We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soviva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soviva Resort to your Saves list
Soviva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the soviva in september. It is very well located at the edge of port el kantaoui. The rooms are basic , theres a good choice of food at meal times, and the pools are lovely. Its a long trek to the beach but its worth it when u get there. Opposite the hotel there are a few restaurants and a shopping centre - handy if the kids fancy a burger. Tunisia is a wonderful country, the medinas are great fun for bartering and the locals are friendly. The trip to the sahara is well worth it - as is the pirate ship experience ( if you dont get seasick). If u have children then pay a trip to the zoo just outside of sousse.
The hotel is basic - certainly not a 5 star but then u get what u pay for and its a cheap and cheerful relaxing hotel - if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    458
    311
    203
    290
See reviews for
746
358
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 weeks in June/July.
At first we were worried after booking after all the bad reviews and reading that BBC had been here to investigate.

However it was the total opposite to what we expected.

Check in time was around 30 minutes but there was a coach full to check in, our bags were carried to our rooms for us. Most of the staff throughout the full stay were friendly even the excursion operators came to talk to you (not to hassle you but just to see how your stay was).

Sometimes the reception was a bit slow in sorting out your problems.

Good and Bad:

Food - The food was very nice, only thing is after around a week it got repetitive and boring...but what AI hotel doesn't ? and we expected this, there is a good choice of restaurants over the road for reasonable prices. You get one free eat at the al a carte - kinda like the buffet selection but cooked better and presented better, nice and quiet around small pool, beer out the bottle also, we tipped them it was that good.

Drinks - Over the moon with most of the drinks, they used Coca-Cola unlike most hotels who use a cheap nasty tasting coke, beer and wine was nice, cocktails were too sweet, after a few sips they got sickly, like drinking treacle, the spirits were okay.

Room - Very spacious and tidy, maid was cleaning ours every day, fresh towels also. Only thing was toilet leaked towards end of stay and maggots came out waste pipe, reception sorted this however and fixed the leak. Also the last day we had an ant infestation every corner of room ! We were not to bothered as it was last day and only noticed about 1 hour before we left room.

Pools - Nothing like what BBC made out, cleaned every morning, main pool is huge with 2 amazing slides which my boyfriend loved. Also quiet pool near our room was good for peace and quiet, not too big though and the shade made it really cold.

Entertainment - Brilliant for children and 1 or 2 shows okay to watch for adults on evening, only thing is you had to sit and wait through hours of kids disco/games/bingo every night before any show started.

During day Soviva and Thomas Cook team put on really good entertainment, never hassled you to join in, something for everyone (adults and children) they done slide races/slide bingo/ gladiator surf boards/ surf board high jumping, daily pool fitness/dancing - this was very popular.

Also music on all day around large pool which was nice to chill out and listen too.

Quad biking is a must - very cheap, good few hours out, friendly staff - do this through guy at hotel, not quad biking company over the road - they are rip off !

Shops over road - Go to Miami Supermarket - this is government shop - everything price marked so you know what to pay and no one hassles you as they work there they do not own it. Food/snacks/drinks were mainly cheap most about same price as home.

Perfumes/Aftershaves - Very cheap, My boyfriend bought 3x Paco Rabbane 1 Million 100ml - for around 21 dinar (£8/£9) - these are £45-£50 at home. On smelling them and comparing them with one in Boots, no difference at all - same smell, strength and duration.

Also good choice of designer clothes/handbags/ice watches for real cheap. Also get your gifts over here as guy in hotel charges 10 times as much.

Beach - not much to say about this, walk isn't to pleasant - scruffy surroundings and really hot, however only five minute walk out back gate of hotel. Also beach was nice and Soviva had their own section.

Overall really good holiday, we expected the faults we came across, would return.

