We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
East Yorkshire UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Enjoyed having the toweling bathrobes. For early March, the weather was not as warm as expected however the hotel was warm and staff were welcoming. Pool facilities were good although the indoor pool was the only place you could comfortably swim as the water in the outdoor pool was too chilly. But still very pleasant for sitting round the pool. The hotel food was OK but improved as the hotel filled up for the Tunisian school holidays!. Close by is the pretty marina > 10 minutes walk away. All this area is purpose built just for tourism but still is very pleasant and a golf course is practically next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    289
    110
    47
    26
See reviews for
171
357
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Ideally situated to explore the port. Breakfast and evening meal very good - great range of food and omelettes cooked to order. They let us swap evening meal for lunch on two nights when we wanted to eat out. We did a lot of travelling by car - the rental was arranged by the hotel who got us an extremely good deal. Our room had recently been modernised and had everything we wanted and more including a fruit basket to welcome us. The staff went above and beyond their duty to help us whatever we wanted. The pool area was lovely the two days we were able to sunbathe. The indoor pool was good for exercise and very warm. We played pool in the bar two nights which was good fun in a nice atmosphere. Cocktails served one lunch to meet the hotel staff with nibbles - all free. Not a negative comment to make about the place. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good value upper end hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Basic Hotel / Basic Food . Needs updating but you get what you pay for . The service is very good and pools lovely in a good location . Nice place to relax with a quiet pool just for adults . I would stay again as its good value for money but would nt go half board. Stayed Oct 2007

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

More great food. 28th nov. amongst many other things they were doing fish cooked in the servery, I had suchi to start then a fish called Dornay, it was very good, the vegetables were all fresh & well cooked, not mushy, I finished of with lemon meringue pie, I tell you these inches will soon go on.
Last night I had stuffed chicken roll, again all the veg were good, the chicken was delicious, following this coconut macaroons, I cannot wait for tonight, I will let you know tomorrow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from tunisia after staying at hotel kanta. We had a lovely time. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and would do anything to be helpful. We went half board which meant we had breakfast and choice between lunch or dinner.The food/service was excellent. They always had a wide selection of food at breakfast and dinner. Im quite picky when it comes to food but i must say that the hotel had soo much choice.There was always something to cater for everyone. We had a lovely meal on valentines day as they had a gala dinner and entertainment.

The location of this hotel is perfect. 5mins away from the marina. Local shops and restaurants and about 10mins from the beach. So there was always something to do. Would highly recommend the sahara explora. It was the most amazing experience we had from camel riding, to seeing the sets of star wars on the sahara dessert and much mucb more. Great value for money (75pounds) as you cover 70% of tunisia in just two days. We went with thomas cook and must say they were brilliant. Our rep was ross he was very informative and always there to help us get the most out of our holiday.

I can go on but il leave it short. Would highly recommend this hotel- had a brilliant time- lots of fun. The staff are exceptional and very friendly and welcoming. Would definatly go back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here during February when the hotel was not full. The rooms are nice and clean with daily housekeeping, and the food, although quite samey was of a good selection with enough choice to suit everyone. The staff make this hotel, not a cross word or sullen face from anyone, always cheerful, polite and attentive. Even the Manager made a special effort to say hello. Facilities are good with two outdoor and one indoor pool, games room and hotel bar. Just a couple of minutes walk away is the Irish Bar, if a change of scene is needed. The Hotel during February provided evening entertainment such as bingo and live singers with keyboard - not my kind of thing but the effort was noted, and on Valentines Day made a very special effort to decorate all the dining tables, provide music and dancers, and a fantastic 7 course evening meal. Additionally, all the ladies were given a fresh red rose. A great effort by the staff, really appreciated.

The bar drinks and food can be paid for straight away or signed for and paid every few days or so, the system seemed to be accurate. The Hotel has a private beach which we did visit briefly because of the cold, but it all looked very nice, and again the beach bar manned by staff. All in all a very nice hotel, and I am sure would have an even better atmosphere during the hotter summer months, as the outside gardens and pool areas are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from lovely stay at Hotel Kanta... great staff/service, had fun time, smiles from the friendliest staff hotel-wide.

Food was great, 3 course brekkie's and 3 course evening meals - catered for all tastes.

Cannot find a fault with this hotel at all. 35 mins from airport too so transfer simple and also not too far to travel to historical sites Tunis, Catharge, El Jem and other coastal resorts, Nabeul, Hammermet and Sousse.

My only bug bear was it was chilly so didn't get chance to chill on beach or by one of the 3 pools (but - it's February and week's been between 13-16 degrees) - nothing to do with hotel however, just mother nature!

Room Tip: was quiet here as stayed in winter... had six floors and had ramps for wheels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Address: Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.