We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kanta to your Saves list
Hotel Kanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Herefordshire.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed and had as intended a really relaxing break. Overall the hotel was clean with friendly and helpful staff. The bedroom was okay although the beds were very hard and it took a while to get used to them... if we did!. Food as mentioned by others was a little on the repetitive side.The outside eatery by the pool was very basic with little choice for anyone on an all inclusive holiday it was either pizza or a sandwich with fries and then you could only order after 14:00pm. Around the pool there was plenty of sunbeds available so no need to reserve one with a towel. Waiter service for drinks etc readily at hand. Entertainment, didnt hear or see any, The marina is only 10mins walk from the hotel with plenty of souvenir shops and taverna's you do get hassled by traders wanting you to "just look" and you may need to get quite firm with one or two when saying "no thank-you". If you book to go on any trips outside of the resort you will not fail to notice the amount of general litter strewn absolutely everywhere it really is an eyeopener. The hotel is rated 4 star, 3 star would be more apt all things considered, however as mentioned we did enjoy the holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    348
    138
    57
    33
See reviews for
220
427
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

lovely hotel -good food nice and clean-would stay here again -looked great for familys
stayed here for 2 nights would definitely book a longer stay here
inside and outside was very clean -bar staff were very friendly
also a golf course on site shame my better half didn't have his golf clubs !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed in the hotel kanta mid july,arrived at hotel at about 10.30am only to be told our room would not be ready till 2pm now i can come with the odd obsticle but when you have two little ones in your group and it is baking hot its a bit difficult,so decided to sit at the pool bar and have some food little lad got a burger and when i say it was raw i mean raw asked for it to be cooked longer waiter looked a bit puzzeled but obliged,apart from this we had a pleasent stay at the hotel went self catering so did not eat at hotel again so cannot comment on the food rooms were always kept clean tv did not work but changed it straight away,the hotel runs a free tuk tuk bus to the private beach which little girl loved and the drivers were always pleasent,the beach itself was ok quite a bit of rubbish around which one tourist set about cleaning himself each day,the food in the restaurants was ok but all a bit samey if you no what i mean,one thing that did make me laugh was on your walk into town a man would come up to you saying that he was the chef at your hotel,and it was his night off then tried to sell you something,on one occasion i said which hotel would that be and he said the totally wrong hotel when i said i was not staying there he replied i work for more than one.would a go back to tunisia maybe but not for a while

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just landed from the Kanta Hotel. My husband and I had a very relaxing holiday. We had a lovely room on the third floor which looked over the pools, the pool bar and you could lie in bed and see the sea. The room was clean. We had a welcoming drink in reception and then a bottle of wine brought up to the room. The food was not the best but we found something to eat every meal time. There was not much choice. They seemed to have a lot of beef. There was not a lot of choice of snacks at the pool bar but the sandwiches were very nice. All staff were very pleasant and seemed to get to know you. The marina was within walking distance and it was nice to walk round and have something to eat or drink. It was very cheap to eat and drink out. We went on the 2 day sahara dessert trip, which was a good experience but a long couple of days, well worth doing. When we got back there was a birthday cake in our room, nice touch. I would recommend this for older couples as there is not much to do for the younger generation. We are thinking of going back for a week next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed at hotel kanta for a week and it was brilliant! Ignore the bad reviews, service was absolutely amazing all staff were really friendly and always happy to help with anything! The only thing that wasn't very good was the food however it wasn't terrible.
The resort itself was lovely I wouldn't recommend going to the friguia park on one of the Thomas cook trips because its a waste of money the catamaran through the travel company was nice and relaxing and worth doing!
If they cater for more English people I think this hotel would definitely be a Five Star.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting tunisia it's location is perfect right in the middle of everything.

Top Tip: If you tip the staff around the pool or in the bar a couple of dinar which is about 50p in our money they become your best friends for the whole holiday always getting you drinks and even food when you want whilst you sit n relax by the pool :) & they remember exactly what you want and tell you to sit down while they get you drinks.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

me and my husband stayed at the kanta hotel for 2 weeks the room was lovely and clean and the staff were so friendly we went all inclusive but would chose to go self catering next time i went as the food was horrible and it was the same every lunch and tea which got very boaring the evening entertain ment was very poor but we went for a relaxing holiday and that's what we got there was day time entertainment such as water gym darts french bowles and water polo the pool side staff were brilliant and the all inclusive beer was very watered down and my husband had a really bad upset tummy.

Room Tip: go for a pool view of sea view with balcony we had friends stay at the other side of the hotel and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from the hotel kanta which we found to be very clean, 6 of us travelled and 2 of the 3 rooms we had were next door to each other with a view of a roof. We asked to be moved however were told the hotel was full and we should ask again the following day, we didnt bother asking again and actually ended up enjoying the location of our rooms apart from the view.
We found the food in the hotel to be quite good, plenty of choice at dinner and always a lovely warm soup available. The breakfasts did not have a great selection apart from eggs or pancakes it was mostly continental stuff, we were surprised however at the lack of fruit choice there was melon, apples and grapes, I normally like having a banana with toast but none available.
We found the staff in the hotel to be friendly and very helpful except the bankier who exchanges your money he was very ignorant, the pool guy is very helpful we tipped him 10 dinars (£4) one day and he looked after us all week ensuring we got sunbeds where we wanted them and bringing us mattresses. The entertainment at the hotel was quite good something on outside every night usually a man singing, inside at the piano bar there is a man playing the piano every night which got a bit boring but the air con in this bar is excellent it was the coolest part of the hotel.
The resort we didnt think it was up to much with very little going on the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the harbour where there are a small selection of shops and restaurants, but we didnt feel comfortable there as you cant get a minute from the locals trying to get you into their shops and if you do go in they follow you around constanlty which put us off buying anything.
Couldn't fault the hotel but dont think we would return to tunisia as it wasnt for us, although glad we went and tried it.

Room Tip: request a high floor with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Address: Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.