We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marhaba Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Marhaba Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Lovely hotel staff and guests are very friendly close to a really beautiful marina with lovely little shops . Food was lovely and had allocated seats at dining so no problem when you go for dinner .the safety deposit boxes in the reception are very cheap I went here on my on and totally enjoyed myself would definitely go again

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony dont choose a sea view although I did have a sea view it was still lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    623
    329
    117
    74
See reviews for
452
820
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed 19 to 29 Jan. Impressive reception area ,but the reception staff need to sort out their attitude, as they seemed reluctant to assist at times

Food was ok ,quite repetitive and sometimes not hot. At breakfasts there was a lovely smiley lady who was cooking omellettes , crepes eggs etc. There was a greater variety of Tunisian/Moroccan style food than I would prefer.

Entertainment was ok during the evenings with the usual bingo,old music and live artistes.

Biggest gripe was how cold it was in the main bar at night. After a lot of customer compaints, the heating was switched on.

Opposite the hotel is the Irish bar, where you can eat steak/grill/pizza food and have a better selection of drinks.

Would I return . Prob not but thats just me, the Marhaba is what it is

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

would of been better if they where not renovating and there where more holiday makers the port restaurant and closed at 9pm was not informed that they would be renovating the hotel
only served one beer and had to by bottles

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel (the first being Summer a couple of years ago). Firstly I cannot understand the big problem people have with Tunisia as a whole, its a different culture and if you can't get on board with that then just go to Skegness for a week and eat at McDonalds and Subway everyday. The hotel staff rely on tips to subsidise their wages, 1-2 dinars (35-70p) is plenty to them and not a lot to us, between three of us we probably tipped about £15 throughout the week. As you venture out of the hotel (particularly at this time of year) it is clear that the area has seen a decline in tourist activity and that people are struggling and so are 'hassling' people to come into shops, cafes, restaurants etc but who can blame them? A simple firm, but friendly, no was all it ever took for them to walk away.

Anyway, the hotel - The hotel makes a majestic first impression as you drive up, check in was quick and simple. We arrived too late for the evening meal however a plate of food along with fruit and a bottle of water was sent to the room shortly after we arrived. We were all inclusive, which we weren't on our previous visit. The AI alcoholic drinks menu was a little limited but was sufficient and juice/hot drinks were self service. The staff at the bar were friendly and service was good (we tipped different amounts on and off). The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, on the beach 5 minutes from the centre of the resort. There is a large hotel being built next door, this had no impact on our holiday at all.

The food - All meals were served in the smaller dining room which I assume was because the hotel wasn't very full. Waiter service was good. Breakfast was nice, omelettes delicious also offered pancakes, fried eggs and donuts cooked to order along with the usual cereals, meats cheese etc. Lunch and evening meal were pretty much the same, the only issue I had was labelling. Being a vegetarian meant the I had to rummage through some food and check everything I ate as the labelling wasn't great. Generally we all found something (even my extremely fussy sister).

The room - Clean, spacious for three adults. We had room 440 which was quiet although it had a randomly small balcony which was too small to sit on.

Anything else - The indoor pool is nice, the outdoor pool area was nice and clean. The only hassle was from the Spa lady, I later had a massage which was a bargain at 25tdn (£8.50). We went on the 'A Tale of 3 Cities' trip, which was a little expensive but we saw lots of things.

All in all a nice, cheap relaxing post Christmas week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Christmas 2013 and New Year. Had a brilliant time. Seeing as they don't celebrate Christmas they pulled out all the stops for us. We had champagne and savouries before our meal Christmas Eve, then a 6 course meal with entertainment all night, and the same for New Years Eve. Hotel was decorated and everything fine. We had paid extra for a Sea View room but in the winter when the sun is not so warm I think a front view room would be better.

Room Tip: In the winter don't have a sea view room, front rooms overlooking gardens are very pleasant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent a week at the Marhaba Palace The hotel was excellent from booking in to leaving all the staff could not do enough for you Nothing was too much for them Needed toilet roll got it within 2 minutes. In the restaurant waiters got drinks for us they considered it was their job to wait on us (how refreshing these days) It was my wifes 65th birthday they made us a cake and sang happy birthday to her what a nice surprise. The guy in the American bar (Lufti) looked after us all week particularly when we wanted a late drink after midnight. The food in the restaurant was standard fish, chicken, pork, beef, pasta and salads the quality was good and there was always something for you ok it is repetitive every other day but what do you expect How many restuarants or hotels in the UK change their menu in a week. The hotel was clean and well maintained. I would recommend the spa facilities as a treat it is very cheap to use the facilities. The hotel is just across the road from the Irish bar which is well worth a visit It also a 5 minute walk from the centre of El Kantoui and the beautiful marina Overall excellent stay

Room Tip: Sea view room have better views than garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just returned from our 5th trip to Tunisia - first time in the Marhaba Palace. Twin room overlooked the Mediterranean on the top (7th) floor with a nice balcony, chairs and table etc. We were quite happy with everything maybe with the exception of moaning minnies who would complain about anything no matter how small or insignificant.
Food at all three mealtimes was varied and tasty but the coffee was disgusting (sorry) - Take a small jar of Nescafe and use the hot water in the restaurant.
Building could do with a new coat of paint and some upgrading but generally fine throughout.
Staff at reception and restaurant were always helpful and friendly.
Try the spa and some of the treatments - always good for the soul.
Avoid the animation team when they ask you to buy "their" CD which is supposed to fund their activities -20DT for rip off rubbish!
Shop around before booking as prices via the main tour operators vary wildly £200 to £310 for the same week / airport - not the hotels fault though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.