We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel definately exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kenz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Kenz Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Kenz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This hotel definately exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just come back from a one week stay here with our little boy who is 2. First of all, the welcome dance was amazing and totally unexpected. The staff at this hotel treated him like royalty! I believe it's the first year children have been allowed here so there were only a few others with toddlers that we saw during our stay. We were given a suite at the end of the hotel above the spa, which was lovely and quiet to enable us to get the little one off to sleep easy. There is a small hotel being built next door, but i never heard any work in a morning or at night. The rooms were spotless, even had fresh bottles of water and milk foc left in our fridge daily. The communal areas are spotlessly clean also. I am a fussy eater and always found plenty to eat, including chocolate cake! We spent a few days at the beach, which is a shortwalk down a private walkway, 5 minutes tops. This also had our own section with free sunbeds, a bar and sandwich area. All in all, the staff at this hotel go beyond what you expect which makes this place a truely exceptional place to stay. Thank you royal kenz for making our holiday :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    247
    75
    23
    9
See reviews for
110
357
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just arrived home from another holiday at the Royal Kenz. Staff as always are wonderful. It is now all inclusive and for us this does not work as we do not use the restaurant at lunchtime and do not drink but we see the attraction for others. Restaurant staff are fantastic Ezzeddine and Mohammed are so helpful and kind.Now we go in early to get a table ' on the flat' going into the buffet which is good for my disabled husband. We liked it when the table was allocated for your holiday stay and you knew where you sat each mealtime. It is good to see that men wear long trousers for the evening meal and a little effort is made for the evening. Everyone from the reception ( hello Mr Seifeddine ) and Moshen ( the money man ) and all the boys and girls on reception are so helpful. I cannot name a single member of staff who is not putting everything into serving the customers to there best ability. Borhane and all his staff in the snack bar are wonderful ( Hassen, Ahmed, Ibrahim and the fantstic Marwen are so helpful ). Porters and staff from the spa are also great. (Thank you Mohammed and Salah and Sami and Nejla). We are going back in November and hope that the hotel keep on these staff members as they keep the reputation going that the Royal Kenz is the place to go for the best staff in Tunisia. The maids are working hard and the rooms are first class ( Thank you Selma ) towels and bedding changed frequently. Salah put water and tea and coffe in the rooms before you run out. Great service. The pools and gardens are fantastic and entertainment is improved from previous visits. Plus points are that we know the wonderful staff and meet lots of people who are like us returning guests. Minus points are a bit picky, table allocation not now happening and the food is not as flavousome as it seem less ' frshly made ' and more bland. We also prefered the Indian restuarant when it was French. It was always a special occasion when Mr Zoubair looked after you. Indian not a patch on the French. Reps are fantastic and will help with any problems Najla and Adie are fun and know everthing. Trips are worth the money and a great way to see a bit of Tunisia. All that said another lovely break and a great holiday.

Room Tip: Treat all staff as you want to be treated and they will make your holiday special. It is a custom to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

A friend & myself stayed at hotel between 11th - 18th June. The hotel is wonderful, exceptionally clean & staff very helpful. Tipping is part of Tunisian culture so best option is 2 possibly tip as you go. Even hotel numbers face pool & sea, so are probably better rooms. Food choices are excellent & should keep even the fussiest eater happy. You will get hassled when outside the hotel, so be prepared to say no thank you & smile. Would advise all to go to Tunisia & use this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Royal Kenz. The hotel is lovely, one of the nicest in the resort. The public areas are kept spotless and the gardens and pool area are well laid out and maintained. The rooms are nothing special, though very clean and most have nice views. ( our mattress was a trifle hard, pillows lumpy).The staff are immaculately dressed and are very friendly and helpful. ( special thanks to our waiter Salah and to Hamed at the pool bar for his "special drinks"). The food is excellent at breakfast, though tends to be lacking in variety at times at lunch and dinner. The Indian a la carte was disappointing, though the Italian a la carte was lovely. A few niggles.... We arrived at the hotel at 10pm, and couldn't access our room safe till the following day, which meant carrying our valuables around. Surely for a hotel rated 5 star, they could include the safe in the holiday price. Also, the beach "towels", which are more like tablecloths, can only be changed four times a week. Not very practical if you are in and out of the pool. Whilst on the subject of sun beds, it's a while since we have stayed in a hotel where the fight for sun beds starts at sunrise. Despite signs saying not to reserve beds, people will insist on putting towels down before 6am, sometimes not returning to the beds till 11am. I know this is the fault of the guests, not the hotel directly, but it is annoying. Overall, a nice relaxing hotel, in beautiful grounds, probably more suitable for couples than families. Lots of guests obviously return each year, and we would certainly be happy to go back again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Me and my sister have just returned after our second visit to The Royal Kenz.

