We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded grandeur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Mimosas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Mimosas to your Saves list
Les Mimosas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Habib Bourguiba, Tabarka 08110, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tabarka
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Faded grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We loved this colonial style building set above Tabarka and just a short walk away from the centre of the town. It has superb views and we were lucky enough to get what we think must have been the best room - double doors onto a huge double room. Yes, it is shabby round the edges and could do with updating - but we loved it for that! We stayed for two nights and it was good value. The food was a little uninspiring and the dining room typically brightly lit, but the lounges elsewhere were good to spend time in. Because of the uncarpeted stone floor the noise from the bar/lounges carried up to our room and we were disturbed by some guests talking very loudly until the early hours. We did complain, but then when they left we could hear the staff rearranging the furniture for quite a while. I think this was an unusual occurrence - certainly at that time of year, and our second night was totally undisturbed. Otherwise the service was excellent. Would highly recommend - but it is for people who appreciate shabby chic.

Room Tip: Ask for the big double room with the double doors overlooking the pool on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
700 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I have been to this hotel a couple of times while living in Tunisia. This is not a luxurious place and many things could be improved to upgrade the premises. However, it retains a quaint and cosy atmosphere. Perched on a hill, the view over Tabarka and the bay is stunning. There is a swimming pool, but I have always seen it empty. The garden is a pleasant place to rest, read and enjoy the panorama.
The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The lounges next to the reception are nice in the evening. The restaurant has a panoramic view. It is quite pleasant in the morning for breakfast on a sunny day. Pity that Tunisian breakfasts often lack quality. This is no exception.
The rooms would definitively need to be revamped, particularly the bathrooms.
And yet, this place remains an enjoyable spot to stay while visiting this little seaside resort.

Room Tip: Choose the main building rather than the back annex. There are two suites on the first floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

First of all, most Tunisian hotels aren't the greatest thing in the world. I feel bad for some of the reviewers who seemed to be expecting something great, and instead got this run-of-the-mill, rather run-down, hotel. However, it was clean, the service was hospitable, and the view is great.

We stayed in the colonial house, which when we drove up on a rainy, cold day, looked a lot like we were going to the Shining hotel. Luckily, we were greeted warmly and we got a pleasant enough room just over the pool. Unfortunately, the windows were so small it was difficult to enjoy the view. The bathroom was clean. The lighting, like a lot of places in Tunisia, is atrocious. The mattresses (yes, only two double beds smushed together for my wife and I) were passable but not great.

All in all, I was glad to be in the city of Tabarka, instead of 8 kms away at the resorts. The hotel is fine, but not great, and worth the 50 or 60 USD we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in old house, not the soviet wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel its located in a small hill, that allows you to see the beautiful Tunisia Mediterranean sea. Its rooms are clean and confortable, it has a nice pool and people service are nice and warm. The only thing i didnt like was the room service knocking in my door so loud that scared me, we couldn't find the do not disturb stube in the room, now its funny to remember.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

After escaping the Golf Beach and near injury in the Tabarkan hills my boyfriend and I holed up at the Mimosa, eagerly awaiting the end of our beleagured holiday. The room was beautiful and situated and the fron of the hotel overlooking the pool. The view was good. The food was uninspired, but edible, and the staff were pleasant. We had an enjoyable stay at the Mimosa where we, at least, felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed two nights in this hotel in a room in the annexe at the back with great views over the town and out to sea. It had an excellent pool and terrace and a funky wee bar plus a decent restaurant (a bit too well lit though). Great value at something like £30 B+B for 3 (it's negotiable when quiet) and the staff was friendly and helpful. Has secure parking and it's about a 5 min walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This hotel is a very charming old world hotel set in an idyllic and panoramic location. The rooms were clean and comfortable although a little basic and 'worn around the edges'. The hotel is on a hillside setting and several steps within the hotel, so anyone elderly or less mobile should be aware. The outstanding feature is the swimming pool and terrace area with outstanding views over Tabarka where you could sit all day and just soak up the atmosphere. The dining room was waiter service with choice of four dishes for each course and good selection of wine. I found the food in the evenings to be of very good standard. Breakfast was little disapointing with bread, pastry small selection tired salad and boiled eggs. Apart from being on slight hill the location was excellent to stroll into town. I would definately stay here again for any future visits to Tabarka.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabarka
1.8 mi away
Eden Village Mehari Tabarka
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dar Ismail
Hotel Dar Ismail
#5 of 12 in Tabarka
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Rihana Hotel
Royal Rihana Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jendouba
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tabarka Beach
Tabarka Beach
#2 of 12 in Tabarka
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cigale Hotel
La Cigale Hotel
#1 of 12 in Tabarka
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alrawabi
Hotel Alrawabi
#1 of 1 in Nefza
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Mimosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Mimosas

Address: Av Habib Bourguiba, Tabarka 08110, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Jendouba Governorate > Tabarka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tabarka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Mimosas 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Les Mimosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Tabarka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Mimosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.