We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Diar El Andalous to your Saves list
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We wanted winter sun but hadn't thought about Tunisia until the travel agent suggested it. We hadn't heard many good things about it so asked a few questions before deciding to give it a go. We holidayed between 4th and 11th November 2012 and had a lovely time - much thanks to the staff, including the animation team. They were all extremely helpful, friendly and energetic and made our holiday. Can't tell you much about Tunisia because we didn't do much else but chill out. But to be honest, everything we wanted for our holiday was provided by the hotel and staff. We walked along the beach for about 20 minutes and reached the harbour in Port el Kantoui. We would go back to Tunisia and this hotel so that perhaps we can see more of what it's got to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Elaine,

We feel proud and we want to thank you warmly for letting us know that we were able to make your experience into the perfect holiday we wish to offer to all our guests. Further, we are enchanted that you made the effort to write a review and share your encouraging comments with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are delighted to read that your overall experience was a good one, and you really enjoyed the cares of our very friendly staff and lovely entertainment team. We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your confirmation to have enjoyed, is the best reward for our daily efforts as is your intention to visit us again.

Thank you!

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    389
    137
    51
    43
See reviews for
286
622
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

For anyone on a budget Tunisia is great place to go! We went for a week at the end of October and wasn't let down. The hotel was beautiful and always spotless, with enough facilities that for those who aren't as confident to leave the complex would have everything they needed on site. We booked with Thomas Cook and I won't lie the rep was awful! But the staff are fantastic and if you had any queries they would be more than happy to help.

The food was excellent a large array, and for all you fish lovers this hotel is heaven! Because I am allergic I spent the week being a vegie due to being quite fussy but I didn't mind the food was lovely without a meat dish. The buffet staff are by far the best, we had our usual table and it wasn't long before they knew our drink orders and not once during the holiday did we have an empty glass. Tipping is just second nature and although its not required a little goes along way and they really appreciate it!

Our hotel room was lovely requested a sea room on booking so the view was lovely, they cleaning staff always make sure your room is clean by the end of the day with fresh towels!

Also anyone wanting to experience Tunisia in all its beauty book the Medina Ramble excursion its a fantastic tour and you really get a sense of how they live on a day to day basis. It also caters to everyone from the hard haggler to the sit on the wall kinda guy, trust me there are some bargains to be found!

My favourite aspect was the beach, absolutely stunning and you always no matter what time got a lounger! The watersports are fantastic as well with some being included in your holiday, sports like the jet skis and parasailing are cheap and so much fun to do!

Overall a fantastic time! Its well worth the money and more, oh and if you get the chance go into the coffee shop and have a mint tea its free and for just 4 dinars treat yourself to a Shisha pipe! Happy holidaying!

Room Tip: Request when booking if you have any room requests, majority of the time you will
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Marie,

It strengthens our determination to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are grateful that you made the effort to share your wonderful comments.

We are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning and the friendliness whilst serving you. These positive remarks keep us motivated to achieve the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Further, it is enjoyable to see that the lovely beach which is one of our main attractions was of your liking. We are glad that you had such a wonderful time doing water sports and relaxing.
Looking forward to may serve you again we send you our best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, food really, really good - lots to choose from, staff pleasant and most helpful. The inovation team in the hotel we always in good spirits and kept us all amused they were lovely to have around. We had not faults at all with this hotel, shopping good, but the locals do like to haggle - maybe a wee bit too much, but all in all had a fantastic time, would visit this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Since this hotel has been refurbished I presume all roos are good but try and get a balcony with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort and spotlessness of our hotel, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as also the pleasant staff. We see that you enjoyed what for us is basic: a stay where you can feel as at home with the great advantage of benefiting from a wide range of services to fully enjoy your holiday.

