We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel really looked after us recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marhaba Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Marhaba Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel really looked after us recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After a bad experiance at the Houria palce we moved into the Marhaba Palace - we did know this hotel and it is lovely- we were given a sunny room- thet just couldnt do enough for us
The room was lovely - after we has settled in we went down for our evening meal - it was lovely plenty of choice - just cant fault the food at all-the next day we had a complimentry bowl of fruit and a bottle of water sent to our room-
the hotel goes straight onto the beach-I am in a wheel chair there are plenty of ramps- all staff were very helpful and friendly-recommend to all.

Room Tip: pick a even number if you want a sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    599
    320
    117
    71
See reviews for
427
791
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time to Tunisia and spent two weeks here from the end of Jan to Mid Feb. The hotel is clean, spacious and the vast majority of staff helpful and considerate. Most of the guests were English or German and a few Tunisians who were very nice and polite too. The hotel was very quiet and we enjoyed this.

The weather was pretty cold but the rooms were kept nice and warm with air conditioning. I have to laugh about some of the comments about the reception being cold, some of the guests also made this comment. The reception ceiling stretches to the 2nd floor. This is obviously designed to keep the hotel cool in summer, unfortunately it means it will be cold in winter. Heat rises - so no amount of central heating would ever keep this area warm in cold weather. Yet people expected it to somehow magically be warmed up.

The food was good, I mainly like to stick to a vegetarian diet, though I will eat fish if there is nothing else suitable. I did not need to eat fish at all, due to the good selection of vegetarian food. We went half board and found breakfast and evening meal enough. The drinks at the bar were also very cheap.

It was too cold to use the out door pool or the beautiful beach owned by the hotel, however, the hotel has a very fine in door pool which was lovely to use on a daily basis. We also made full use of the spa facilities. We had a programme of massages, body scrubs, manicures and pedicures. I worked it out that the same treatment in the UK would be 3 or 4 times as expensive.

There was free wi fi and even a computer provided, which was also free. As there were only a few guests there was only minor problems with individuals hogging the computer. However, in summer with a lot of guests I could imagine this would be a problem. Maybe the hotel should consider investing in a couple more computers and charging individuals.

Probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in on a package holiday. However, I do believe the general standard of hotels in Tunisia is higher than Spain, Greece, Turkey etc.

Most of the other guests were fine. Especially the Germans. Some of the British were loud and at times rude e.g. pushing ahead at meal times. Yes I am British so I can say this!

The marina was only 5 minutes away and lovely. Again everything was cheap, however, the constant touting for business by traders, obviously suffering from low tourist numbers, got a bit much especially after two weeks. Nothing in Tunisia is free, even asking a question or direction from a local would require payment.

It was unfortunate that civil disrest happened while we were there. We did not witness any. But we were wary of travelling to Tunis. We did do the Sahara experience in the first week before the troubles started. A very tiring but not to be missed adventure. I really hope Tunisia sorts out its politics and remains a tourist destination. Its lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop,Notts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Once again I am here staying at the Marhaba Palace Hotel in Port El Kantoui,Tunisia.despite the fact there are so few tourists here unfortunately the staff are still giving a very good service and there is nothing lacking,the food is as always excellent with such a varied choice that there is always something to please even the pickiest of guest!Who could complain at a Dinner menu of a choice of Garlic Prawns,Grilled Steak,Roast Chicken,Fried Calfs Liver(my favourite!)and battered Fish and that was just the main course because there are two soup varieties followed by a selection of salads to choose from and two local Tunisian dishes,then of course there are the many desserts and fruits eg Oranges,Apples and Dates so I definitely never have a problem finding something to enjoy!
The breakfast menu is still exceptionally good with fruit juices,cereals,plain and flavoured yoghurts,salads,hot selections like eggs done any way you want,pancakes with syrup,sugar or plain if you want!croissants,pain au chocolats and other varieties,cakes and fruits also.
Off the food now!As I said before there are a lack of guests here which is a pity but the staff go all out to please the ones that are here,the Entertainment staff struggle to entertain against the apathy of some of the guests!
The rooms are provided daily with clean sheets and towels and they are kept clean.
Unfortunately like the majority of hotels this hotel has decided to go 'All Inclusive'but it also provides the option for Half Board and Bed and Breakfast,I opted for Half Board as I feel the local traders are really struggling especially when there are so few tourists anyway!What is the point in coming on holiday to a new country and then spend the time in your hotel just waiting till the next mealtime?I believe in exploring new countries and their cultures.
Off my soapbox now and if anyone wants to know anything just ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from our very enjoyable two week holiday staying at the Marhaba Palace. We booked through a travel agent only a couple of weeks before, so did not have any time to research the hotel. However, we have to say that we were not in any way disappointed with our stay. In fact we are extremely pleased that we stayed here and not some of the other hotels along the bay.

