We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marhaba Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Marhaba Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just got back after a super week. Great staff, very clean and a bargain holiday. Animation team became animated with young, slim female tourists only.

Great food choices, the lady cooking the omelettes speaks at least 4 languages.

Port El Kantoui is looking a bit tired and this hotel is showing its age a bit, but to us it is still Paradise to us.

If you know Tunisia you will be used to tipping culture . . . so here is my top tip: take a load of sweets (I use packets of Polos) and pens, then you can keep staff happy, very useful for tipping toilet attendants,particularly if you add a dinar or two. When I got my cash I asked for lots of change.

My next tip is to speak French when you can, you get less hassle and more respect. Take the noddy train for cheap transport and haggle your taxi fare before you set off.

We went with Thomson; great rep. We recommend the 3 cities excursion.

Indoor pool was lovely and hot, nice American bar, the general bar is still half a smoking bar. Entertainment is cheesy and best taken with lots of alcohol.

Yes we will go again.

Weather for November was brilliant, getting home was depressing.

Room Tip: Views are good from all locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    579
    302
    111
    67
See reviews for
416
761
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent a week at the Marhaba Palace from 7-14 November...what a great hotel, although a little dated here and there I would find it very difficult to find fault. Very central and only 5 min walk to the quaint little marina surrounded with cafes bars and craft shops. The staff and service were exceptional, the food was plentiful with so much to choose from...something for everyone so you wont go hungry !! Rooms are very spacious and cleaned every day. Choice of several bars in the evening with entertainment, and a very happy lively animation team to keep you busy during the day, 1 min walk to our very own gorgeous beach with loads of water sports, camel rides etc... and to top it off the weather was amazing for November. All in all a superb hotel and wouldn't hesitate going back...thouroughly recommeded...can't wait for my next holiday !! :))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

two couples just spent 2weeks 31st oct -14th nov and it was brill .everthing about this hotel is good food rooms staff beach none could be faulted.The beach is lovely. the toilets by the beach are kept spotless the lady there is lovely really does deserve tipping.we tipped our waiters same one everyday for breakfast and lunch and really look after you,same at nite in the bars tipping them gives you very good measures the drinks are a lot stronger than other places we hve been. the beds are very comy and plenty spare pillows if needed.rooms are kept clean and the shower is good plenty of hot water all the time .we left all the toiletries the cleaners very grateful for shampoos soap even suncrems.We would go back met some lovly people shelly steve from liverpool who we had gd laughs.

Room Tip: 227 second floor gt sun late afternoon till it set
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Iv'e been going to this hotel for over 15 years sometimes in the summer just lately over the Christmas holiday and I can truthfully say iv'e never had a bad one, yes we can all have a bad day but we never expect waiters and door men to have one NOT when we are on holiday. The food is very good and it's Tunisian so don't complain when you don't get beef burgers and all the rest of the junk food menu.The place is in a very good position and enjoys a very good beach, the holiday makers leave the waste paper, fag ends and cups in the sand, the staff do a good job of picking up our litter. The lounge bar is a little dated but has some good staff who try, bear in mind these lads and lasses have never seen a good western style bar but do well despite not having any good bar fitters.The gardens and pool always look good and well kept and all the staff will talk to you if you say hello otherwise they will respect your privacy, the management on the other hand tend to be a little snooty with their noses in the air, why I don't know has any body told them I pay their wages? Iv'e stayed in some good 5 star hotels, this is'nt it's a 3 / 4 star so book it with confidence and smile you are on holiday.

Room Tip: If the room is not to your liking ask the front desk staff first and if that does'nt work see yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from the 4th to the 11th November, we were a little unsure what to expect, having heard mixed reviews...On arrival we were pleasently surprised, the reception/lounge area is vast by any standards, after check in we continued to our room, where a few minutes later our luggage was delivered to us...for a small tip(this is a theme of the hotel),thats not to say we didnt get well looked after if we didn't tip, every member of staff we dealt with were 2nd to none.

This hotel has 3 pools, 2 indoor(1 in the spa), 3 restaurants, (2 buffet, 1 a-la carte), 3 bars, a nightclub and a shop, safety deposit boxes are available behind the reception, hire for 2dinar a day, worth it too keep your valuable safe.

