We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xmas and new year 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dessole Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dessole Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dessole Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“xmas and new year 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

yes there was problems the first week of our holiday but jennifer our holiday rep sorted it out and everything went back to normal i carnt really fault the hotel because they have always been very good with me as im disabled i have been commin to this hotel for many years yes the christmas gala this year was not up to standard like last year but the new year gala was amazing thank u sallah u did a good job as the animation manager sam would be proud of you and the annimation team done so well as usual see u all in may xx

Room Tip: always ask for pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    399
    214
    85
    54
See reviews for
430
430
30
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

is the worst new year gala in my life .the animation staff very poor.it was ridiculous . we left the hotel just after 22 hours befor midnight my wife she was very apsyt that night. but the foof was very good and the staff in restaurant very nice i tried to talk to the customer service manager she was not helpful .told me that many ladys the liked themanimation staff.they spoiled my night i will never go again to this hotel and it not a 4 STAR IS 3 STAR ONLY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went on the 19th for a week all inclusive to this hotel ,weather was good all week .food in hotel was below average for first 3 days ,you will not go hungry but it was the same food served nearly every night .the food did pick up near the end of the holiday .the drink is a disgrace imo .you will not get drunk .probably the weakest drink ive ever had on holiday .rooms were nice and cleaned every day .cracks on a lot of the tiles in the bathroom though .christmas gala meal i must say the hotel did make an effort for this although it tgook nearly an hour between each course .a lot of guests i spoke to who have been going for years said this year the food and drink was the worst they have seen .met some great people at the hotel who made the holiday a great week ,billy and bernie were really funny ,derick was a pleasure to meet and jean and arthur ,jean is knitter44 on tripadvisor and is the funniest person we have ever met ,never a dull moment when jean is around and kept us entertained all week.ive never laughed so much for ages .made the holiday worth it .for what we paid 300 each it was a shame about the food and the very poor drink.it has not put us off kantaoui but i would say pay the extra 20 pound each and go to an iberostar .,much better hotels .staff in the hotels were brilliant .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

after arriving at abou sofaine and being totally disappointed. we moved to the Riviera which is a really good hotel.
Food great staff very friendly nothing too much trouble. Rooms kept very clean every day with fresh towels. Entertainment in the hotel is great with a great bunch of people with good shows and entertainment for the kids. animation include SLIM,HELMI,SMILEYMEHD,AMEL,SARAH. Who all put on good shows and look after the kids in the kids club.Will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel very nice. Food good but very disappointed with animation. Same thing every night "yawn yawn" 7 nights deffinately long enough. If they learned something new instead of trying to get off with the guests it might be bearable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

In November 2012 we visited the Riviera hotel for a second time, the first being November 2010 during which we had a fantastic holiday with no complaints.
First the best bits:
The food has always been of a good standard with a good selection on offer and I was not disappointed.
The staff are friendly and helpful and in general the hotel communal areas are kept very clean.
The rooms and communal areas are comfortable.
The bar area is comfortable as are the pool areas and snack bar.
The kids club is great and the animation staff were very good with the children.
The hotel is situated within walking distance from the marina and local shops etc.
The bad bits:
All alcoholic drinks in the main bar were watered down to excess.
The indoor pool had rat and mouse droppings around the interior of the windows, although reported to staff it was still present five days later, I relayed this to the rep.
The fresh towels delivered by the cleaners smelt musty as if not dried properly, the beach towels were fine though.
Despite these issues the overall outcome is that this is a good hotel with good staff and represented good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went for a week of sun in the October half term .... we picked Tunisia for value for money and settled on the Hotel Riviera based mainly on the reviews here.

Our room was cleaned every day, and we were supplied with water every day although there was a slight odour of the drains in our room - we kept the balcony door open all the time and we weren't in the bedroom much only to sleep ... this didn't detract from the enjoyment of the holiday.

The staff in all areas are very friendly from the maids to the bar and restaurant staff.

The entertainment team work very hard providing lots of activities around the pool during the day and the shows in the evening.

The food was very good in the main restaurant , we did try the Italian a la carte but this was disappointing.

Overall we would go back as we really enjoyed the week.

Room Tip: avoid one near the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dessole Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dessole Riviera

Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dessole Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Dessole Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dessole Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.