We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“march 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort to your Saves list
Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“march 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

one of the best hotels we stayed in food fantastic staff first class stayed 1 week in march for our wedding anniversery staff mad the holiday so special . not much out side the hotel complex unless u book days out .marena only 20 mins away was beautiful only spoiled by the local shop keepers being to in your face trying to force u in to the shops so we only went out once lot off locals try to stop u and say thay work at your hotel bnut a sharp no seemed to work . if u like to stay in hotel sit round poole and relax all day this is the holliday for u .animation team amazing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    435
    214
    153
    155
See reviews for
477
552
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Returned home 16th March after a fantastic weeks holiday. It's our 3rd time at this hotel, we went for our honeymoon, our 10th anniversary and now our 20th anniversary. Weather was amazing, hotel amazing, animation team the best thanks Gogo, Biggi and Taynya. Lots of activities to do all day such as yoga, archery, French boules, darts, zumba. Food was great with lots of choice & drinks very good & strong for all inclusive. Will definitely be returning
Wendy & Jamie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Ok guys went to this place with family and I can honestly say THEY TRY hard, Take note European holiday resorts!!!
First of all the staff are working in a hot climate fully dressed in black bow tie and always smiling even when had been told off by their Manager. Every staff wants you to feel as if it's your birthday and the ladies are treated extra special, I.e sit down and let the waiters run around you with snacks and cocktails and even a fresh towel when claiming out of the pool. Believe me my partner did not want to come back to the UK. Saying That every man was treated like a KING and the food was fresh and plenty full with staff topping up your beer, salad or steak. I will be going back again but to this hotel for sure, felt relaxed and ready for the office when I got back. When I say they tried hard they went all out to take care of the finer details you don't get in Spain, Portugal, France.
However, and please do not let this put you off because not that bad, But...... A lot of poor outside the resort and (no begging) and the smell in the heat was hard to take in the towns, the women in Tunisia starred with a frown at my partner (but this could be not wearing a headscarf) dodgy characters roaming outside the resort so stay as a group and as always be careful.
Although this has nothing to do with inside resort experience, you may find a few cracks and wear n tear in the resort but nothing major. have fun :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Travelled on the 16th march. Spotless hotel, rooms, pool area, restaurant. Great hot and cold varied food. The staff in the hotel made us very welcome. The animation team were the very best we have ever come across in all our years of travel, must make a special mention of Gogo and Biggy, who made our stay a very special one. Thank you! Hope to see you next year! Deb and Tim.x

Room Tip: Sea view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just back from the 'Abou Sofiane' and had a great holiday. I was looking for a cheap, last minute all inclusive holiday to anywhere in the sun, and this one came up. After reading the reviews, I started to wonder what sort of holiday I was in for.... but after the winter months in England, I was looking forward to it regardless.
So, let me try to put your mind at ease...The hotel itself, like a lot of others in Tunisia, is only 3 floors high, and stretches over a wide complex. Set in beautiful well kept gardens, it has indoor and outdoor pools, 2 x tennis courts, basket ball/football courts, beach volley ball court, crazy golf, fitness gym and saunas, and a kids club.
This is a 'beach location' hotel, so just walk through the gardens and you will find yourself on a beautiful white sand beach with plenty of sun loungers, and proper thatched parasols.(not the ones that blow away in the wind) There you will also find the water sports and other attractions i.e, Jet ski hire, para gliding, camel / horse riding or just relax in the shade of the beach bar and watch it all go by.
A member of the hotel staff will be on hand to get you a mattress for your lounger, another will be working the bar, and together they will stop anyone from trying to sell you anything on the beach. The beach sellers have to stay at the waters edge, however, you are allowed to approach them should you wish to do so.
The entertainment team in this hotel are fantastic! They have one goal, to make your stay as happy as possible. I can't remember all their names, but they will remember yours! Together, they will put a show on every night, (and not taking part isn't an option!) activities all throughout the day, like zumba, archery, beach volleyball, French bowls, and yoga with the lovely Taynya, are just a few of the things to do, or just have a laugh and a joke with them.
I thought the food was great! buffet style, plenty of it and different choices daily. There's breakfast, late breakfast, dinner, evening meal, late meal, snacks, you wont go hungry! with excellent waiter service. The hotel has a large bar in the lobby, one in the garden, one by the pool, and one on the beach, so you don't have to walk too far to get a drink, there's also free coffee/tea all day and night in the lobby area.
The rooms have air-con, t.v, and fridge all as standard, mine had a fantastic sea view across the beach from its balcony, what a lovely way to wake up of a morning. Ok, it's a little dated in its décor, but it's very clean and comfortable, besides, I didn't plan to spend all day in the hotel! Maids will clean the rooms daily, and its usually done while you're at breakfast, and your towels will be changed twice a week. There always seemed to be somebody cleaning something everywhere I went, they really work very hard, as do all the staff at this hotel.
There's free Wi-Fi in the lobby area, free safety deposit box in your rooms, free beach towels(changed twice a week) and a complementary bottle of water left in your room every day. I found all the staff at this hotel to be the most helpful and friendly people you could wish to meet, nothing seemed too much trouble, and every conversation always ended up with a smile and a hand shake.
If you venture out, yes you will get hassled, but there's no malice in it, haggling is their culture whilst trying to get you to buy their items, it's just what they do! Smile, be polite and say no thank you and keep walking and take it all in as part of the experience of your holiday. If history's your thing, then 'EL JEM' is worth a visit, a magnificent Roman amphitheatre is only a short coach journey away and was used in the 'Gladiator' movie and a fantastic day out amongst others.
I had a fantastic holiday here, and some of the guests I spoke with at dinner were there on their 3rd or 4th return visit. You've got the beach, the sea, the pools, the entertainment, and of course you've got the sun! all inclusive! and it doesn't cost a fortune to get there! would I go back again....? you bet!

