We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blv 14 Janvier 4089, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My two friends and I enjoyed a very pleasant, relaxing week at this hotel from 7th - 13th March 2013. The transfer was fine and the rep on our coach warned us about the locals ploys, especially the one where they tell you they are chef/waiter/security guard etc from your hotel and try to lure you into certain shops to part with your cash. The reception area in the hotel was impressive with lots of marble and we had a very quick, easy check in. Our room on the third floor was large, clean and airy with a small but sufficient balcony. There was a good choice for breakfast, toast, fried or boiled eggs, omlette, fruit, cereal, cakes, cold meats and cheeses and some more unusual, for me anyway, hot dishes such as potatoes, onions, rice pudding etc. Evening meals were delicious with a huge choice of beef, chicken, turkey, fish and vegetable dishes done in various ways, also salad dishes, soup and a great choice of cakes and pastries, ice cream etc. Chefs and waiters were very friendly and helpful with a pleasant manner but not intrusive. There was entertainment some nights, this included an impressive belly dancing show, a fakir show and live music. The entertainments manager, Fifi, does a great job in encouraging guests to participate and is friendly and approachable with a great sense of humour. We did not attempt to use the outdoor pool at this time of year but the indoor pool and jaccusi were lovely and warm. The cleaners were also very friendly and did a great job, a hard task with 3 untidy women in the room! A lovely little touch was the way our nightclothes were arranged on the bed by the cleaner in a fun, fanned out shape. As soon as we found our sunbeds after breakfast a guy would appear very quickly with 3 cushions and 3 towels for us to use around the pool. All in all we had a very nice week and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
18
134
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from the 3rd of March for a week. The hotel is about 40 minutes from the Airport, an easy transfer along good roads. Reception area was nice and we were allocated our room quickly, on the 4th floor. The bellboy took our cases up and showed us the room. Well, it's not 4 star, but the room was freshly decorated, the carpet was new, the beds were new, clean sheets and pillows, and a clean, but dated bathroom. Maid service every day, very polite and knew her job. the hotel has an indoor heated pool on the ground floor, we did not use it but it looked lovely, the bar on the ground floor was very quiet, hardly anyone used it. Price wise a beer costs 3.5 Dinar, about £1.40 a bottle. The house in the grounds is really quite grand, superb marble everywhere, a lovely place to enjoy a cool beer or a glass of wine. The food in the hotel was quite good, something for everyone and all you can eat, breakfast was mainly eggs, and a hash up of whatever was left from the previous nights dinner
+ all the usual fruit, toast, crusty bread, really good fresh butter ect. This hotel is one of the better ones in Port El Kantaoui, the staff are very helpful, and go out of there way to make sure guests have a good stay. Away from the hotel things are not so good, the marina is a 5 minute walk away, as soon as you get within 100 yards of the tower at the marina entrance you are pestered with the shopkeepers to come into there shop/ food stall/ toilet/flowers ect. this is only the start. there are about 80 places round the marina and they will all try to get you to spend your Dinars with them. Some are O.K. but beware! you WILL meet several who are in your face and not very nice. Do not go into the food sellers who do not have the price displayed outside. if you go in you will end up paying 3 times the going rate for your beer or coffee ( very few places are allowed to sell alcohol, a beer ordered in these places will be non alcoholic, and not very good) . If you want to buy a few beers or some wine there is a small beer store attached to the supermarket at the right hand side of the entrance tower, it is closed on fridays. Good wines can be had from about 6.5 Dinars a bottle. If you like a wee dram, bring it with you, a bottle of chivas regal will set you back 285 Dinars !. The beach at the hotel is crap, all kinds of junk and broken glass, there are good beaches further down at the other side of the marina, you can walk barefoot in the soft white sand. All in all, a fair holiday for not much money, it gets you enough winter sun to keep you going till summer. Would we go back to this hotel ? yes !

