We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dessole Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Dessole Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Dessole Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 55 | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good holiday again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel in 3 years and once gain I found it fine again. We were in room 235 overlooking the pool area and have no complaints what so ever regarding the room. The food was adequate and every time we wen t in to the restraint there was always something for us to eat. We never went to the pool area as it was always very busy we went to the beach everyday and it was great nice peaceful location and the beach bar was fine. With regards to the queues at the bar area there was a queue but you waited no more than 5 minutes and the bar man was very quick and efficient I can wait much longer in a pub to get served. All the staff in all areas were very pleasant and cannot say a bad word about any of them. All in all I had very good stay and would have no problems about going back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    434
    223
    91
    56
See reviews for
476
464
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I don't even know where to start... All inclusive holiday with rude bar staff refusing with a sarcastic smile to pour you more than 10ml of alcohol and asking for money if you want more. Even if you did start tipping them they will still laugh in your face and say they can't pour more so we ended up buying a bottle of vodka few times and drinking on the beach (that's how we confirmed our suspicion that they were mixing vodka with water at the hotel because we bought the same vodka and it was suddenly 10 times stronger). I forgot to mention that only one bar was open in the evenings so every single night there was a very very long line of angry people waiting to get served soft drinks because I wouldn't call it alcohol drinks. Overall staff in the hotel except for one barman and room cleaners were really rude and acted as if they were doing you a favour except of course you tipped them at least a few times. I don't mind giving tips but in my eyes one has to deserve for a tip in a firs place... Towels in the rooms smelt really bad and I've watched others sniffing restaurant table cloths and wincing. Something called entertainment doesn't exist in this hotel either so it's definitely not for young people who want to have fun, pretty much 80% of guests were over 60 or 70 years old. Air come in our room wasn't working properly and was really loud, it was the same in our friends' room, also air come in the rest of the hotel was switched off most of the time and temperatures were hitting 38 C. Finally food, it was actually good but after dew days we realised that after three days of fairly different menu they started serving the same meals all over again so after first week we couldn't look at the same food anymore plus two out of three of us had the virus and had to go to toilet 10 times a day, I was even waking in the middle of the nigh with terrible stomach pains.

Room Tip: We had a room number 3001 at the end of the building with sea views, 4001 and 5001 had even better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived at 5am after 2 hour delays from Gatwick. We arrived at riviera and was cheeked in and shown to our room promptly. Our room (2007) was very clean and me and my partner didnt have a problem with the room apart from the fact that we asked for a double and we had 2 singles pushed together but we had clean bed sheets everyday likewise with the towels. Breakfast was poor same kind of thing everyday and didn't have much English based food considering 70% of guests were English. But hey there was always toast and omlettes. Lunch and dinner was standard snack bar was ok always chips burgers chicken and always nice salads available. Dinner was fine too always pasta beef stew chicken and stuff although a bit repetitive at times but I think people forget they have to cater for so many nationalities it's not always easy the hotel is massive there are a lot of mouths to feed. The staff were friendly enough and was never an issue for us. They get paid very little for what they do and did work very hard to make sure you had everything you needed. Animation team well considering they do the same cheesy entertainment day in day out for guests they work all day everyday for roughly £90 (English pounds) a month they do a good job. The beach was by far the best part of the tunisian experience for me. Beautiful white sands clear sea and plenty of loungers to relax on. The walk to the beach was even nice and took just 2 mins. People selling things on the beach wasn't too much of an issue you just say no thanks & they leave you alone. There just trying to make a living I guess. The pool area was clean but I do think they need to clean the pool a little more often. Cocktail bar was lovley and the barman there was brilliant. Improvements to be made but more by management not staff. Overall it was a good holiday for me and my fiancé who aren't too fussy for £350 each we got good value for our money. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

HI, We visited Riviera from 15th-22nd of September. Me and my Girlfriend were worried about going after booking then reading the trip adviser reviews which were very mixed.