If you want a 3 star and want a variety of lively and quiet this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for room around small pool, not far from eating area/reception/main pool, but if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went here for my 21st birthday with my fiance on the 13th of october for a week. i read bad comments on here before i went and i just thought typical british people all they ever do is complain but boy how wrong was i. this was the worse holiday i ever had no words can describe how bad this hotel was starting with the first night i was only in the room 10 mins before asking for a transfer due to dirty room over looking the bins and ants. they then transfered me room wasnt great but was liveable. the only time the room was clean was our last night before we was about to leave. the hotel is shocking served just about same food everyday around the pool was groty i am far from posh orse otherwise i wouldnt of booked a 3* hotel. the pool was freezing everyday it would make ya body go numb eventhough it was hot weather :s. staff was so rude unless u tipped them. i cant stress enough how much i would not recommend anybody not to go to this hotel the amount of people that complained was unbelievable it had by far ruined my 21st.
the only good thing about the holiday was the spa and message day which wasnt done by the hotel thank god

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel from 15 of October for one week our holiday was 1 month that's whey we deside to start with soviva as I did before I will start with the good points
We arrive at midday we collect our room key after 30m the room was fine and clean the reception people are fine mid was v good
The bad points is no welcome drink the food was always the same every day the waiters are v v bad you will wait for your drink up to 30 m animation team they not doing any thing except playing music all day not much to do around the hotel or el kantoui the people around the lobby they try to sell you some ship trip or beach moto trip without you opinion !!!!!! the indoor pool is closed untill 20 of November ????? What for
All the staff asking for tip if not. No service

What I can say just go to this hotel to sleep only And for value of money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hi there can i just say what a fab time me and my sister and our 2 kids have had yet again at soviva resort, I would like to thank, Chelsea, Hailie, Stefan, Keeley, Mozz, Billy boy, Lilmar, Rico and sam for a fab time with the entertainment and also a huge thanks to our holiday rep miss sarah malcolm with out you guys our holiday wouldnt have been complete. I would like also to thank the hotel staff for a friendly atmosphere in the hotel. I will be returning to soviva next year in june or july and hope to see some of you guys soon. Can i also put accross to people who intend to go nxt year dont listen to bad reviews about the hotel wait to you experience it yourself.

Room Tip: guys try and ask for pool view as its beautiful at nite xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent 2 days there, I attended to a conference held by AIESEC there. the hotel is nice, but once u get to the rooms, u are a little bit disappointed : it's not that really clean as u are expecting before getting to the room. the food was not so good, not tasty and sometimes was disgusting ! and the people there are not really nice ...!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room we had was clean. It was a walk to the main area but being a big complex we didnt mind. Struggling for sun beds on day one and we had to get up early to reserve them. As it was ramadam the complex was running on skeleton staff which caused queues at the bar and people waiting in the scorching sun. The drinks were warm and sometimes ran out of cups, which were plastic and collected and just rinsed out. Myself and many others suffered with tummy upsets. I took photos of the dried milk stain left in my coke glass and of the unclean resturant. It was advertised as 4star but clearly was a 2star. The food was poor and no variety and as we had paid for all in' we missed out on many meals as it wasnt fit to eat. Very poor! The sunbeds were broken and some days we were left with broken ones pinching our legs. Our room on the front of the hotel was like sleeping on a race track with bikes and cars racing through the night. Also there was a big generator working at night so we struggled to sleep all night. The pool was terrible. It was packed everyday and wasnt cleaned. The scum on the top was visible every day and very off putting. There was an unsavory man who was showing too much interest in the children and was "dealt with" by the staff but no police were called. So anyone could walk in off the streets, which alot of locals did with their children, until many of us complained. Over all it was a terrible holiday, the worst we have ever had and we were robbed! Complained to the staff also Thomas Cook and been fobbed off with excuses. No excuses for poor higiene and crappy food. We wont be using that agent again and will never go there again. Avoid at all cost!

Room Tip: If you must go, avoid the front of the hotel, its a race track
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Soviva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soviva Resort

Address: El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soviva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Soviva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soviva Hotel Port El Kantaoui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soviva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.