Room Tip: 4th floor best, no noise and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is not a 4 star it's a 3. Went here in February 2013 for 2 weeks glad to get home. All the staff want is money, I know they don't have much but they should not beg you for it. The rooms are dated but clean, they are doing the hotel up. The beach was disgusting filthy also the resort itself is dirty, nobody seems to want to clean up, but for the price we paid it was ok I would be very unhappy if we paid full price. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we booked this hotel as a 4 star thinking it would be pretty good, if im honest it was probably very smart 10 years ago but is now quite old fashioned and in need of an upgrade and some money needs spending on it, it was 3 star. the hotel staff were very nice especially the cleaners and in the restaurant and bar areas. i think most people were happy with the food. we stayed in february and there is not much to do really and it certainly would of been boring if we had taken the kids. there was a new entertainment girl that had just started and she was very friendly and enthusiastic i thought, im sure given the chance she will be really good at her job. fifi is her name. outside the hotel was extremely dissapointing , it was extremely run down and very scruffy with broken bottles and litter everywhere including the beeches. i would not return to this country again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a long delayed flight of about 3 hours we arrived at this place, about 1-30 am we asked a reception for somthing to eat and some refreshments they laughed and said everything was closed gave us our key and walked away. In the morning we tried to shower and i tried to shave but no hot water, breakfast was ok and after i told reception about no hot water and fridge in room not working. Everything in the room was late 60s and after 3 days of continualy complaining to the reception i spoke to the thomas cook rep. he said it would be looked into and what trips we wanted to buy we told him none as we have been on them all we were totaly ignored. When we came home i emailed COOK my complaints and all i have had is reception no complaint lodged THOMAS COOK rep the same. My advice to anyone booking with cook if you have anything wrong or a complaint get it in writing or better take photos. We will never go THOMAS COOK again so please be warned, the staff did there best and the day of our departure the barman told us the hotel was being refurbished so once again be warned about thomas cook and this nightmare excuse of a hotel.Our sheets were changed once in 7 days and the overall roon was never cleaned to any standerd but a quick cat lick and beds not made till about 5 in the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January, it is now known as Curuso Palace. First impressions are very grand but on closer inspection the hotel is in need of a little TLC. The room we were allocated was not very good and I asked if this could be changed, I was given a couple of room keys and asked to look and choose. No trouble at all. The room was very spacious with a two queen size beds next to each other, a settee, chair and occasional table and there was also a TV. Separate toilet and basin. A full bathroom with a large corner bath and shower. Sheets changed every other day and towels changed daily. The restaurant served a good variety for breakfast including cereals, juice, fresh fruit, breads and eggs. Dinner had a very good selection with soups, salads and an abundance of main meals to choose from. The food was hot and very good, the only thing I would avoid is the cooked rice, I was ill for two days and this is the only thing I ate that was different from my husband and he was fine. We used the indoor pool and the jacuzzi, this was excellent. We also splashed out on the massage, 80 Dinar for the two of us, including the sauna, brilliant! The staff are helpful and everyone looks for tips.
Now for the area. We walked into PET to have a look round and we were harassed the minute we walked into the shopping area to come into my shop/cafe/restaurant and they would not take NO for an answer, it was awful. We left after 20 minutes.. It was the same in Sousse, they will not leave you alone. If they grab hold of your arm, they have put a bracelet on it and DEMAND 10 Dinar, they will not let you go until you give it to them. We were becoming hotel sick so decided to spend 2 days in the Sahara Desert. The trip was well worth the money, we thoroughly enjoyed it BUT again everywhere we went, it was money, money, money and they can be very agressive. BIG TIP avoid the coke scam in the desert, they put a coke bottle in your hand because its hot in the desert, then DEMAND 10 Dinar and if you refuse they argue with you and hold everyone up on the trip until you pay! Travel agents should warn holidaymakers about this.
Would I go back to the Caruso Palace again, NO! Would I go to Tunisia again, NO!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the sea side have sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The reception area is stunning with all the marble and we were seen to very quickly by friendly helpful staff. Our luggage was brought to our room, 206, which was a bit dated, but clean with spotless bathroom and a view looking towards the Villa at the back of the main hotel. Beyond this was the beach but that could only be seen from a higher floor level. Our sheets and towels were changed every day by a very polite and friendly chambermaid. There was plenty of room for clothes but only three hangers. The safe cost two dinars per day which you pay for on arrival.The dining room, which is on the ground floor of the villa, was spotless, spacious and the choice of food at all meals was out- standing. The food was always hot and plentiful and once again the waiters were friendly and helpful.We made many friends in that dining room, chatting over what we had done that day. A flight of marble steps lead into the villa, well worth the climb to see the interior of what was once a family home. The grounds are well kept and sun loungers in plentiful supply but unfortunately we didn't have the weather to use them. It was dry but a bit on the chilly side. In the bar, once again. spotlessly clean, we paid 7 dinars for two bottles of becks (10 dinars about £4). Tipping is the norm over there , even one dinar is gratefully accepted.

Room Tip: We had no noise disturance in our room, 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: Blv 14 Janvier 4089, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.