). It was lovely, spacious, well kept and really clean. Our room was well sized with a double bed, a single and a pull out sleeper. It was cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding as required. the mini bar was restocked with water each day.

The food was great - a wide selection and plentiful, obviously turkish based. I imagine the restaurants would get very, very busy in high season. There was a high proportion of Russian guests, who seem to have a diffent culture to ours and do not expect to queue, either for food or at the bar, so you have to get used to standing your ground. The waiters were really attentive, obviously adore children and did their best to help us all the time.

The alcohol is quite weak against UK standards (beer 3%) and for some reason the waiters were reluctant to part with the local equivalent of Baileys.

The pools were very clean and tested every day. The only English TV station was the news channel.

Our daughters adored the Animation Team who amongst many other things ran the mini club and mini disco. I felt they were totally safe, stimulated and well cared for the whole time they were in mini club. (10-12 and 3-5). This team work really hard and speak a variety of languages, so all the children can be involved.

The hotel is a resort hotel, so there isn't really anywhere to go for a stroll at night, but there is entertainment provided each evening.

The hotel does do Turkish massage etc, but if you go up to the Bazaar across the main road, you can get better deals. The local buses run to Alanya and Side etc at a pretty reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

PLEASE CONSIDER THIS REVIEW ONLY IF YOU INTEND TO GO THERE WITH INFANTS AND WANT TO SPEND A NICE, RESTFUL VACATION!
We spent our family holiday at the Saphir Resort and Spa end ofJune - start ofJuly 2010.
I will start by pointing out the negative aspects of the holiday and/or the hotel:
1. We had a sea/pool-view ROOM on the 6th floor (the 30 euro that we put into the passport worked wonders...), which meant that we could see absolutely everything from up there, so the view was amazing. We wanted (and tipped for) to get a sea-view room, but little did we know what that was going to do to us, since the room was not only sea -oriented but also pool-oriented, which meant constant noise from the pool entertainment team, constant noise from the open restaurant, constant noise from the nearby disco. Long story short: we had to get up each day at seven a.m, along with the hungry tourists having their breakfast at that hour, at noon we could barely put our child (and ourselves) to sleep 'cause it was just the time for pool entertainment, and had to stay up until midnight, because that was when the nearby disco would stop the noise. On the other hand, our friends got a street-view room, which meant that they had to listen to the praying activities at least five times a day, so..... This is the sleep-wise and rest-wise opinion, sleep: we had none of that…Had we not had our little daughter with us, maybe all the noise and the music would have been just great, but she was there so we struggled to observe her home routine...
2. The BEACH IS NOT SANDY (and unfortunately we did not know that upon booking…never thought the sand would be a problem) It is full of rocks and gravel and no sand at all, except for just a small part, but not on the water-level, so it was impossible for us to play with our daughter in the water and build sand castles and use the plastic buckets, you know what I mean…. The sea-water was dirty and impossible to swim in 'cause of the extremely and unexpectedly low temperature (and I am quite a good swimmer but still did not care to venture in such deep and troubled waters, not to mention our little daughter...). Also, at 5.30 p.m. we had to simply leave the seaside, because the sun would go down and the temperature would simply drop. We never had this problem in Greece or Tunisia or Italy, but it was our fault that we did not get informed prior to booking....So, if you are interested in actually spending some time on a fine sandy beach, this is not the place for you. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere…….we walked some hundred meters along the beach (and destroyed our feet while carrying our daughter on our shoulders…) and it seemed like we were in some desert place…
3. POOL CHAIRS.Well, that is another story: we had to get up at SIX a.m. and occupy our chairs in order to make sure we had something to sit on while by the pool. That is a really stupid thing, a 5* hotel such as this SHOULD provide ALL tourists with pool chairs, having to get up so early to occupy a chair is simply ridiculous. But this happens in so many hotels that tourists are no longer bothered and go along with the chair-"routine". Well, we did not like it at all. We had to get up earlier than we usually do when going to work, which was really nerve wrecking...
