We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as we excepted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soviva Resort

Save Saved
You added Soviva Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soviva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not as bad as we excepted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel from 15 of October for one week our holiday was 1 month that's whey we deside to start with soviva as I did before I will start with the good points
We arrive at midday we collect our room key after 30m the room was fine and clean the reception people are fine mid was v good
The bad points is no welcome drink the food was always the same every day the waiters are v v bad you will wait for your drink up to 30 m animation team they not doing any thing except playing music all day not much to do around the hotel or el kantoui the people around the lobby they try to sell you some ship trip or beach moto trip without you opinion !!!!!! the indoor pool is closed untill 20 of November ????? What for
All the staff asking for tip if not. No service

What I can say just go to this hotel to sleep only And for value of money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    405
    274
    168
    257
See reviews for
657
323
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hi there can i just say what a fab time me and my sister and our 2 kids have had yet again at soviva resort, I would like to thank, Chelsea, Hailie, Stefan, Keeley, Mozz, Billy boy, Lilmar, Rico and sam for a fab time with the entertainment and also a huge thanks to our holiday rep miss sarah malcolm with out you guys our holiday wouldnt have been complete. I would like also to thank the hotel staff for a friendly atmosphere in the hotel. I will be returning to soviva next year in june or july and hope to see some of you guys soon. Can i also put accross to people who intend to go nxt year dont listen to bad reviews about the hotel wait to you experience it yourself.

Room Tip: guys try and ask for pool view as its beautiful at nite xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent 2 days there, I attended to a conference held by AIESEC there. the hotel is nice, but once u get to the rooms, u are a little bit disappointed : it's not that really clean as u are expecting before getting to the room. the food was not so good, not tasty and sometimes was disgusting ! and the people there are not really nice ...!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room we had was clean. It was a walk to the main area but being a big complex we didnt mind. Struggling for sun beds on day one and we had to get up early to reserve them. As it was ramadam the complex was running on skeleton staff which caused queues at the bar and people waiting in the scorching sun. The drinks were warm and sometimes ran out of cups, which were plastic and collected and just rinsed out. Myself and many others suffered with tummy upsets. I took photos of the dried milk stain left in my coke glass and of the unclean resturant. It was advertised as 4star but clearly was a 2star. The food was poor and no variety and as we had paid for all in' we missed out on many meals as it wasnt fit to eat. Very poor! The sunbeds were broken and some days we were left with broken ones pinching our legs. Our room on the front of the hotel was like sleeping on a race track with bikes and cars racing through the night. Also there was a big generator working at night so we struggled to sleep all night. The pool was terrible. It was packed everyday and wasnt cleaned. The scum on the top was visible every day and very off putting. There was an unsavory man who was showing too much interest in the children and was "dealt with" by the staff but no police were called. So anyone could walk in off the streets, which alot of locals did with their children, until many of us complained. Over all it was a terrible holiday, the worst we have ever had and we were robbed! Complained to the staff also Thomas Cook and been fobbed off with excuses. No excuses for poor higiene and crappy food. We wont be using that agent again and will never go there again. Avoid at all cost!

Room Tip: If you must go, avoid the front of the hotel, its a race track
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Well arrived back in england on 31 oct after two fantastic weeks at soviva forstly as everyone says i read the bad reviews and got worried no
Need jst enjoy your holiday stop moaning about silly nonesense

The hotel is lovely really is, yes its a bit dated in some parts but see past it and enjoy the sun besides they are closing now for five months of refurbs beer is good and i suggest takin part in the entertainment games as the rose wine tops you up to were you want to be tipsy wise made some very good friends over there esspecially soufien who runs the bag and clothes shop
At hotel he was a really nice guy miss him already thanks for
Everything and aman who runs the sunglasses stall again thanks for the laughs
Tip the staff well and they treat you like royalty and nothing is too much trouble entertainment team
Were great stefan haillie keeley and chelsea you kept us laughing and having fun all holiday sarah the rep is wonderful and great at her job nothing too much trouble always helpful animation team were great rico lilmar moss billy and my mate sam we loved sam loads and he is a big man u fan so he won my vote straight off miami restaurant outside the hotel is great and very cheap also if you like kebabs turn right outside the hotel and walk a hundred yards and there is a takeaway shop two chicken kebabs with chips 5 dinar about 2.40 cant beat it was amazing if you like copied goods theres loads of watches bags clothes shoes trainers sunglasses i got several really good watches from
Miami shopping centre across rd for 40 dinars all automatic about 14 quid also if you like copied tshirts or polo shirts i recomend ali babas bout 4 pound each so jst go enjoy urself and enjoy the sun ignore the bad reviews as we did read the good ones and get excited and you will have a great time oh the kebab shop called el kella haha anyway miss you all at soviva we will be back def loved every minute oh last thing i recomend going end of season its nice and hot still but not half as rammed as height of summer again thank you to everyone for making our holiday amazing love you all

