We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Diar El Andalous to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Start with the image of an excellent hotel and you won't be far wrong. I'll leave the reader to determine the weight to be attached to the few niggles I encountered.
The room, and I was in 314 on the second floor, was clean and spacious. Bed linen was changed frequently and the towels changed every day. There was plenty of shelf and hanging storage but surprisingly no drawers anywhere in the room. Some items which I like to keep handy are usually best kept out of sight.
The towel rail over the bath was loose but was 'fixed' shortly after it was reported. The repair was not sound and it was loose again by the end of the stay.
I also found out at the end of the visit that the balcony sliding door did not lock (it was too cold to use the balcony). I doubt security was badly compromised as the balcony was not easily accessible from outside.
The large flat screen TV had approximately 30 channels though only one, BBC World, dedicated to English language.
Food served in the self service restaurant was typical of the mid to top end of 'all inclusive' accommodation, varied European fare with some Tunisian specialities. It was predominantly beef and chicken, well cooked and tasty. As is usual none of the spicy dishes were particularly spicy. Some food was 'display' cooked to order by chefs. Breakfasts featured fresh eggs/omelettes/pancakes/doughnuts with fresh pizza/kebabs/fish etc at lunch and dinner. Don't expect a full 'English' however as there was no sign of bacon, baked beans or mushrooms (or roast beef and Yorkshire pudding!)
One 'a la carte' dinner per week was available and I chose the Tuesday 'Oriental' option rather than the Saturday 'Italian'. It turned out to be disappointing. It wasn't Oriental, it was a set 3 course menu with no choices - the main course being a pie (not bad but not that good either).
Service was good throughout the stay.
The lounge bar and pool bar were open (but not the sports bar). Both were adequately staffed so waiting time was generally very short. Drinks were acceptable standard local wines and spirits.
Daytime entertainment was provided by the talented Yassim aka Sam aka Davvid of the animation team. Boules, mini golf, darts, putting and archery were on offer (I imagine there will be much more when the weather improves).
Evening entertainment was limited to a couple of games of free bingo , a belly dancer and a pleasant enough pianist. To be fair the layout of the bar didn't lend itself to much else (an outdoor amphitheatre will no doubt be well used in summer).
The weather isn't usually that good at this time of year but when we could sun bathe the pool attendant quickly brought us loungers and mattresses (beach towels were provided separately)
Overall a very enjoyable weeks stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are delighted that you highlighted their performances.

Finally, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your week holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tunisia.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    288
    106
    38
    29
See reviews for
197
456
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 days and nights. The room was rather small but cozy and the sea view a bit of an overstatement since it was across a wast garden and behind a wall, but you could just make out something blue in the distance.There were a few corridors we had to thread on our way to the room but we got peace and quiet for our efforts. Absolutely fabulous food, breakfast, lunch and dinner...the snack bar was nice as well. Garden was marvelous, nice size pool and good service pool-side. The entertainment staff were fun and enthusiastic. The traditional cafe in the hotel was a nice touch. Great staff overall.

Room Tip: Far away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the entertainment, the lovely pools and the traditional café, were satisfactory parts of your experience.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Diar el Andalous and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visted this Hotel for 2 weeks in January 2013 returning on the 20th.
I found the staff very nice and couldnt do enough for you from reception, bar, dinning and bedrooms.
Achour in the bar was very profesional, polite and helpful.
Zardine in the Dinning room was my waiter during my stay and was very friendly, efficient and couldnt do enough for me which was very nice being a solo traveller.
My room maid also very efficient and maintained the cleanliness of my room 263 very well.
The entertainment staff were very nice and friendly although I didnt actually support any of their organised events.
I would be more than happy to return>

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear James,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff, friendly waiters and a very nice animation team. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Diar el Andalous are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we stayed at the andalous in september 2012 and had a great time. We went again in december as it was my birthday and although the hotel was not full they certainly did not let us down..activity group carlos sam emily etc were excellant and kim and beach man all just as helpful even though they were feeling cold.Lingard in the bar was brilliant and never stopped smiling[yes please]ha ha.and allthe staff were really great. reception always helpful and rooms very clean.only one problem and it was at weekend when all the locals came in it was upsetting to see the amount of food wasted and the mess all over the dining room. if guests take too much food and waste more than they eat they should have to pay for it. all inclusive does not mean take food to waste.i am going back again this year but when the hotel is busy and does not have to take in weekend guests.love everything about Tunisia as we have been 8times and the Iberostar hotels are the best

Room Tip: nearer to lifts as it can be a long walk to dining room etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. As all our workers strive to exceed guest expectations, we will certainly congratulate our staff for contributing to make you feel welcome and attended.

Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were here in January for around 10 days and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel has a very spacious feeling with many amenities and our junior suite room was big too with a separate small lounge and a balcony with a seating area. On a half board basis, my wife and I were satisfied with the variety and quality of food. Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful especially housekeeping.

Location was good too, we did a few organised trips and found that our location was pretty much central to most of these. We did a few trip into Sousse too which is a must, taxis from the hotel cost around 7dinar (a few pounds)

My only issue was no wifi in rooms although free internet was available in the lobby. This may not be a problem for most people, but my wife and I spend part of our holidays working so fast internet is essential wherever we travel in the world. In room internet will be available in the future and fortunately the director came up with a solution for us so no harm done - and a great example of going out of the way, to keep us happy...

Would definitely return to Tunisia and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Diar El Andalous. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of awarding mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you again in the future and send you our best regards.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have just returned from a week at this hotel with my father who is 89. I have to say that the location is excellent with the marina a 20 minute walk away and the standards in the hotel are very good indeed. I hesitate whether to put excellent for the hotel overall. It is close to that; however the one thing I would say I think they could serve a few more vegetables with the evening meals. It is excellent value for money. The manager and the staff could not be any nicer or more eager to help. The hotel is the right size; not too big, not too small. We were lucky that there were quite a few English people there to socialise with and they were all lovely people. I think the hotel and the area suits old and young alike; it is not too busy for the more mature holiday maker at this time of year (January). However the weather is still pleasant and mostly sunny, but not hot enough to "sunbathe" as such or to sit on the beach. My dad was very well looked after, the rooms are beautifully refurbished. I was particularly impressed with the animation team who continue to work even in the Winter season and the fact that virtually everything was still open (only one beach restaurant closed) even though it is January. The indoor pool was great. Dad was pleased to be able to get Sky sports programmes in the hotel and me to get free internet access in the reception area.The area is safe and everyone very friendly indeed including taxi drivers and so forth. Plenty to do in the area and plenty of trips.

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible rooms available on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have just had two brilliant weeks in this hotel. The hotel is very nice, we had lovely food and the staff were terrific. Our room was on the top floor and we had the sun on balcony for a long time it was like a sun trap. Every morning we could watch the sun rising. The rooms are hugh with a lovely large comfortable bed and a duvet wich was good as you dont very often get them. The rooms were cleaned every day . We had trouble with the sink one day and the maid went and got someone and it was sorted straight away. So impressed. We went in the no smoking bar in the evenings and were entertained by the piano player who played some lovely songs. The bar staff were good especially Jamel he was the best. Knew which drinks we wanted after first day. The only thing we could complain about was at the Gala meal we were put on a table so far back we seemed to be forgot about. Only gave us one drink all night it would have been nice to have just put a bottle of wine on the table but we found it funny in the end to be ignored. That is only a small moan. We enjoyed the evening very much. We came home on the 30th december and wished that we were stopping for the new year. Oh well will just have to return this Christmas and stay the New year to. It is nice to celebrate Christmas in the sunshine with lots of lovely staff and guests. This is about the 10th time my hubby and I have been to Tunisa in lots of different hotels and we both agreed that this was the Best.Thank you all for making our holiday so good. Be back in December if not before.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Chris,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Diar El Andalous. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our team. Your positive and encouraging words motivate us to continue working with joy and enthusiasms.

We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, and reading that you find that we supply good standards and that we are the best hotel of all the ones that you have tried in Tunisia, makes our daily labors worthwhile.

We will certainly congratulate our staff, especially Jamel, for delighting you with the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

It strengthens our determination to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we will take in consideration all your constructive comments to learn how we can still improve some of our services so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next Christmas and surprise you by serving you excellently during the gala meal.

Once again, thank you for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Diar El Andalous 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel, located in the town of Sousse, is an all-inclusive Port El Kantaoui hotel, surrounded by gardens and right on the beach. This beautiful Tunisian hotel on the Mediterranean coast offers an impeccable service and has a wide range of entertainment for the whole family, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing family holiday in Tunisia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Diar El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.