We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   B.P. 243 | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 1000 Points
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Been back a week and need the sun again. Great hotel, room large, clean and tidy. The staff are very polite and nothing seems to much trouble for them. Food was good, although some was the same but with a different flavouring added. The beach was great, but we didn't venture into the sea as it was a tad chilly as you'd expect at this time of year. Indoor pool was clean and very warm and one day we had it to ourselves. Plenty of sunbeds to go around by the pool and on the beach. Didn't bother with trips as this was a work escape. Would go again , but in summer months. Only downside is they need to put tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms as if you wake up at silly o'clock it would be nice to have a hot drink (although if you rang reception no doubt they'd do you a brew). All in all would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For a sunny morning get a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    384
    158
    54
    28
See reviews for
284
751
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel that was enhanced by the most friendliest staff We have ever come across. The manager was always out and about morning, daytime and evening. He was always speaking and greeting people with a real friendly attitude. The staff throughout the hotel whether cleaners, bar staff. pool man. beach man, waiters or management always had a friendly greeting, Obviously led from the top. The hotel was spotless, food as you normally find for the time of the year. The waiters were constantly in attendance but would have been better if the pool bar had been opened The animation team while small in number did their best, however if you looking for a lively, exciting time you need a club hotel. This was a lot more sedate and quieter than its counter parts but would recommend if you want a quite chill out hotel within a lovely setting. This hotel is further away from the port than the Thompson' led me to believe but a quick short cab drive for £2.00 was ok. Go to the Irish bar for your football matches. Again I can not praise the staff to much, really brilliant !!

Room Tip: Not really suitable for wheel chair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

this was are first twas very comfortable ime to tunisia and we didnt know what to expect, my god what a great hotel, the bed rooms where very spasious and comfortable,cleaned evey day to a high standard, pool area was always spotless and plenty of sun beds available at all times of the day, the food also was very good always some thing to please all tastes and plenty of it , there was people there complaining about the food but they were always first in the que and had there plates piled high ,the bar area was very comfortable, all the staff at the hotel are very polite and could not do enough for you ,we ate out 3 times in the fortnight we were there just to have a change, the salon steak bar in souse, the mediteranian in the harbour were brilliant cost us 115 dinar (£45) for 3 course and that included a good bottle of wine for the 2 of us , on are last night we went to the miami resurant at the top of the road near the hotel that was by far the best, three course and wine 75dinar( £30) for the two of us (sirloin steak melts in your mouth), the harbough is only a short walk away 30mins along the beach or 40 mins by road, souse madina is a must but be prepaired to haggle for every thing you buy at least 75% less than they ask you, and be prepaired to get hassle off the shop keepers just say no thanks and walk by dont give them grief and swear at them like some people were and they will leave you alone, taxis are always out side the hotel and are dirt cheap 5 dinar to the port and 10 dinar to souse,dont go to this hotel if you are expecting to be up till 2am dancing the night away because you wont, its a great hotel to go to to have a nice relaxing holiday, we have already booked to return in september

Room Tip: try and get a room at the front of the hotel , they get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From our arrival to departure everything perfection. Not even a booking in form to fill in, given the form and our key,please fill in form and bring to desk tomorrow brilliant !!NO HASSLE. Luggage arrived at room 5 minutes max. Food and Drink as it should be for a 5* and service was excellent staff are always pleasant, you always find one do'nt you, but not here We found the whole place well cleaned and maintained. The booking system for the evening meal, your table is allocated on the first night, and this you keep for you holiday,ONLY EVENING MEAL. ALL other meals you can sit at any table. We found the system works well, and you keep the same waiter, OH and there are TWO sitting for evening meal, 6.30pm and 8.00pm. this avoids the mad dash for a table!!!
The pool is big enough, but in March very cold, so we used the indoor pool for our daily swim as the see was quite cold too, but a lovely SANDY beach. There seemed to adequate shade around the pool and on the beach, yes we needed it in March a couple of times The Beach Bar was not open but it looked large and inviting also with plenty of shade for high summer.The beach towels supplied are long but not fluffy.

