We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but read more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel to your Saves list
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blv 14 Janvier 4089, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel but read more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a nice hotel,reception lovely,rooms good need a little tlc and update!!
There is a man on reception his name is Hichem,what a great guy help with anything always smiling,The downs of this hotel is,paying for your towls and sunbeds 2diner a day,paying for your safe 28 diners for 2weeks,all the staff expect you to tip them!! The room maids are good and work hard,so deserve to be tipped,the pool side man,thinks he is a holiday maker he walks round with just shorts and bandana on,with look at me swagger!!!!
If you buy bottle water from the supermarket you get told you cant have it by the pool,you have to buy there drinks,the food is same each evening,nice fried eggs for breakfast,
All in all if you just want a quiet break this is the place to go,no entertainment!!
Would I go again no.

Room Tip: We were in room 104 ground floor in the middle,good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    125
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
25
191
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here the beginning of May for 10 nights and are looking foorward to returning hopefully in October. We took advice from others who had reviewed and requested a 4th floor room which we got. We had room 409 and loved the fact that we could sit on the balcony and see both the gardens and the sea. This was especially important as we are both disabled and cant always go out so we were also able to enjoy our in times. Very relaxing and the staff were wonderful nothing was too much trouble and they were dedicated to ensuring all our needs were met from the reception, bar stewards, porters, waiters etc. We would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing a relaxing holiday. Well done to all at the El Hana Palace Caruso and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd or 4th floor as some of the trees in the garden are really tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel setting is beautiful, lots of marble columns and gorgeous pool. When we stayed the hotel was half empty and although we got a low floor as requested was a little bit dark so we asked to swap and top floors are much better with views of the sea. Staff are very helpful and very friendly although as we checked in at 1am (delayed flight!) no one told us where the meals were resulting in a lot of wandering around the next morning! The food is amazing, I put on so much weight trying to sample the variety of foods they provided. The roundhouse bar is quiet but had a local piano player in the evenings. Although was nice, after two or three nights of the same song got a little bit bored! In the ten nights we stayed there was also one night of local Tunisian dancers and belly dancers. I enjoyed this but was held in the big hall which made it feel empty and not much atmosphere. I expected quiet but the whole area was pretty quiet in the evening. We wandered into the marina some evenings and there seemed to be few bars or entertainment and although you could go into other hotels they charged you for the privilege. Plenty to do during the day and we booked most of our excursions through the guy at the pool (even though we were warned against this). He was very friendly and did us a good deal on the trips and provided transport to and from the places. He even found us after each trip to find out if we had a good time. I def recommend using him instead of the reps as so much cheaper and groups for camel ride and quad bikes were small meaning you got a better experience. Bath is amazing!! The maids were really good. My OH is extremely messy and they picked up his clothes off the floor and folded them for him. During day you can walk along the beach to the marina although the beaches are very dirty, but after chatting to the locals it's not their fault, there is simply no money to clean them all! Our brochure sed there was a private beach although there a patch of sand I wouldn't spend the day there, walk down to the water sports stand and the beaches are much nicer! would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a quiet relaxing holiday and don't get bored easily! If your looking for more evening entertainment, I would choose another hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a higher room and if you want tea and coffee in your room just ask for kettle (small charge t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week 11th May 2014 half board. I was a little disappointed in the room as requested a high floor but was on the ground floor yet it was quiet so That was a bonus as we did sleep very well. The room is out dated and furniture worn but that did not really bother us. The food was good, fresh and hot and seemed mainly 'English'type of meals. The service was excellent although the receptionists seemed a little grumpy and 'serious' at times. There is an organist that plays every evening popular 50's/60's types of tunes. There is a very large marbled room above the Restaurant that has a TV that shows sports/music...not too sure why this is the set up at this hotel as it seems such a waste to have such an amazing large room with no organist there so people/couples could maybe have some time in there at night, even dance a little. The hotel is in the middle of 2 beaches easily to get to and safe to swim. The area is quiet with a handful of bars and a beautiful port within easy walking distance. The bar in the hotel sells lager/wine/shorts at reasonable prices

Room Tip: Sunbathe near the wall if there is a wind its a real suntrap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned from another lovely Holiday at this Hotel,There is one change that people should be aware of.
This hotel no longer accept travelers cheques,not really a problem as you can change them at the De Vinci Hotel some 300yds on your left as you head towards the port.

Would reccomend this Hotel to anyone,but be aware it is very quiet,with little entertainment.
So if you want a relaxing Holiday this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room you have been given,ask at reception if you can change,they are very hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my first holiday to Tunisia and am nooking to go back.Stayed at the Caruso Palace adults only hotel in PortElkantoui.Absolutly amazing.Although it is only a half board package dont let this put you off.The drinks and food are thw cheapest I have ever come across anywhere.The food is top class and the service better.If you want a relaxing holiday in a stunning location look no further.The heated indoor pool and jaccusi are well worth a visit everyday although the large immaculate outdoor pool could do with a little warming.The staff just cannot do enough to make your stay even more special.A must do is the camel ride would reccomend this.A realy special place .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the caruso palace hotel 5-11 may 2014. The hotel was excellent as were the staff,
and the food was very good. Always a good selection. Rooms clean and comfortable. The staff
in reception were very helpful,we also found having allocated tables in the restaurant a good idea.Inside the villa was fantstic,the chandelier in the middle of the main room was
brilliant, plus all that marble.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: Blv 14 Janvier 4089, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.