We booked with thomas cook and only Paid £770 for the week, so we cant complain so rated value for money at #4. If we had paid more than this we would have been VERY dissapointed so please do not pay more than this.

We arrived at the hotel 3 hours late as the plane was delayed by 2 hours and then there were only 3 "Diplomatic corps" working at passport control so that took forever. Baggage came swiftly but i should hope so as we were the only flight. Porters will snatch your bags so keep hold of them because they demand money. I had no change other than £1 so i gave him that and he said he wanted more so i told him ill have my £1 back and he can do one. Trip to the hotel took about half an hour on an old coach and terrible roads ( the window was being held in by a bead of silicone and was falling out very suprised it didnt. Arrived at the hotel already very tired and had to fill out a form with our names, address, jobs etc? I have no idea why they want such personal data? We were shown to our room. very long walk from the lobby literally about 1/4 mile, all the lights were off in the hallways and was pitcblack. The room itself was very good, spacious, cleaned daily, air con was good but a littlw noisy and turned itself off in the middle of the night so you wake up sweating, only complaints about the room was the shower leaks, ALOT you use 3 of your towels mopping it up. And the toilet flushers are on the mains so sounds like a jet wash!.

Sunbeds werent a problem to get if you got up early enough, there are 100s so if you cant find one yiur either a lier or spend far too much time in your room and should get out earlier.

The pools were Ok. Quite dirty at the bottom from sand at the beach and didnt seem to have any pumps?. Kids pool was good and the slides were a laugh.
Pool side werent cleaned day to day, i spilled a cup of lemonade and the sticky floor was there all week.

Food:
Poolside snack bar; was ok, they served crepes, burgers, pizza, boiled chicken, chips, hotdogs, and salad. All werent that great but appreciated they are trying to cater to meet english food. ( also saw cockroaches around the snackbar but not inside a bit worrying ).

Lunch & Dinner; Both again were Ok, selection of cold meat, salad, fruit, then the majority of the hot food was stodgy weird food like courgettes roasted with quails eggs?. There was the odd beef stew and rice which was nice although the beef was very fatty and on a couple of nights had to send food back as girlfriends chicken was raw in the middle!!.

Breakfast; basically leftovers from lastnight, reheated, although they do make fresh ommlettes so i had ommlette for 7 days.

Beach Bar; served the same food as the poolside snack bar, the beach itself and the beach bar are absolutley beautiful, best part of the hotel, lovley white sand and crystal clear water.

Hotel staff; The majority are very friendly, considering they get the equivalent of £150 a month for 60 hour weeks. The guy at the cocktail bar is great i tipped him 2 dinar and all week he sat us down and as soon as we finished a cocktail he provided another. Polite lad.
Animation team again very friendly and do the best with what they have. There are also excursion guys around the hotel, they bug you constantly every day even if you sit there eyes closed next to the pool they stand there saying hello hello hello hello until you answer them. One asked ne to buy a ring from him every day for 7 days so on the last day i told him where to go.

Also the hotel give red wristbands to "VIP" guests who are people who revisit often, who get served first in ques and sat down at dinner and served bigger drinks. From a customer point of view im pretty sure every guest should be a VIP?. And everyones holiday should be special not just the guest that keep returning.
We saw a couple that visited 4 times in a year!!.

People who revisit this hotel and rate it 5★ on trip advisor are mad, and have clearly never been anywhere better in their life other than pontins.

The hotel on a whole was ok, clean, polite and friendly.

I would not visit again, norr tunisia a very dirty run down country.