4. The DRINKS by the pool and at the pool bar. We do not care much for alcohol and/or soft drinks and coffee in general (although, may I say, we are fine connaisseurs and like to enjoy responsibly). BUT: all drinks, irrespective of kind, were awful and water-altered. The ice cream and the snacks were never enough for everyone, basically in this hotel you need to queue for everything and expect for everything to end just in front you, because the Russians are every where and eat for three…
5. The FOOD: the food was varied (but the same everyday) and nicely arranged still it was clearly determined in order to meet Russian cuisine requirements. BE ADVISED: we were NOT on a diet, we are NOT very picky, we pretty much eat everything as long as it tastes well. We only ate what we thought was “safe” since there were so many strange dishes (the Russian were quite excited about the food, but the rest of us did not know what the hell they were eating (and I mean strange soups, strange mixages that were rather appropriate for a cottage-style accommodation and not for a 5* hotel…). The food is not labeled in English
(except for a few dishes) so either you go with the flow or eat whatever looks familiar (or learn Russian while on the flight:)…Again, we had to queue for everything and WATCH THE RUSSIANS TASTE A CERTAIN TYPE OF FOOD BY SIMPLY PLACING IN THEIR OWN MOUTH THE SPOON THAT THE REST OF THE TOURISTS WOULD USE TO TAKE THE FOOD OUT AND PUT ON THEIR DISH!!!!!! The special eating chairs for the children were never enough, it is like the hotel management did not know how many tourists were in their hotel, since they run short on everything, from food to pool-chairs……..
6. HOUSEKEEPING: we had our room cleaned everyday (each morning we would leave the wonder-making euro for the cleaning lady). Our friends did not have their room cleaned for two days in a row (and they had a little pampers-using child, so one can only imagine…) but everything changed after they realized that they had to pay for it.
7. CHILDREN’s entertainment: the hotel is not adequately equipped for little children (although it says: ideal for families with children, I don’t think so…): just a mini disco (same extremely loud routine each night, and only for older children) and a very small park and...that’s just about it.
8. AIRPORT: the hotel is at a 2.30h bus drive away from the airport, which meant spending almost three hours from the airport to the hotel (all procedures included). We will never again choose a hotel that is more than 20 km away from the airport…
9. This is a RUSSIAN-occupied hotel, and everything is for them, which is quite
annoying, since the hotel management should treat all their guests with the same attention.
Well, all these negative aspects are something common with such large hotels. Next time we will choose a smaller, more intimate up to 200-room 5*hotel, in order to feel like we are on a vacation and not on a constant race for good food, pool chairs, ice cream, a table to eat at on the terrace… The entire vacation was something like: let’s hurry, the Russians will eat everything and occupy all chairs by the pool (actually place the towels on and not actually sitting on them but a lot closer to the vodka location:). And mind you, we stayed in hotels in Vienna, Budapest, Italy, Holland, France, Tunisia, Greece, etc, so this was NOT our first time in a 5*hotel...

POSITIVE ASPECTS:
The hotel in itself is new, modern and very, very comfortable. The rooms are big and adequately equipped, housekeeping services and towels changed on a daily basis (we paid each day for the housekeeping, so I cannot say for sure if that’s the actual hotel policy…). Elevators are great and large. Clean is the word of the day with the hotel, which is remarkable. The reception hall is also great. The pool is great, the hotel garden is very nice, the hotel staff is friendly and polite. In all fairness and objectiveness to the hotel and hotel staff and services, you get value for money. It's just the small details that drive you mad... FROM THE ACCOMMODATION PERSPECTIVE, THIS IS REALLY A 5* HOTEL.

Room Tip: 30 euro in the passport and wishes come true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Nice Hotel, very clean, good value! I liked the pool - fresh water every day! Good food and nice enough staff. I will go there again. Nice garden.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saphir Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Resort & Spa

Address: Alara Turizm Center | Okucular, Alanya 07460, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Alanya
#18 Spa Hotel in Alanya
#26 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saphir Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saphir Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saphir Resort And Spa
Saphir Hotel Alanya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphir Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.