Room Tip: ANY all seemed OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from a one week trip, The hotel is very clean rooms are spacious food was ok found if you eat the Tunisian food it has more flavour, staff are good and always polite. we went to the spa which was crap they had a deal on for massage turkish bath and sea water pool they only gave 25mins massage instead of 40mins when i said how short it was she lied she didnt know that i checked my watch before hand and the whole experience was a waste of time I did complain to them and the rep who was kind enough to get some money back for me also I never got my free bag or shoes. We was lucky with the weather only one day was overcast very near to shops and bars at the marina also an Irish bar there that shows all the football - Better off going to fixed price rate shops as you dont get the hassel like you do at the others. Thomson are top rate could not fault them for the money we paid all in was very good, also done the VIP at the airport in Tunisa well worth the money

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel 2nd floor but was a great sun trap aroud 2 - 6pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Definitely a nice hotel, but this being our first visit to Tunisia it was hard to be able to compare it to anywhere else in Tunisia, here's what we thought

Food = Was not bad, being a higher rated hotel we expected more choice on main courses and desserts. 7/10

Entertainment = At this time of year it was pretty poor, maybe in the summer season there will be a lot more acts on, however when we went there were only 2 guys and a lady performing for just one hour. Being a 5 start hotel we expected a lot more! 2/10

Location = Not bad, the hotel being right on the beach is perfect, lovely sands and blue seas! however other reviews stated there was a lot of rubbish left around, however we could not see any at all. Out of town is a different story, the area is very run down with blue plastic bags every where! 7/10

Room = Could of been perfect if we had the sea view we paid extra for, we didn't complain because the weather was a little chilly anyway so we barely used the balcony and the room was absolutely massive!! Every where was clean and tidy, and huge thanks to the maids that come round when ever u need them to tidy up! Nice big bathroom, heating worked fine within the room to 9/10

Spa = MMMM CHILLAXING!! Great Spa! very relaxing massages followed by a salt scrub and a swim in the huge Spa pool after! With the weather being lousy this was a perfect place to go and un-wind! 10/10

Staff/service = VERY FRIENDLY, VERY NICE, everything you'd expect from a top rated hotel! Tip a couple of Dinars and they will keep everything topped up. 9/10

Thomson trips, we went on the most expensive trip 'simply sahara' and were very let let down! Led to believe it was THE best trip that Thomson offer, if you dont mind travelling for hours on end in a coach (and i mean HOURS) u'll be fine! the camel riding, 4x4ing and colosseum were good but the star wars things were a bit dated! The tour guide was very informative and spoke clear English, but the VERY VERY annoyingly long coach trip ruined it for us!! 4/10

Would we go again to Tunisia?? hmmm yes but only for a week and nearer to summer .. YES,

Room Tip: A sea view on a high floor! the lifts are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from Riu Imperial Marhaba (6/3/13) after 2 weeks. Not the best 5 star hotel in PEK Sousse, warrants only 4 star. The adjacent 4 star sister Hotel Riu Bellview Park warrants a additional star to uprate it above Riu Imperial Marhaba. We have stayed 3 times in the Bellview and twice in the Imperial. Our future choice will always be the Bellview Park.
Our reasons: The Imperial restaurant management is clearly lacking in control and from day to day depending on hotel numbers is chaotic. Restaurant table bar/waiter service for drinks with meals is pathetically slow to none existent, i.e. waiters deliberately avoid supply of refreshment. Evening entertainment is very amateur same theme most nights in a different colour. Room towels very grubby, it seems that the room cleaners operate on a tips basis, i.e. frequent tips from day one the whiter the towels are until your regular room cleaner takes a day off.
Bellview restaurant well managed at all times irrespective of hotel numbers. Restaurant self service drinks/refreshments 5 star. strategically located hotel drinks machines/facilities 5 star.

Room Tip: This is difficult for the reason you are allocated rooms on arrival. Our experiences are always the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba

Address: B.P. 243 | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Imperial Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.