We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a four star...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Kantaoui Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Kantaoui Center to your Saves list
El Kantaoui Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Janvier 2011 BP 355 | Marina, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nearly a four star...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

So you'll have read the poor reviews that I read on here, maybe after you've booked, just like I did. You might be worrying if it's the wrong choice, judging by what some people have written. Well, it's a load of old cobblers.

The Hotel itself is up to scratch. Don't be misled by the four stars - four stars in Africa is different from four in Hawaii. But the price is different, too. This hotel is not aimed exclusively at Western Europeans, so you'll find the mix is mainly Russian, Polish, Dutch and Arab - very few Brits in this Hotel, which worked well for me as a single traveller. The Dutch, in particular, were very friendly.

All the hotel lacks in my opinion to gain Western four star recognition from me would be more variety in the buffet (difficult, as they have to cater to so many tastes), and the ability to order all inclusive drinks in all the bars. They're happy with you ordering them in the all inclusive bar and then taking them into the other bars, there really is no problem. It just might tip it into the four star service for me.

Take time to be nice to the staff. Please and thank you, and the odd Dinar or two tip here or there will make all the difference to your trip. By being polite and dropping tips, I never had to look for a sunbed, and I never had to have my all inclusive drinks in plastic cups because they had run out of glassware. They often had, but somehow they always managed to find some for me. Somehow, they'd always run out for people who were rude and didn't drop the odd tip. So for the writeups that tell you these things, I can only surmise that either they didn't tip, or were rude, or possibly both (though I'm sure they didn't realise this at the time).

If you really want to be looked after on the beach - which is really clean, and not at all like the beach photos posted - see the private beach guy. You can't miss him. He's got a scar on his top lip and used to play international handball for Tunisia. Tell him the English man with the big beard sent you, and you'll never want for a sun lounger. Make sure you look after him.

The entertainments team also work really hard - the evening things they organise in the bar at 10pm can be good fun, and if you have any problems just ask them to sort them out - they're absolutely great. Beach volleyball is fun too if they have it.

All in all I had a great time. Don't be afraid to book this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room which doesn't overlook the road. That said, they're all double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    125
    81
    66
    97
See reviews for
112
150
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks all in at this hotel, and for the second time we saw the reviews and thought oh god what have we done then when we get there its like the title says!
We arrived at the airport and things didnt go well, the transport took over 3 hours to arrange to the hotel. We got there just as the staff transfered the comuputor systems to back up, so it was 10min wait till the system came back. In that 10 min the staff were really appologetic and explained what had happened. We were shown to our room and it was really nice, yes a bit dated but more than adequate. We noticed the next day that the air con in the main bed room was not working, and in the heat it was needed. So the next day we reported the aircon to the tall girl with glasses at reception who wrote it down on a scrap of paper and must have binned it as soon as we walked away. So 2 days later we went back, spoke to one of the smaller girls on the desk who immiediatly wrote it in the repair book and called the maint dept, 20 min later our aircon was fixed!
The meals were, we leave this up to you to decide, 14 days 3 meals a day, 1 meal we didnt like so we changed it! Loads of variety and choice.
The restaurant was run by very efficient staff who really looked after us.
Special mention to faroud many thanks.
The bar was run by Kalil during the day, and again he looked after us with a smile and chat every time. Ali took over at night and he was just the same, friendly and always smiling.
The pool was great fun, to our surprise we had DJ Alex of Ibiza fame. Also Black who did the arobics in the pool really funny to join in. The pool team must also get a mention as they did a great job despite the amount of towells on beds but no one there till late afternoon, we never had a problem getting a sun bed, well done guys!
The beach was about 100m away and was looked after by the hotel staff again, nothing was to much trouble and they looked after us again.
All in all we had a gret time and not at all like its portraid here. Thanks to Samir and Aymen who explained alot about tunisia.

Room Tip: Any thing above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sousse, Tunisia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Don't stay here. Very poor service, poor parking, poor food, insolent reception.
No wi-fi in rooms,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Have just returned from Tunisia where the weather was excellent and the guys on the beach very helpful and friendly. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. We were bed and breakfast thank goodness. In the 7 days we were there the hotel ran out of cups, hot water, bread, jam, watermelon, eggs, chesse, breakfast meat(don't know what it was), and crouissants at some stage of the breakfast serving times. When we asked if any more were going to be available they raised they eyebrows and carried on with what ever they were doing. We had to queue to get an omelette or fried eggs or pancakes for a minimum of 20 minutes with one person doing all the cooking, fetching the ingredients from the kitchens and not being able to do fried eggs over easy without losing half of it on the hotplaye surface. To say this hotel needs an face lift is an understatement. Also there was only one bar to get a drink in the evenings which was very dark and noisy. Coffee was non-existant and the whole place needed a coat of paint and a good clean. The staff at receiptian didn't care and were of no help what so ever. Thank goodness we were only there for one week and only spent the night there. We ate out every evening at different restuarants in and around the port.