We arrived late at night, around midnight. Check in was quick and we went upto our room assisted by the porter. Room 114. The key card didn't work so the porter went back down. I heard voices coming from what was to be our room!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes it was someone else's room, it's a good job we didn't disturb anything. Went back to reception and was allocated room 44 on the ground floor. The room was lovely, very clean and tidy and the maid did an excellent job. There was a kettle in the room. Every day a bottle of water was left in your fridge for you.

Meal times have now changed. You no longer get a set table for your stay and evening meal is 6.30 til 9pm. The waiters do save tables for people so even though it may be quiet when you go into the restaurant a lot of the tables will have drinks on them (especially the top of the restaurant.) We just went to the end of the restaurant and always got a table. The waiters there were wonderful. I must admit I preferred having a set table though. Also on the Tuesday (17th) the weather was not very good so at lunch time the restaurant was very busy. We sat just to the right when you went in. The waiter there had saved 8 tables. People were looking for tables and he sent them away saying it was busy up there. The supervisor (with the moustache) came and sat someone at his tables and he was not happy at all. A short while later it looked like 2 of the bosses came into the restaurant and were looking around. The waiter then got dirty plates and put them on the empty tables to make it look like people were sitting there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So something needs to be done about that.

We went to the beach every day and that was as usual kept clean. Security was on the beach so you didn't get bothered by the sellers. They served paninis at the beach bar if you didn't fancy the walk back to the restaurant.

Will we go back again? When I get over the horrendous queues at the airport, yes we will book to go again.

Room Tip: We had room 44 which was on the ground floor. It was nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I have just come back from 7 nights at the Royal Kenz. We didn't really have too much interaction with a lot of the staff, but when we did they were all very pleasant and helpful. The cleaners always say good morning or hello which us nice as well.

The food was great if you're a fussy eater as there are a lot of general foods such as pizza and ice cream. We didn't utilise much of the entertainment but when we did it was well worth it. Parasailing at 60 dinar for two people is a reasonable price and the views are amazing. I would recommend buying the CD after for a further 20 dinar as the pictures you get are excellent.

The beach is not too packed and was perfect for a spot of sunbathing, albeit we did unfortunately experience some rain. The hotel is close to several shops or shopping centres so you can pick up a souvenir or two.

On a final note, they play a couple of very upbeat and holiday feel good songs during the water aerobics which we both enjoyed. Also, the hotel room itself was very clean and well presented.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went for two weeks for a relaxing sun holiday and was very pleased with the hotel and facilities.

We loved sitting around the smaller outdoor pool with easy access to the pool bar and access back into the hotel.

The food was nice buffet style and for a fussy eater I managed to find plenty to eat, the only down side was the last few days as we found it difficult to find anything appealing as the food was repeated from dishes we had seen before. But if you are going for a week or 10 days you won't get bored of it.

We used the spa for an afternoon and took part in a couples package comprising massage, steam room, seaweed wrap, jacuzzi, etc and it was lovely to be pampered. Very clean and professional spa.

The rooms were cleaned everyday and the twin room was big enough for the both of us.

The beach was a 5 to 10 minute walk down a private walkway from the hotel and there was a private section just for hotel guests.

The staff were friendly and made you feel welcome.

We are considering on going back at some point as we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kenz Hotel

Address: | Jinene El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kenz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Kenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Kenz
Royal Kenz Hotel Tunisia
Royal Kenz Port El Kantaoui
Royal Kenz Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kenz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.