Mark from
Manchester

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just come back from soviva after staying for 7 nights , firstly I would like to say who goes round on thier holiday taking pictures of broken sunbeds , rusty shower heads and who actually moves out a fridge to take a pic of it underneath because I'm pretty sure if someone went to their house and did that they would find dirt ! ... Anyway the hotel was good exactly what you would expect from a 3 star exactly what you paid for . The food was good and loads of it along with choice . The waiters were fab , friendly and fast ! The room was nice cleaned daily and had fresh towels in the maids have a really hard job ! The barstaff were friendly if your ok with them then they will be with you ! Which is probably why some people got poor service ! The pool is fab and the camel trip is ace sooo funny was the little donkey ! The hotel carpets could do with a hoover but to be fair you don't spend your holiday in the corridor ! Whilst we were there we had 900 Tunisian students come to the hotel again people moaning about it complaining and yeah everyone has a eight to do that but to just complain to get 50 quid off your next holiday is embarrassing ! The only time they bothered you was at breakfast when you couldn't get to the food but hey ho ! Entertainment was lacking at night but it was expected as it was the end of season ! All in all a great holiday and great people ! The port can be annoying but just say no thankyou and that's the end ! The walk to the beach s daunting at first but then its ok and the beach is nice !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of August for 2 weeks but been so busy I havnt had time at all.
7 of us went myself 34, partner 33, our kids 15,13 and relatives aged 50, 24 and 18. We all enjoyed our stay and had a fantastic time!
On arrival It's obvious that the main soviva hotel block has bought the hotel next door, proberbly many years ago and turned it into a bit of a resort because the hotel block itself looks really nice but the area of rooms on the side are not in the same league. But you must remember 1 thing that a 4* in Tunisia isn't gonna be like a 4* in the uk is it. If I was classing this I'd say that on the whole it's more of a uk 3* but the rooms are more 2*.
On the 1st day me and my partner wanted out, blinded by the bad reveiws, the not so good room and the horrible food we just didn't want 2 stay here but we decided 2 try and make the most of it. The next day we walked around the pool and thought its really quite nice, went for dinner and was helped by a waiter who told us what was what so we tipped him and he looked after us all the time so....we tipped him all the time. We found some lovely food and really started to enjoy. You really do need to be adventurous with the food it's not like home or Spain you just won't get that anywhere over there. With regard the room we decided to just put up with it and you soon get used to it but be warned they really are rubbish, nothing like the reception area of the hotel which is stunning.
The thing is just give it a chance and don't go searching for the bad things cus you will find them anywhere at any hotel. If your shower curtain is dirty (like ours was) then don't touch it, if you don't like cracked pavements then step over them! Come on! I can't beleive I actually saw people taking pictures of loose floor tiles and round the back of shrubs and stuff like that. Seriously just try and enjoy your break. On the whole the soviva grounds are fine the football courts could do with a bit of tlc but other than that they are more than fine.
You won't find a sunbed so if you want to get up at 6 to get one then just do it but don't moan about it, I didn't do it cus I'm on holiday! No way were getting up at 6 for nothing, we just put towels on the grass and we were all fine and relaxed.
Give tips! We gave our waiter 5dinar every time and he worshiped us. 5 dinar is nothing so don't be tight just give it and you will enjoy more. We chucked a dinar in the barmans jar every other day and he'll have ur drinks ready before you even get there!
The staff themselves are fantastic! Smile at them and they'll smile back most Tunisians love the English.
Entertainment was a bit rubbish for us but the animation team are really good and look the part.
TC team were ok, they tried and were very friendly and nice but not that good at singing (sorry).
The cleanliness of the hotel grounds is very good and our room was cleaned most days.
There is a walk to the beach and yes it does look a bit dodgy but its fine, there building and developing the area so it does look poor but it really is fine. On the beach you can do the usual jet ski, paragliding etc and there all priced. The shops on the way down to the beach all try and sell you stuff but if you smile and say no thank you most of them will say thank you have a nice day.
There are shops and supermarkets outside the front of the soviva most have prices in and dont pressure you but be careful buying ciggerettes as many are fakes unless you buy from a proper shop.
All in all Tunisia is an experience and if its your 1st time then just listen to advice and enjoy yourselves you will learn quickly and start to understand the people and country. The soviva is ok, just try and relax and enjoy your holiday, put up with the few bad parts by making the most of the good and its lovely. Most importantly give it a chance because its not as bad as you might 1st think.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soviva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soviva Resort

Address: El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soviva Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Soviva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soviva Hotel Port El Kantaoui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soviva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.