Room Tip: If you must go choose a high floor as the air conditioning was not on and we could leave the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Vinci a few years ago and didn't like it and returned only on the reccomendation of my fiancee for four days from 31.05.12 to 04.06.12. HB. First impressions was that the hotel had improved. There were 3 very efficient and professional women on reception who were very helpful. The room was nice, large and clean but I think it was too early in the season for them to switch the a/c on so it just acted as a weak fan. The big letdown was the food in restaurant. It advertises as 06.30 to 10.00 for breakfast and 18.30 to 21.00 for evening meal.
If you went to breakfast after 07.30 there was no cheese or sausage pieces left. No eggs were provided and you were left with a choice of rice, tomatoes or some cabbage to go with your tea or coffee and juice.
In the evening the same thing occurred. The food ran out after 19.30 and when staff were asked if there was any more we were told it has all gone.
Even when I went in at 19.00 I found that all the Bric had gone (which they now fill with potatoe as egg is too expensive) the choice of food was, Cous cous, mashed potatoe, pasta in a tomatoe sauce, burger pieces (small slices), boiled carrots, fish pie (with a hint of fish flavour), and some other vegetables floating in a red sauce. The russians who were the main group staying there had a wonderful time piling up all the plates, not eating anything, leaving it all on the table before they pushed their way into the queue to do the same again with another plate. Even they didn't like the food. There were a couple of other UK people in the hotel and between us we have stayed at numerous hotels in sousse, kantaoui, tunis, etc and the food and lack of food including food choice was the worst ever in our opinion. For two of the days we ate out as there was nothing left for breakfast or dinner and on the other two days I managed a limited evening meal and a piece of bread and sliced processed meat for breakfast, whilst my partner went to a cafe down the road. There was not a great number of people in the hotel so have no idea how they will cope when it gets busier. They had a function for a party of overnight guests on the saturday and there was a buffet of fruit juice and UK type sandwiches on a large pletter with sliced processed meat etc at midday when they left. At the evening meal the leftovers was placed in the restaurant for the guests to consume and they had the bread crusts from the half eaten sandwiches with slivers of meat and cheese sticking out with the bite marks, liberally strewn accoss the meat. It was disgusting. Obviously won't be going back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Worst out of twenty hotels I have stayed in in Tunisia.Room dreadful,shabby,curtains falling off windows.AC does not work properly.Food is dreadful quality if you are british or american.Lots of salad,meats,cheese.No boiled eggs or fresh milk.Cheap quality teabags and coffee like dishwasher.Only plus was the staff who were very pleasant.
Pillows on bed were unusable.lumpy bits of foam which were impossible to use.

Room Tip: Ask to have room at back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I dont normally write reviews but felt that i had to share this experience with you


I have just returned from my honeymoon in Tunisia. We booked this hotel as the photos of the hotel on there website showed the hotel as being a nice one to go too.
How wrong and deceiving can photos be.
We arrived at the hotel to be met by one of the most arrogant men i have ever encountered.
We were given a suite on the fourth floor and told that this was one of the best rooms that they had, when we got there how disappointed again we were.
The room was tired and is in need of major tidying up, the room smelt damp as did the hallway that the room was off, The carpet in the hallways has seen better days and is fraid and coming away from the floor.
The lift has a broken mirror in it that was hanging off the wall.
When we went down for food again very disappointed in the lack of choice, Cold potatoes swimming in oil and boiled carrots and peas.
Whilst the restarant staff were pleaseant you could see that they were not comfortable with what was being served as there were pleanty of plates that had food left on them that were being collected.
This hotel also advertises a bar arae on teh photos, This bar is not for the all inclusive guests as this is a bar used by men who want to pick up women..
The bar that is for all inclusive guests is at the back of the hotel by the dining room.
There is only a choice of 4 or 5 spirits that you can have.
We moved out of this hotel after only staying there for a couple of days, when checking out again the receptionist ( male ) was very abrupt and did not even ask why we were moving an djust through the key back onto teh counter when i informed him that we were moving to another hotel.
THIS HOTEL DOES NOT ACCOMODATE FOR ENGLISH GUESTS..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Kantaoui Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Kantaoui Center

Address: 14 Janvier 2011 BP 355 | Marina, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Kantaoui Center 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your El Kantaoui Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Resort Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Vincci Port El Kantaoui
Port El Kantaoui Vincci

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Kantaoui Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.