Room Tip: I had sea view, beautiful way to wake up of a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked this because we could not face night flights to Turkey again.
Read very mixed reviews before we went but kept an open mind.
Room was fine, once we got it-waited about 4 hours but free food and drink,
so not the end of the world.
Food was edible and lots of it.
Beach was really nice once all the staff had cleared all the plastic carrier bags on the second day.
Middle of the holiday was spoilt by the arrival of hundreds of russians from Kazakstan. Thomson had evidently sold off a load of rooms.
It became a case of going to breakfast before they got up and letting them vacate the restaurant before going to dinner in the evening.
I have never seen so much food wasted-they would pile up several plates each and then leave most of it.
Fortunately we had a few days of civilised guests before we came home.
We will go back one day, possibly early or late in the season.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

after reading reviews on this hotel and Tunisia itself, myself and my family were skeptical about visiting this place. At one point we even considered changing hotels... Thank god we didn't! As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were told to leave our suitcases by the door (could still see it) and we were told to fill out a form, quick and easy. Then a lovely member of staff who was very friendly and funny took us to our room and took our suitcases himself. Unfortunately there were only 2 beds for the 3 of us, but we informed them and they let us know it would be sorted asap. In the meantime we took a trip down to the port to see the sights and shop, yeah the locals hassled a little bit however that's not seen as rude in their culture and once getting to know them and actually talking to them you would realise they're lovely, genuine people. The marina itself was beautiful and we walked back along the beach which was gorgeous, filled with locals and tourists and people jet skiing, parasailing (which was an amazing experience!) and swimming. Back at the hotel our 3rd bed was put in place and we decided to go for dinner. Incredible, hot traditional Tunisian cuisine as well as pizza, pasta and chips were to offer. Outside even had a BBQ area with fresh BBQ food. One night a light was accidentally knocked down by a tourist however the staff didn't complain and cleaned it up straight away, telling the tourists not to worry. the staff waited on us hand and foot, helped us to get a taxi down to sousse and told us how to get to the local shops. The animation team were the highlight! AMAZING SHOWS each night and day time entertainment which were fun and involved as many people as possible. There was never a boring moment. By the end of the holiday the animation team felt like friends and I still miss them now. so a massive thank you to them for an amazing holiday. sun loungers by the pool and on the beach were there 24/7 and food by the beach and by the pool was served all day. I can't fault anything about this holiday. The staff were the kindest people I've come across and this is definitely one of the most amazing countries I've ever visited. Not to mention how beautiful the beach was, the travel agent mentioned this was the closest to the Caribbean without actually going and she wasn't wrong. As well as the amazing guaranteed weather. Thank you abou sofiane!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort

Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort is situated just in the center of one of the most famous SEASIDE resorts in Tunisia: Port el Kantaoui Sousse.The hotel offers a HIGH LEVEL OF COMFORT and its unique charm contributes to make your holiday as memorable and pleasant as you would expect from a hotel of this quality and high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.