We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui to your Saves list
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP No 56, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Just come back from a week stay. We chose this hotel based on the reviews and it lived up to all the expectations.
The hotel is well looked after - inside and out (looked better on the outside than many of the hotels we called at to drop of our coach companions). Clean and welcoming foyer.
Staff - without exception are helpful, polite and cheerful - a friendly 'hello' or 'bonjour' from every one. The moment we walked through the doors we were welcomed - leave the cases for the porters; sit in the comfy seats to complete the necessary paperwork; given a welcoming drink of the 'house' lemon cocktail.
The Room was spacious & clean, as the pictures show, every day fresh rose petals are decoratively placed in the bathroom. We were lucky to have a room that overlooked the lovely gardens towards the outdoor pool and a little bit of a sea view.
The Restaurants are excellent value - we'd only booked room & lodging thinking we'd try a variety of restaurants in PeK. However after trying 2 that were OK we tried the hotel and didn't bother going anywhere else to eat. The variety was great, and it was no more expensive than out & about. Importantly we also had the confidence of superb service and didn't have to suffer the hassle from all the other restaurants imploring you to go in.
The Bar - again very comfortable - with large areas for smoking and non-smoking - though honestly as non-smokers we can only assume their ventilation system was top quality as the smoking was never evident. Prices of the drinks was near enough the same as outside places - about 4.5 DT per bottle of local beer (especially considering the greedy mark-up that many UK hotels apply).
The Spa was lovely too. This is why it's so popular with the Germans & French - and apparently the Russians - who are used to booking 'wellness holidays'.
It was my birthday whilst there - and it was one of the nicest ever. We'd booked the Spa & Hammam for the morning. In the evening we went into the main restaurant - and had the place to ourselves (most people go the other restaruant for the set-price meals). Consequently it felt like having a peronal chef & waiter! We also received a complimentary bottle of Tunisian 'bubbly' (very drinkable!) and a cake iced with 'Joyeaux Anniversere' complete with little birthday candle! Our 'room maid' also brought me a gift from the hotel management of a lovely quality Bath sheet (wrapped, ribboned & with a card)!

Can't say we were over impressed with Port el Kantaoui itself or the nearby town of Sousse but we would certainly consider returning to this hotel - and that seems to be quite common as the Manager explained that the Gala Dinner held is normally open only to his returning customers - but as the hotel was quiet we were all invited to attend.
My only 'warning' would be that to visit here you need to be comfortable in the company of the French & Germans. I think we were the only British couple there (so as someone else said, there's not a lot of info in English).

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens - as long as you don't mind hearing the birds (mainly sparrows & bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    69
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
128
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

A very nice hotel in delightful garden setting, although it is quite a long distance from the main attractions of Sousse if you are interested in more than just the beach and pool. Very good breakfast and food in main restaurant good quality. Nice room, well appointed, although lighting is not very adequate. Very pleasant, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This is a lovely hotel in a very picturesque location. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and catered routinely for vegetarians. We were treated to live music on 2 nights in one week which was fabulous. The spa facilities were very pleasant and the indoor pool also very nice. It would have been good to have the spa brochure in English but that is my criticism.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a garden room or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthog, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We have just spent a week on a half-board basis at this hotel. What a gem it is. The rooms are large, comfortable, and super clean. Our balcony was the perfect place to have early morning tea, or relax after our visits to other places in Tunisia. The staff are unfailingly friendly, efficient, and always available to answer questions. The food is just extraordinarily good and I say this as a vegetarian who had been warned that Tunisian cuisine was not good for 'veggies' but at this hotel you have a wide choice every day, both at breakfast and in the evening. It was bliss to sit on the terrace each morning, in November, to eat breakfast. In the evening, dinner was served in a lovely spacious restaurant where your table is reserved for you, and musicians play different styles of music on different evenings. On the Gala Dinner night, when none of the main dishes were vegetarian, our waiter produced a special meal that was. The Tunisian Buffet meal on Friday was pure vegetarian joy and there was clearly plenty of choice for meat/fish/chicken lovers too.
The location of this hotel means it is set in beautiful gardens that lead down to the beach and the short walk to the centre of Port el Kantaoui where there are some interesting shops for gifts, especially Tunisian perfume oils, ceramics and leather goods (if that's what you want).
The hotel also has a Spa, swimming pools, tennis courts, and table tennis if you really just want to relax on site, but it is worth going out to walk up the coast to Sousse.
This is definitely the place we will stay when we go back to Tunisia because it is just perfect as a base from which to explore this lovely and undervalued country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but those with a sea view may appeal to those with an interest in the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Hasdrubal staff provide excellent and very personal service. The hotel and pools are clean, food is good. It is simply a good hotel and a nice and quite place. We booked a 6 days wellness package 'sensation bien-être' in the Thalassa. It was our fourth Thalassa holiday at Hasdrubal in 6 years. We have tried Thalassa packages in France, Morocco and in Hasdrubal/Tunisia. The Thalasso treatments at Hasdrubal are 10 times better than what we found elsewhere. Very relaxing, they really take care of you. Top experiences are the relaxation massages, algae and 'Romarin' body packs and massage 'plui de mer'.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We booked a week's stay at this hotel. The quality of management was obvious from the first minute until we checked out. Nothing was too much trouble, rooms were spotless and towels cahnged each day. The half board provided excellent value and the evening meals were never the same, the salad/starter buffet was a joy, tremendous in its variety. It is obvious why this hotel is regarded as the best in the region.

Room Tip: any room overlooking the beatifully kept pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for our mini honeymoon for a week at the start of august. I have to say our impressions from website lived up to its expectations plus more. The service was fantastic and staff were so helpful and professional. To be honest we had everything we needed under one room and we enjoyed the entertainment every evening. What made our holiday was the private beach and outdoor pool considering the weather was so warm it was lovely to cool down in the ocean and pool fantastic facilities didn't have to move. Thanks for the great stay you should be proud of your hotel and should be 5 star as standards were so high. I will be recommending your hotel to all our Irish friends planning on visiting Tunisia in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui

Address: BP No 56, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel And Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Port El Kantaoui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.