Further, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time you had under the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team. In Iberostar we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for our daily labors to hear that our guests take some unforgettable memories of it back home.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice hotel adjacent to the beach in quiet location within easy walking access to the marina and centre of Port El Kantaoui. Rooms very clean and comfortable, food is fairly typical all inclusive fare but absolutely fine with a good selection and well presented.
Outstanding aspect of the hotel for us was the staff, all very polite and friendly made us feel very welcome from check-in and for the whole week, particularly our drinks waiter Jamal who was superb along with Shardin in the restaurant - really nice gents the pair of them.
We can recommend the 'Roman Empire' day trip to to the ruins at Dougga and Zhagouan apart from great examples of Roman sites the tour takes you out into the mountains and some very different landscapes from that around PEK and Sousse.

It was our first time in Tunisia but we found it very interesting and would definitely go back there and to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing with so much details our complete services and facilities. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Diar el Andalous, as it is very pleasant to see that with you we have made our goal to offer a really good and relaxing holiday.

It pleases us to see that the efforts of our gastronomic department, the great location, the comfortable rooms and the spotless cleanliness of our installations contributed to your wellbeing in the hotel.

When you write that Jamal and Shardin as well as many other members of our staff made you feel very welcome from check-in and for the whole week, this is a confirmation of doing a good job, and this motivates us to get even better! We lay much worth on the service-orientation of our employees and it is lovely to read you´ve enjoyed it.

Subsequently, we would like to thank you for the tips and recommendations that you outlined, as we know that Tripadvisor users will find them interesting and helpful.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back soon, and send you our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

want to go back..had so much fun..!!! ppl are bloody lovely they look after you there..lots to do aswell.food was ok for me.rooms are lush i must say.swimming pool lovely.all and all very good hol...all the staff r wicked.i wanna hope to go back there next year as the best hol ive had.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Laura, dear Neil,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Diar El Andalous was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

Further, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and an entertaining animation program are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them all marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

It is very nice to read that you felt well while being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your confirmation to have enjoyed, is the best reward for our daily efforts as is your intention to visit us again next year. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Thank you!

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed as a couple 4th to 11th November 2012. The hotel is good overall, the rooms are a good size and comfortable and the professional photos are reasonably accurate, however the photo of the pool bar is wrong as the bar is no longer there. However, the air conditioning had been switched off in the hotel due to the winter season but as it was still warm outside this made the rooms very hot at night. The All inclusive option worked well, the wine and alcoholic drinks were good and overall this made it good value for money.

We found the booking in system unnecessarily lengthy and irritating after travelling for hours.

We went for a quiet week in the sun, which was exactly what we got. I think children would struggle to find enough to do here. Also we became aware that even though the pedalos and kayaks are included in the holiday there seems to be only 2 or 3 available !! Maybe the hotel manager would like to clarify exactly how many are available for the guests to use.

The food, however, is good, very good at times. The chefs cook some of the dishes in front of you, try the Tunisian dishes they are very tasty, and the grilled tuna was amazing. The hotel staff eat in the restaurant which I think is a sign of confidence in good quality.

The hotel does seem to have a problem with flies, which is not nice. Maybe something the management should look into seriously to resolve. We found some of the parts of the hotel a little shabby and odd to find broken and random items of old furniture at the edge of the hotel grounds.

We only went on one organised trip to Alzahara, which is an evening show with dinner. The food was ok, and the belly dancing was fun. The show was 3000 years of Tunisian history, parts of which were quite interesting but the dialogue was in 3 languages so took ages and we thought this made it a little disjointed. I suppose when you are catering for so many nationalities this is the only way to do it. It's all outside apart from the dinner so take a fleece or cardi with you if you go. The trip all ran on time, a little pricey for what it was. I rate it 3 out of 5.

We got a taxi to Sousse, which is quite an experience. Top tips - Ladies cover your shoulders (maybe legs too); Always ask for a menu in the coffee bars and restaurants; Establish the price and size of the portion or drink before you order. If you are blonde like me you cannot help but stand out like a sore thumb ! Mostly the Tunisian people are welcoming and friendly, there are exceptions to this and pick pockets and tricksters will try it on. Keep your wits about you, be firm with your haggling and walk away from anything you are not comfortable with.