The staff were fantastic, especially the guys in the bars and Ben and his team at dinner. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always smiling.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and we appointed, with two bars open during the time we were there and the coffee lounge. The indoor swimming pool was an added bonus and extremely clean.

The hotel is conveniently situated, with only a five minute walk to the Port either along the beach or via the main road. Marhaba Palace is the first hotel before the Port, so it takes longer to visit the Port from the other hotels. There is also an "Irish Bar" located opposite the hotel which makes a change from the hotel bars. There is a nice bar in the Port to visit in the evenings as well.

The Port is beautiful. A great place to stroll, visit the shops, go on a boat trip (we can highly recommend the pirate galleon trip, they really make it fun and look after you), have a meal in a restaurant or grab a beer in the bar and watch the world go by.

The food at the hotel was great and they thoughtfully catered for everybody. A great choice of the salad bar and soup to start. A couple of Tunisian dishes each night which were great to try. Plenty of different meat and fish dishes each night. Also, pizza and pasta dishes to order. The vegetables choices each night were different (at least 8 different veg dishes) and all tasted delicious.

We had such a relaxing holiday in Port El Kantaoui and the Marhaba Palace was fantastic and we would highly recommend. Quite a few people we spoke to said they would come back again and there were also a number who come time and gain to this hotel.

We went on the two day trip to the Sahara, booked via our Thomson rep which was absolutely fantastic. We saw so much and really found out a lot about the country. The sahara area is amazing and is not too be missed.

When visiting Souse, visit the museums which are in the back streets of the Medina and well worth getting off the beaten track (perfectly safe). Can't remember the name of it, but there is one museum which is an old house belonging to a wealthy merchant in the old days, which is absolutely delightful (just jup from the Ribat along the walls heading north - keep to the right - there are signs from the Medina entrance above the Ribat). The quiet back streets of the Medina are worth a visit and have quiet cafes and shops.

Also, get yourself onto the Metro and jump on the train to Monastir (about 1 hour) or Medhia (about 2 hours). You can't get lost, the Metro train runs from Souse to Monastir and then on to Medhia - just the one route. These are quiet places and is nice to get away from the hussle of Souse and see some of the real country. Medhia especially is worth a visit - go through the town, keep to the right heading out to the lighthouse. Great sea views and very quiet.

The hotel, Port El Kantaoui and Tunisia are well worth visiting. Lovely people, lovely hotel, lovely country. Can't wait to return.

Enjoy

Jane and Sue

PS - a Hello to Alan and Carol from Aber, who stayed at Marhaba Palace for ten weeks and were very helpful and good fun.

Room Tip: Sea view every time for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week in early July before the summer rush. we payed £20 each upgrade for a sea view and what we saw of other rooms it was well worth it. Room was on the top floor, large and well appointed. Cleaned very well everyday.
Breakfast was adequate but not exciting. Lunch and dinner were better and the a la carte was very good.
Fasel in the American bar was brilliant, the rest of the staff were very attentive and your glass was never empty at meal times.
Adequate amount of sun beds around the pool and on the beach.
Enjoyed the break but wouldn't rush back to Tunisia.

Room Tip: Pay upgrade for sea view, far better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a winter break here in December and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. The staff are very friendly, room service and cleaning excellent. The location is great, taxis are cheap and plentiful, as is the local bus service(dolmus). It is a 5 minute walk into the Port, where you can always pass a pleasant hour or two watching the world go by!
We were very surprised by the quality and variety of the food on offer (we stayed all inclusive) and there is always something to please everyone. At breakfast however, the coffee leaves a lot to be desired! The animation team worked very hard and throughout the day there are lots of activities if you want to join in.
Our only complaint was the lack of heating in the main bar and reception area - make sure you have a wrap or jacket for the evenings. The main bar also allows smoking which put us off at times.

Room Tip: In the winter you are better choosing a garden view room as the sea view rooms get virtually no sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for the second time with a friend in January 2013 and we had a wonderful time. Even though it is a very quiet time of year the entertainment guys really tried to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had things to do! The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was made up beautifully everyday by the friendly maid. All the staff in the bars, the restaurant, the reception were really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The food was great with lots of choice for even the pickiest eaters! The resort is an excellent base to enjoy Tunisia from, the port being only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and full of lovely cafes and restaurants to sit in and watch the world go by. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and I shall certainly be visiting again in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.