We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the English-very poor hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Houria Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Houria Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Houria Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not for the English-very poor hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

WE- arrived at the Hourria palace mid afternoon- we were met by a very rude recepsionist- this was our 17th visit to Tunisia and never before have we been greeted like this,
The bell boy was lovely and showed us to our room- It was very shabby but we thought well it is clean so we will make the best of it, after getting washed and changed we went down for our evening meal - food cold plates cold and they only cater for Germans we had soup it was cold- so we said forget it,
So we went into the entertainment room to find only German music playing- and it was bitter cold but they would not close the door no matter how many times we asked, we were like fish out of water
after a night sleep we thought things might be better- so we went down for breakfast -I had a cup of tea and my husband did manage a cold hard boiled egg- we went to the reception and ask if they would ring our rep.as we needed to move-after lots of phone calls we did manage to get into the Marhabra palace plus another £350-it was worth it- wont make this mistake again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    58
    63
    83
See reviews for
61
106
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Our 7th time at Houria Palace, upon arrival a warm welcome from friendly staff.
Again good value from money, unable to comment on food and entertainment as we did not use these facilities this time.
Only issue was our room was not being cleaned well, after complaining this was sorted out.
Pools as always were clean and well maintained each day, plenty of sun lounger avaliable.
Overall a pleasant stay and will be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just got back from 2 weeks at Houria Palace, third time and although we had a poor room on arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite for no extra cost the next morning. Food is fine always a choice of 3 meat dishes pasta lots of salads 2 soups and plenty of desserts. We were all inclusive and had no complaints, just a few things which would have been an improvement, only being able to use one bar for drinks seemed a bit silly as one bar (all incl) was packed and the main large bar was mostly empty. Breakfast could have scrambled eggs occasionally and ice cream as a dessert option but this is purely my taste. The staff were as usual very friendly and did everything to make you feel valued. Yes the music was loud some evenings from another bar but that was over the other side of the road and not within their control, we sat in this bar one night and the singer was fantastic.All in all we found the whole resort seemed to be doing alot better than in past years and we have been visiting since 2001. For wonderful people a good clean hotel and sunshine you will find it harder to beat

Room Tip: We prefer to over look the aqua park, noisy during the day but you get a lovely sunset in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Been to this hotel several times between 2009-2012 and due back again in 3 weeks. You get exactly what you pay for staff are fantastic and a little goes a long way with regards to tipping. Pools are clean and tidy, ok rooms are a little dated however what do you expect when you only pay £25 per room per night b&b serves my needs well and in a great location. Beach, port and fountain all 5 minutes away, sousse 5 minutes in a taxi. If you expect alot then look for another hotel and pay alot more!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The aqua park next door played really loud music during the day time. There was a party on the Saturyday night at a neighbouring venue with the loudest music you have ever heard until 1.30 am. On the Friday night I was there I was so tired I fell asleep listening to it at midnight, so I have no idea what time it went on to. It wasn't the hotel's fault I suppose, but I wouldn't go there again for that reason. [Bear in mind I am an old fuddy-duddy of 46!].

It was lovely to have a choice of pools, and they were very clean. My room was clean. The stairway was a bit dirty at one point but they cleaned it during the week.

The staff were really friendly, but I do have fluent French. The food was quite good.

Room Tip: Speak French!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

When I first returned from Tunisia, I intended to get my review on here immediately as it was the worst holiday I've ever had, but I soon got over it and tried to remember the goods points, it's taken me 5mths to remember there weren't any.

However I'd like to be fair and honest in my review, Tunisia was a last minute cheapo holiday booked by my other half as a surprise, I normally do my homework before I commit. . . he didnt.

When we arrived at the hotel, it didnt look too bad, especially for what we paid, when we were shown our room it was grotty and hadn't been cleaned however we were moved immediately to a very clean room all be it rather dated and in need of a refurb.

During our two week stay we didnt have any futher problems as such at the hotel, we were only on a B&B basis and the breakfast did get rather repetative, not much choice that us English go for but hey I'm not in England so what can you expect. I found all the waiters to be very polite and attentive so no complaints there.The one thing that did get to us a tad was the constant dance music that thumped from the neighbouring waterpark, same music day in day out, the reason I know this is after the 1st few days we had explored every attraction Tunisia has to offer, so the pool it was. There really isn't a great deal going on, if you are like me and prefer to spend most of your holiday out and about exploring what the country has to offer then Tunisia is not for you. We did hire a car and on those occasions that we visited various towns etc I was usually met with obscenities from the Tunisian males (even though I was always suitably dressed for the area).

If you want nightlife you will find nothing here, the one or two that we did find were full of letching Albanian/Tunisian males, again in the evenings I had various nasty comments made about me even though I always had my leg/chest area covered, this being due to the fact that I felt so uncomfortable, however by the end of the holiday I decided not to show their country respect and cover up, why should I, the natives hadn't shown me any! I reverted to flipping the bird, very rude I know but by this time I'd really lost my temper with the place. If you do want to find a bar where you can have a nice relaxing beer in the evening, then there's only one place really in Port El Kantaoui, which is the Irish Bar (yeah i know, but desperate times...)

I also like to go out for meals in the evening, however in Tunisia they only seem to know about a dozen dishes, every restaurant sold the same food, it was terrible boring and repetative, I did really enjoy El Mediterranee though, lovely food and a very pretty setting if you sit on the terrace.

If you like to lie in the sun and not leave your hotel for the duration of your hols, then maybe Tunisia is for you, however the entertainment at Houria was beyond pathetic so maybe try another hotel.

For me I won't be returning, it was a waste of money and a waste of two weeks holidays, however if any of you have booked and read this I hope it works out better for you :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

PLEASE DONT BOOK ....we ignored comments at our peril place is dirty stains on carpets tatty bedroom furniture luke warm uninteresting food extremmly dirty pool and surrounds..hotel staff were rude music played was obsene waiters were always trying to rob you money exchange guys did the same massage was a total rip off a couple of kids.... reason for delay in writing this has been trying to get refund from youtravel or sunshine hotels none of them will accept responsibility dont touch either with a barge poll our seventh time in Tunisia wont ever return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Houria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houria Palace Hotel

Address: Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Houria Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Houria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houria Palace Port El Kantaoui
Houria Palace Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houria Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.