We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“abou sofian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort

Save Saved
You added Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“abou sofian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

been to this hotel three times,we have always had a good time,the hotel is in need of some TLC and it is going to get it soon because it has been sold to some other people they have some really good plans for this hotel,i was speaking to a manager and he explained all the problems that had been happening before he got there,if there was any problems he would put them right and he did where it was possible,the food was good ,every body was friendly ,the room was cleaned every day, we will be going back next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    384
    192
    140
    150
See reviews for
442
499
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilehurst, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After coming to this hotel for the past 6 years ,this year was by far the worst it has ever been.Everything about the hotel was a mess. Apart from a few friendly faces from previous trips the staff were not very good.The food was good(if you liked chicken and chips every day) and if it did not run out as seemed to happen every day,no glasses happened many times at the bar. The manager walked about thinking every thing was fine and when you told him it wasn,t he appeared to listen but then l got the impression he did not care.At present l would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and had a fab time. We recently came back from staying there. The place is awful do not go there save your money and book else where. The rooms are not cleaned properly. The food is a disgrace there is no food choice especially for the kids. The pool side bar has burgers etc which last for 20 mins. If staying here for the first time in Tunisia you will be very disappointed. There is a kids club which is non existent. The day time bar staff are rude! The hotel manager could not really give a damm. I will be staying at my usual hotel from now on. I am a regular visitor of Tunisia and I feel ashamed there are hotels like this taking people's hard earned money for them to get there and be very very disappointed. Plus the occasions we have stayed there 2 people have died. That's a ad omen in itself. The hotel is very quiet and the atmosphere is to be desired .

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Traveled to the Hotel Abou Sofiane in late June for two weeks in the sun. the hotel is truely amazing. The staff were all so friendly. Even Management . The people could not do enough. And while we were here it was my mums birthday. what a surprise, The cake the made was lovely the table was all set decorated with flowers . The staff all sang to her. The food was amazing. Great choice even for the kids. The entertainment staff were all Amazing too. They really made our holiday there. All in all the hotel is lovely right by the beach and not far from the main town of Port El Kantaoui .I Have been to Tunisia 3 times before at different parts. but this hotel Abou Sofiane has been the far best. thanks to all the staff at the hotel. My Family really enjoyed our stay and will be back. xx

Room Tip: Sea View is really lovely and quiet and Sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

THis hotel was very disappointing. I usually ignore any reviews that refer to places as shabby or in need of renovation but this place was just dirty. The table cloths, cutlery, rooms, corridors were often dirty and unappetising.
However it was the food that was the biggest problem. There was a total lack of quality and variety. Meat was almost non existent. After talking to people staying in other local hotels they talked about roast chicken and lamb. What we got was chicken pies, chicken wings, chewy beef in stroganoff, fish in breadcrumbs, turkey nuggets.
Even breakfast was a disppointment with chewy croissants, no boiled eggs, hard bread that had been out for hours etc etc.
Another problem was the smokiness of the bar and lounge area. There was nowhere you could go to escape the smoke. There were a large number of Germans who all seemed to smoke all day. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't bother, just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only stayed a week and arrived with mixed feelings after reading the reviews of this hotel. we found the bad side to be dirty cutlery,crockery and glasses,we reported that our shower fixing was broken on arrival and for the next 3 days we reported it again until we came across a man with a tool box and dragged him to our room to fix it. We are not sure if there was any alcohol in the drinks there did not appear to be any. The Hotel has obviously seen better days the lounge furniture could do with a good clean but overall the Hotel and our room was clean and tidy.. The staff were always trying to get tips and it became annoying. The other complaint was in a tempreture of 80d the air con is switched off in October.As in all foriegn hotels there is no No Smoking areas annoying when eating food..The good side was the food was good and plenty of it,plenty of sun beds and the entertainment was very good. Our view was distorted by the Hotel being around 30% full.If going to Sousse take a cab (bargain) same price as a bus but quicker.

Room Tip: Go first floor and do not leave valuables in your room we did not have a problem but some people did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from 1 weeks stay at Abou Sofiane with my friend. Yes..the hotel is in need of an update...but....on the whole my experience was a good one. Food was good, plenty of choice, staff exceptionally friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The animation team are very much in it because they enjoy what they do. They work extremely long hours but always have a smile. My advice if you want to relax and also have some fun, perfect. Dont go looking at it on the same level ast 4 stars in England or you will be disappointed. The rooms are clean and basic.

Would I return....yes! I have been on many holidays to many different countries and have had much worse holidays. It depends on what you want your holiday to be. We met some lovely people and had some real laughs. Relaxed on the beach, ate good food and enjoyed our stay. Thats what we went for....and thats what we got.

As 2 ladies travelling never felt threatened or leered at or intimidated, just respected!!

Room Tip: We changed our room from 3043 to 279. Lovely sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort

Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort is situated just in the center of one of the most famous SEASIDE resorts in Tunisia: Port el Kantaoui Sousse.The hotel offers a HIGH LEVEL OF COMFORT and its unique charm contributes to make your holiday as memorable and pleasant as you would expect from a hotel of this quality and high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.