We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Week!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kenz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Kenz Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Kenz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my partner have stayed at this hotel for a week, we loved our relaxing week at the Royal Kenz, the location was great staff were amazing and always helpful, the food was ok, a bit bland throughout the week but the choice was varied and tasted good, they do theme nights every night which is good, do visit the Italian Restaurant and the Indian too, the food was really excelent on both nights and its a lot more quiet than the main restaurant.
The entertainment was not the best nor we were expecting it to be but it was fun and kept people entertained the singer was very talented and he had a great voice.
All the waiters, security, room attendants were really great and Cristine the Thompson Rep was really helpful and very knowledgeable of the area and the people too.
We did not go on any trips as this was our second trip to Tunisia and it was great to just relax before the Christmas madness.
The private beach was great but the Weather was not the best during the week but we made the most of it.
We did not use the Spa unfortunately but we did use the indoor pool and it was lovely, I also had my hair cut at the Hairdresser in the Hotel which was an added bonus :D
The Hotel is perfect for a week away it is not dirty not the staff are arrogant.
The hotel grounds are clean and the gardens are really pretty also.
I would like to visit this Hotel again in the Future and will recommend to anyone that want a week to relax.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    248
    75
    23
    9
See reviews for
110
359
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

enjoyed a lovely christmas dinner buffet, the decor and welcome were very warm and friendly for the festive time of year - superb food and live music in the restaurant and the bar - very good service, good room - a good choice hotel - superb grounds and pool

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and my fiance have just arrived back from this wonderful hotel and we cannot wait to return!
We arrived mid afternoon and check in was the easiest check in I have ever experienced!
We went up to our room which was perfect size, clean and comfortable. The maids kept it this way throughout our stay.
Entertainment is provided every night (we did not sample this but it was our choice). The bar staff are great, they are always friendly and polite and the little waiter in the lobby is brilliant. As soon as your glass is empty he gets it refilled within seconds.
Food is perfectly acceptable. There is plenty of choice and there are theme nights every night. My only criticism of the food is that it is not particularly warm. There is a microwave though if you want to warm it through.
Overall the hotel was perfect for what we wanted from a December break. it was clean comfortable and the staff were great. No problems experienced by us on this holiday and we can't wait to return next year hopefully.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just arrived back from a brilliant 7 night holiday at this hotel. We were in room 305 facing the road which turned out to be brilliant for us as we got the late afternoon sun. We had entertainment every night, this may not have been your west end shows but we enjoyed it all and had a good laugh. The hotel staff were all very friendly and could not do enough for us. The little waiter in the lobby bar area was fantastic and as soon as he saw us our drink would arrive at our table. We met some great people and would have loved to have stayed longer. Its the first hotel that we have stayed in where the staff all came out to wave us off. Would we go back. Yes we will.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Food is not great and if you dare to turn up to "afternoon tea" they'll turn the lights off while you are eating or refuse to let you sit down! The rep at the hotel Cristine gave absolutely nothing but misinformation about prices and services so better to investigate yourself. Also the 2-3 hour camel caravan the hotel offers is liable to be cut short to 1 hour without any of the scheduled visits if the people running it don't like any of the guests (and the nice guests don't get a refund!)

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel in June last year(sorry for late review) but have just booked again for 2015. We have stayed at many hotels in Tunisia and can honestly say we rarely return to the same hotel but when we thought about the pros and cons this was somewhere we wanted to go back to. Firstly the gardens are lovely and loads of space for sun loungers. We generally sunbathed in the garden area which was quieter and saw some beautiful butterflies and loads of birds which we loved. The food was the best we have ever had. Really good variety and loved that you could sit where you wanted as hate being told where i have to sit for the entire holiday.themed nights most evenings.The waiting /kitchen staff seem to work all hours as were even there when we left at 6am for our homeward journey when they had been working very late the evening before. Drinks were good too. Some cocktails and always a cocktail of the day. The beer and wine are nice. Animation team were good and had shows most nights and also a band singing on the patio which was nice if you didn't want to see the main show. Our only moan was some staff literally asked for tips not just the usual hinting (we purposefully did not tip these). Nearly all other staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless and nice touches like fresh flowers and scented candles.The indoor pool is lovely. We did not have any spa treatments but believe they did good deals for those who wanted to. It looked amazing. We are really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Remember to take milk to your room from the bar as have tea/coffee facilities but no milk in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm currently sat by the pool, today is the 21st December and it's 18 degrees.
I've been reading some reviews left by some mardy disgruntled guests!
Apparently the hotel is dirty, outdated, old and serves bad food and crap drink by ignorant staff...
Well i don't know what these people were looking at but it's not what i have seen.
I'll start with the welcome.
We arrived at approx 9pm on the 17th to music at the entrance and a bunch of happy smiling staff members.
We were taken to the buffet where we ate food that was tasty and of good variety.
The room we have is number 243 which faces the main road, there is noise but it's not loud enough to keep the door shut. The rooster however makes a bit of noise!
The maids are very polite and have NOT stolen from us even though some reviews might say otherwise.
The outdoor pools are clean and cold but it is December after all.
We have been waited on by a really pleasant guy at the pool each day and nothing is too much for him.
The same can be said for the guys in the restaurants, very polite and helpful.
Indoor pool is 'sea water' so expect salt. It is warm and relaxing but has no changing area so remember your towel!
The beach is clean, no bar in December though but it's no problem unless you're a whiny moaning git.
In the evening there has been entertainment, probably not the best but it is what it is. You need to watch the dream girls though ;)
Apparently the measures of spirits are small.... i disagree but it is all inclusive so just keep drinking if it's not strong enough. The little chap that waits on you at the bar is also worth mentioning, lovely little man!


Overall i highly rate the Royal Kenz.
I will return and i recommend you go with the majority in these reviews and not the moaning minority!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kenz Hotel

Address: | Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kenz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Kenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Kenz
Royal Kenz Hotel Tunisia
Royal Kenz Port El Kantaoui
Royal Kenz Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kenz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.