The short walk from the hotel to Port El Kantaoui is a pleasant 15 minute stroll, just what you need after all that fab food !! The marina is pretty and many of the shops are not pushy. There are a few restaurants and coffee bars here, which are nice to sit in and watch the world go by. We only had coffee but the food we saw looked good.

The staff at this hotel are exceptionally good, our waiter Zardin was fabulous and our maid Jelaila was so friendly. (apologies if I have spelt the names wrong). The pool bar staff were good fun too. Kym the pool lifeguard is just lovely. We didn't get to know the entertainment staff well but they seemed to do a good job. Do tip these people, their attention to you makes such a difference to your holiday.

10 dinar is approx £4. You can get coffee for 2.5 dinar, yes that is £1 !! We paid 8 dinar plus a small tip to get to Sousse, I don't know if that is good or not but I figured £4 for a 15 minute taxi ride was ok.

The hotel has a nice jewellery shop which we seemed to spend quite a bit of time and money in !! Ask Hassan for his best price and he will look after you, the family has another shop in Sousse but I was happy shopping in the hotel and more than happy with my gifts.

Do go to Tunisia and stay here if you want a quiet holiday and you are a couple or family without children. I don't think this hotel would be right for my children, they would need somewhere more lively.

I'm sure we will return to Tunisia and overall I would be happy to recommend this hotel to friends and family, we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was 380, we had a sea view which was nice. It was possibly the furthest room away from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the infestation of insects. We do our utmost to prevent this and usually we can. Nevertheless, sometimes due to the huge gardens, the green areas and the climatology, there is a punctual invasion. As soon as this is ascertained we initiate the procedures to deal with the circumstances and solvent the inconvenience.

On the other hand, we are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort and spotlessness of our rooms, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as also the fantastic treatment provided by our outstanding staff and the lovely pools. We see that you enjoyed what for us is basic: a stay where you can feel as at home with the great advantage of benefiting from a wide range of services to fully enjoy your holiday.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration. Subsequently we would like to thank you for the tips and recommendations that you outlined, as we know that upcoming visitors will find them interesting and helpful.
We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I came back from the Diar el Andalous last week and would like to share our experience. The hotel was excellent, the staff very friendly, couldn't do enough to help. We enjoyed all the food especially the breakfasts. Freshly cooked dishes at every meal, excellent service from the waiters. The rooms & hotel were exceptionally clean, and we had clean towels & bedding most days.
They made a real effort for Hallo'een, decorated the bar & restaurant and had lots of carved pumpkins and an excellent night from the animators as there was a Michael Jackson night. Some of the entertainment was a bit groan worthy, but overall not bad. We also had a massage one rainy day, and we had a few laughs afterwards about it!
We were just 2 friends on holiday & it was brilliant for us, lovely pool area, with sunbeds around the pool & on the grassy area, & a nice private beach (apart from the usual sellers) but a firm "No" and they moved on.I would definitely got to this hotel again.
Only problem is theres not a lot to do round about, but thats the resort & not the hotel. The marina was lovely to see, we went a few times, taxis are very cheap. A definite "must go again"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort and spotlessness of our hotel, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as also the pleasant staff. We see that you enjoyed what for us is basic: a stay where you can feel as at home with the great advantage of benefiting from a wide range of services to fully enjoy your holiday.

Further, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time you had under the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team. In Iberostar we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and lovely animation and activities. It is the best reward for our daily labors to hear that our guests take some unforgettable memories of it back home.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#8 of 32 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#10 of 32 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#11 of 32 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#5 of 32 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel
Royal Kenz Hotel
#3 of 32 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Diar El Andalous 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel, located in the town of Sousse, is an all-inclusive Port El Kantaoui hotel, surrounded by gardens and right on the beach. This beautiful Tunisian hotel on the Mediterranean coast offers an impeccable service and has a wide range of entertainment for the whole family, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing family holiday in Tunisia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Diar El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.