Our 1st experience of the restaurant was at lunch time...you sit anywhere during lunch, again a small tip to the waiter at the end of each meal, means u get well and truly looked after for your stay...The only down side to the hotel was during the evening meal, on check in you receive a card which u give to a waiter on arrival to the restaurant, he will then place it on a table, and this is where you sit for the entirety of your holiday, it is a little cramped and we were in the middle, with the tables to the left, right, front and behind all being used at the same time...you have the option of selecting 1st or 2nd service for the meal...might have been better if they alternate the tables between 1st and 2nd service, just to give everybody more room...having said that it is a good way to meet people, The food itself was nice, without being superb, but there was always something to chose from...Breakfast is in a different restaurant, again sit anywhere for breakfast, the freshly cooked omelettes are very nice. A seperate a-la carte restaurant is on site, a complimentary visit is permitted once, not sure if it is once per stay, or per week, as we were only there for a week, its was good service, and the food was lovely.

The bedrooms are spotless, cleaned everyday with replacement towels, the maid's were outstanding, so polite and very good at their jobs, little touches around the room made us feel special.

There wasn't the usual fight for sun loungers either, by 10am there were still plenty to choose from, (not sure if this would be the same during peak season, although the hotel was pretty full)...beach towels are available for a 10dinar deposit, complimentary matresess for sun loungers are also available, there is a pool bar, where drinks are free flowing, and you can choose to eat there during dinner if you prefer, that did get busy quick.

The animation team were great, always trying to get people involved during the daytime activites, but didnt hassle you if you just wanted to relax by the pool, the evening entertainment was poor, but with plenty of places to sit, drink and chat, it wasn't really a problem. Evening entertainment took place in the nightclub, but a few times during our stay there was live music in the main bar.

Location wise, its unbeatable, literally on the beach, where the all inclusive continues, and its only a 10minute walk to the local marina, full of shops, restaurants...if you like to haggle, this is the place for you. If you prefer a easier time to shop their is a fixed price shop a short taxi ride away, will cost you around 5dinar, plenty to purchase there.

There is a spa on the grounds of the hotel, payable loacally, but the full works 2 hour special treatment is well worth the money, 110dinar each, but it was fantastic.

The Hotel does need a lick of paint, but they were in the throws of doing it while we were there, so it isn't like they are ignoring it.

There is building work going on next door, but it didnt spoil our holiday in the slightest.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, and would recommend this place to anybody.

Hope everybody finds this review helpful, if a little long.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for a sea view room is worth it, the views are outstanding, if you get a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have just returned from the Marhaba palace , The hotel was fine though as some have said a little tired. We were shocked though by the hotel smoking policy. In the main bar they have a smoking and non smoking area and smoking is allowed all round the bar area. With no extraction system there is a cloud of smoke hangs over the area and filters out into the reception hall. As most of the clients come from european countries that have no smoking policies in public areas this is something that needs addressed. The dangers and effects of second hand smoke are now scientifically proven and it is time to change this , by all means let folk smoke , but in well ventilated , open areas . Food was a bit odd, and the guy on evening reception is in the wrong job. however miads and waiters work hard and are very good

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Travelled with Thomson and the whole process was very efficient and Kat the rep was excellent.
Hotel is in a super location with easy walk to beach and port. We had room 611 which had a great view out to sea but no sun on it at this time of year. Clean and top maids service but is a little bit dated but overall we were very pleased.
Plenty of food choice, however we were disappointed with the a la carte as the quantity of food was too much and not of high standard. Poolside bar which we ate at on last day did nice lunchtime food in a more pleasant environment then spending time in the dinning room.
Hotel staff can't do enough. Tipping is a regular event but for us it was trivial for the hard work they put in to making our stay enjoyable.
Bars were fine but the piano bar gets VERY smokey and the nightclub sadly was hardly used as it closed at 11pm due to lack of soundproofing...which is a shame as its got great lights and well equipped.
Temp was mid 20's but sun goes by 3-4 each day this time of year.Overall a great break, nice weather and would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool don't get the winter sun but have great views out to sea..6-7th floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.