To alliterate do NOT pay more than 800 for 2 people you will be dissapointed otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

awful by and large.food poor often cold and fliies crawling over us andeverything.towels stunk sewage stank the place out.dirty pots and cutlery.served drinks in cracked glasses.staff great for a day til they realise your not tipping them.hotel staff using outside kitchen wall as a toilet.had to wait for tables many times.often only 1 bar open resulting in long angry queus.beach cafe seemed to stop cooking around 2 each day.nothing to do and entertainment dreadful.pool ok but bribing staff allowed large groups to occupy large areas poolside.toilets disgusting outside of rooms had to dry hands on loo paper.we paid 700 pounds each for a mucky rundown lifeless hotel which should be down graded to 2 star.only good point was our room kept very clean and had a fridge with fresh bottles of water every day.going out of complex was worse,stinking litter ridden streets ful of beggers and young kids trying anything to get a dinar.i will never visit tunisia again.i advise anyone to think long and hard about going

Room Tip: you cant.speak to as many people as you can before deciding.go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

An ok hotel...... Best thing about it was the lovely food!!! Absolutley delicious!!!! Gud service in the restaurant but the evening bar is ridiculous. Queues a mile long n only one person who actually knows what hes doin ( the other 3 just stood there n looked at us!) animation team tried but we didnt partake in the activities so cant comment on those. The slides r really gud fun n a real must!!!! Hotel is very tired in parts n sum bits of maintanance cud b put right with little effort but havent been. Dont buy adaptors from the hotel shop mine melted around the plug of my hairdryer!!!!! Beach bar disappointin as only had larger as an option but staff really friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here from the 1st of September.
When we arrived around 11am the animation team were waiting for us at the front of the hotel to welcome us with big smiles, then when we got inside there were people to show you where to put your bags and to hand out drinks. We had booked 2 double rooms and when we checked in we were told that we were being upgraded to the Ambassador suite. The suite had two seperate bedrooms inside and was lovely, but the only downside we found was that there was only one bathroom between 4 of us which was a bit annoying in the evenings when we had to fight over the shower as to who went first.
As far as the reception and restaurant staff go, I cannot fault them. I lost my camera the day we arrived and thought I had left it in the restaurant, but due to that being at lunch time and me not realising I'd lost it until the evening, it was long gone. But the staff at reception were really helpful as were the staff in the restaurant who helped me look around and ask other members of staff.
The maid we had was absolutely wonderful, if we saw her in the corridor she would always ask if we were ok and if there were any problems with the room. She would always make patterns with either the pyjamas or bed sheets and also our curtain to the balcony.
I can see why people were complaining about the bar but at the end of the day there were only 2 - 3 members of staff serving with huge queues and not enough glasses, so surely you wouldn't be the happiest people around. This is a management issue not something that can be changed by the staff that are serving.
The staff at the beach and pool bar were so lovely towards us, so I don't have anything bad to say about them.
The waiter we had in the evening could not of been better, constantly filling up our drinks and was really quick with taking away dirty plates. The woman we had in the mornings was also really lovely. Just make sure when you tip them you do it discretely because the manager watches over them and I'm almost sure he takes the tips that he sees given off them after their shift to distribute out.
We went on the 2 day trip to the Sahara desert with Thomas cook, I would recommend this to anyone if you are staying for 2 weeks like we did as it gives you the chance to see majority of the country but there is a lot of time spent sitting on a bus. We also went on the 'Medina Ramble' trip, in all honesty it's not worth the money as you are sat around in cafes and because there is around 100 people on the trip you are waiting around for everyone to be served and there isn't a lot of shopping time, save your money and go off your own back. We went on the trip to Friguia Animal Park, it was good but not the best, we had finished walking round in about an hour and half so had a while before we could leave.
One issue we did find was that in the evenings there would be a man that played a keyboard and sang songs badly. This would be the same every night. We did not partake in any of the animation team's activities so cannot comment on them.
The food does get a little repetitive after a while but what do you expect, you get this anywhere you go. There was always something for everyone, even my dad who is an extremely fussy eater.
Some people complained about people on the beach trying to sell you things but all you have to say is no thank you or maybe another time and they leave you alone.
We did have the spa package offered by Hatem from the hotel spa. This was great, slightly painful but good.
We found all the staff to be extremely polite when you see them around the hotel, they always have a smile and say hello.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday rather a lot and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dessole Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dessole Riviera

Address: BP 55 | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dessole Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Dessole Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and feature beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dessole Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dessole Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.