We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for at least 6 months!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka

Save Saved
You added Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka to your Saves list
Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique BP 347, Tabarka BP347, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Tabarka
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closed for at least 6 months!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel should not be listed. We booked 3 nights for June 13-16, 2012 through Expedia. We confirmed our reservation with Expedia the night before and was told that all was in order. We arrived in Tunis, drove 4 hours to Tabarka (through the villages), arriving in the evening after dark. When we found the hotel, the gate was barred and the the hotel was completely dark. We drove to a nearby hotel and learned that the Royal Golf had been closed for at least 6 months!
We were able to get another room for the night, and the next day searched for a different hotel for the following two nights. We received a refund from Expedia, but are waiting to see if they will offer some sort of compensation for the inconvenience of arriving at night and finding that our reserved hotel is no longer in operation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We should have been warned by the fact that it was the only hotel that was available for the holiday weekend! When we arrived the air-conditioner was not working. The manual controls for it were taken out, perhaps to save money. The food at breakfast was terrible - not much on offer, no fresh fruit, freezing scrambled eggs and stale croissants every morning. The staff were friendly but not very helpful. We went to the beach and asked if there were towels or beds available there and they said absolutely. When we get to the beach there's one bed available, no towels and a member of staff that might as well have been asleep! The pool looked dirty and the gym was a joke - a couple of machines at the end of the tiny indoor pool that was filthy. I found the experience frustrating and just not acceptable. This hotel needs to be downgraded to a 2 star at best. It may have been 4 star a couple of year ago but it has really deteriorated. The only thing 4 star about it was the price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tabarka hotels

Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I guess coming from Egypt with a wide range of variety for hotels and amazing and impeccable hotel hospitality standards, this expereience was a nightmare!!!!!!!!!. It looks good in the pictures but in reality a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. My kids and I were visiting my husband for 10 days who works in Algeria and decided to take a 9 hour drive to Tabarka for a long weekend. We did our necessary internet research, looked at pictures, read reviews and booked accordingly at the Royal Golf.............................what a choice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Looks poor from the outside and then a very nice lobby giving a good impression of what we would find as rooms...............Unfortunately the rooms were just like the outside. Vey poor standards. Big rooms yes but overused furniture, bad toilet smell and the cooridors to the rooms are stuffy and humid. Worst of all there are ACs in the room that are working but have no coldness coming out of them at all. We slept at night sweating like crazy. The technician came 3 times but no sucess. As for the cusine, its very very poor expecially breakfast. No choice at all and I had to wait for 10 mts just to get a clean coffee cup.....so this gives you and overall idea. Staff maybe trying but the hotel capability is lacking big time. The only thing that can be spoken well off are the friendly reception staff, the poor bell captain (that is in charge of everything, from luggage to fixing tv's ....) and the animation team. Sorry to say but NEVER again and I wish there were some honest reviews so we may have chosen correctly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We have just spent 6 days in the Royal Golf in Tabarka with our three kids, it's a 4 star hotel with poor room decoration but the rooms are large and confortable, the stairs to get to the rooms are quite puzzling but it's OK, the food is below average when you have tasted the good restaurant you can find in the village of Tabarka (we advise that you go to backstreet restaurants, avoid touristic ones (expensive and not good), the great thing about the hotel is the sport facilities, the pool is really nice and even if we went in August, we did't have a crowded one, you have archery ground, table tennis, beach volley, mini golf around the pool and tennis courts just at the parking lot. You have to walk to get to the beach which is 200 meters away (across the road) but that's fine, the weak point was the animations at night, the kids couldn't really enjoy them since there was hardly nothing.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka

Address: Zone Touristique BP 347, Tabarka BP347, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Jendouba Governorate > Tabarka
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tabarka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tabarka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Tabarka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Golf Hotel Tabarka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.