We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Riviera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dessole Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dessole Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dessole Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you Riviera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the Riviera for yet another brilliant stay. Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Riviera Hotel and had a wonderful time, The staff work so hard and are very friendly and helpfull, The food, although repetitive is good and plentiful and the restaurant staff are brilliant,Thanks Sonia, Hosni saida and Moez, Pool bar/snack bar is also very good with a varied selection of food and drink and very nice crepes. Joe and Smiley (Animation) were outstanding and absolutely wonderful, thanks guys,whatever they earn it should be at least doubled for the amount of work they do and the energy and enthusiasm they put into it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    389
    213
    84
    53
See reviews for
408
429
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

had a wonderful time at the Riviera. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, cannot do enough for you. I came downstairs at three am and asked if i could smoke in the lounge area. not only did they put on the light and bring me an ashtray, they also brought me a cup of coffee. the facilities are very good and the cleanliness of all the public areas and the rooms was excellent. our maid came in daily to check if we needed anything apart from the bed making and bathroom cleaning. my only complaint would be the hardness of the mattresses but since I have a bad back perhaps a hard bed doesn't suit me. requested an extra blanket for over the mattress and it was delivered and the bed remade in double quick time. would love to return in summer as our holiday in february brought a couple of rainy days,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am sad to see some bad reviews about this hotel on this page. Me and my boyfriend went for a trip to tunisia in beginning of march 2013, and had an exellent trip. Hotel Riviera was enjoyable clean and nice. Our room was always clean and we left about 2 dinar every day, and we got flower and extra stuff from the houskeeper. The food was exelent, we had allinclusive and it was a big buffe. panninis, meet, potatos, soup, tunisfood like couscos and localy food, always something new to try and we were always stuffed. 4 kilos heavyer after ;) hotelstaff were smily and always at our service, and the entertainment was good. But for a couple under 40, it may be a little boring thoug. Big pools, a bit cold for march, but we tryed it, and a lot of things to do. Minigolf, boccia, tennis, tabletennis ect. we had an enjoyable time, and can recomand this hotel. 4 stars in Tunisia, its good. One negative thing: The alcohol is watered down, and taste like juice. also the wine and beer. So if you are hoping to get drunk every night, shop in taxfree at the airport before going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute break with Thomas Cook. As with other reviewers I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is large with a very impressive reception, lounge area and bar. There is also a seperate non-smoking area which was nice to just sit and chill with a book. Our bedroom was adequate(after all we only sleep in it), the bathroom was fine. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed every day too.
The food was ok too, especially the salads and desserts but there was always something to choose from the hot selection, we never went hungry, in fact sometimes there was too much choice. Breakfast was a typical All Inclusive buffet of continental and cooked, the chefs ready to provide freshly squeezed orange or cook eggs just the way you like them.
The staff were very friendly and attentive, always willing to do more.
The outdoor pool looked really nice although it was too cold to try this last week, however this was covered off by the lovely warm indoor pool.
Nicely situated just a 15 minute walk from the marina. No complaints at all for the money we paid. We weren't expecting 5 star ........a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Try to get and ODD number room as these were the ones that got the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am pleased to say that we have just booked to return to this hotel again in August by asking the family which hotel they liked best(we have been to about 6 ).The ovrwelming result was Riviera as we had such a good time.The Riviera is not the poshest we have stayed in,but we were made so welcome,and the staff and entertainment team were second to none. Such a friendly relaxed time was had by all. Nice clean,insect free,and something for everyone at the buffet meals. One tip I would pass on:" if you arrive in the night as we did,try to purchase bottle of water at the airport" as no water in room,and we were "gagging" for water,as it was so hot.

Room Tip: Take bottled water(purchase on plane)if you arrive early hours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh On Sea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to the Hotel Riviera in the Feb half term (17th-24th Feb 2013) and we have to admit how CLEAN, WARM, FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING ALL THE STAFF WERE.
Was upgraded to a suite room on request, the food was a delight and a change EVERY day, huge variety of choice, drinks (All inclusive) wide range from local beers, wine and spirits, bar staff mention to Maraquan (Pleasure meeting you buddy) also to JOE (Entertainment team, pleasure to have met you).
Perfect location, away from Sousse but close enough to get too. Beach was lovely white sands, clear blue waters and thats in the winter! Rooms were clean, spacious and NO problems with belongings as it has a safe in the room.
Indoor swimming pool, sauna (Have to pay)...
Outdoor Golf, Tennis, Table Tennis, animation team creating a fun entertaining evenings.
If there is ANYWHERE you wish to go to in Tunisia that is a perfect location, All Inclusive with a warm, friendly atmosphere, The Hotel Riviera is for you and your family.
Also a mention with regards to the 'Sahara Explorer trip' 2day excursion, AN ABSOLUTE MUST AND A ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE
Scott and Gemma (London, UK)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

right just to state i love the hotel and staff,and the area with things to do,great.but must be honest on my trip at xmas,this was my 4th time at christmas and new year spent at the hotel, each time booked with tomas cook,.
flight great,no delay,transfer from enfidha 30-40 mins so great again, once at the hotel got of the bus to be greeted by no recepetion staff, waited 5 mins then henry spoted we were waiting,easy form to fill for room ect, i emailed the hotel 6 weeks before asking for same rooms as previous year but not avilable so offered another much smaller room, were 2 adults 1 10yrs son, sofa hard bed,twin bed,no good,back to recep, 2nd room, no bed for child, back again, 3rd room,same as the first high hard set small sofa bed,for 2 weeks,no way, on the 4th room offered,it had twin beds,and 3rd bed,made up,with fruit in room and fridge, finally great,what weve had on other trips. finally get unpacked,enjoy our holls. our 1st week was spoilt alittle because as returning guests we know the standard it has been in the past,so when the food wasnt up to standard and the very watered down drinks werent even starting to get you tipsy,we knew something was wrong,in all,at christmas the past guest who retune year on year now amount to about 60,and we all werent happy,so we talked to our lovely tomas cook rep jennifer,she sorted out the food within a day,then 2 days later,the bar got a suprise visit, hyprestoe, that night the drinks were normal sprits and strenght, whoppie,we finaly got what we paid for. from that week on it was fantastic, the food,drinks,entertainment,staff, attmostfear in the hotel all seamed to lift,and a fantastic time was had, the gala nights at xmas and new year were fab. great food,and staff worked so hard.
the hotel is clean,and is always having something done to inprove it for guests, it had some new slides fitted and smaller pool in summer, these waterslides are great fun,only turned on for an hour or so a day winter,as exspensive to run and not as busy so not in so much use,indoor pool great again,really warm,and now benifits from a steamroom also new.big hello and thank you to mimi and farrah, adam(monistar) for making me laugh every day,your a star in a cape. and of course the new animation team manager,sallah,once we got to know you alittle,we enjoyed your shows,aswell as your staff,helmi,smiley,slim,medi,joe,and the lovely ladies sarah and amel. hopfully return to you soon xx

Room Tip: pool view,top floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dessole Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dessole Riviera

Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dessole Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dessole Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dessole Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.