We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just landed from the Kanta Hotel. My husband and I had a very relaxing holiday. We had a lovely room on the third floor which looked over the pools, the pool bar and you could lie in bed and see the sea. The room was clean. We had a welcoming drink in reception and then a bottle of wine brought up to the room. The food was not the best but we found something to eat every meal time. There was not much choice. They seemed to have a lot of beef. There was not a lot of choice of snacks at the pool bar but the sandwiches were very nice. All staff were very pleasant and seemed to get to know you. The marina was within walking distance and it was nice to walk round and have something to eat or drink. It was very cheap to eat and drink out. We went on the 2 day sahara dessert trip, which was a good experience but a long couple of days, well worth doing. When we got back there was a birthday cake in our room, nice touch. I would recommend this for older couples as there is not much to do for the younger generation. We are thinking of going back for a week next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    309
    125
    52
    28
See reviews for
195
380
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed at hotel kanta for a week and it was brilliant! Ignore the bad reviews, service was absolutely amazing all staff were really friendly and always happy to help with anything! The only thing that wasn't very good was the food however it wasn't terrible.
The resort itself was lovely I wouldn't recommend going to the friguia park on one of the Thomas cook trips because its a waste of money the catamaran through the travel company was nice and relaxing and worth doing!
If they cater for more English people I think this hotel would definitely be a Five Star.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting tunisia it's location is perfect right in the middle of everything.

Top Tip: If you tip the staff around the pool or in the bar a couple of dinar which is about 50p in our money they become your best friends for the whole holiday always getting you drinks and even food when you want whilst you sit n relax by the pool :) & they remember exactly what you want and tell you to sit down while they get you drinks.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

me and my husband stayed at the kanta hotel for 2 weeks the room was lovely and clean and the staff were so friendly we went all inclusive but would chose to go self catering next time i went as the food was horrible and it was the same every lunch and tea which got very boaring the evening entertain ment was very poor but we went for a relaxing holiday and that's what we got there was day time entertainment such as water gym darts french bowles and water polo the pool side staff were brilliant and the all inclusive beer was very watered down and my husband had a really bad upset tummy.

Room Tip: go for a pool view of sea view with balcony we had friends stay at the other side of the hotel and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from the hotel kanta which we found to be very clean, 6 of us travelled and 2 of the 3 rooms we had were next door to each other with a view of a roof. We asked to be moved however were told the hotel was full and we should ask again the following day, we didnt bother asking again and actually ended up enjoying the location of our rooms apart from the view.
We found the food in the hotel to be quite good, plenty of choice at dinner and always a lovely warm soup available. The breakfasts did not have a great selection apart from eggs or pancakes it was mostly continental stuff, we were surprised however at the lack of fruit choice there was melon, apples and grapes, I normally like having a banana with toast but none available.
We found the staff in the hotel to be friendly and very helpful except the bankier who exchanges your money he was very ignorant, the pool guy is very helpful we tipped him 10 dinars (£4) one day and he looked after us all week ensuring we got sunbeds where we wanted them and bringing us mattresses. The entertainment at the hotel was quite good something on outside every night usually a man singing, inside at the piano bar there is a man playing the piano every night which got a bit boring but the air con in this bar is excellent it was the coolest part of the hotel.
The resort we didnt think it was up to much with very little going on the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the harbour where there are a small selection of shops and restaurants, but we didnt feel comfortable there as you cant get a minute from the locals trying to get you into their shops and if you do go in they follow you around constanlty which put us off buying anything.
Couldn't fault the hotel but dont think we would return to tunisia as it wasnt for us, although glad we went and tried it.

Room Tip: request a high floor with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Reading the last couple of reviews I would have to agree that overall the holiday was good. Me and my new husband enjoyed the facilities and location. We had no trouble finding which coach we needed to go to though the Thomas Cook operator. I will admit we forgot about the baggage handles who tend to grab your suitcase and escort you to the coach, but then ask for £5 each for the service. Needless to say I laughted at this and offered £3, which was still too much. (points for trying though). I did find out on the return journey that baggage handlers are actually paid anyway by the airport so you dont have to pay them anything, but on the return journey we carried our own. The hotel location was good as the others have stated. We were given a pool/sea view as requested, the room was a good size. Propably not 4*, but 3* plus at the most. It was cleaned and beds made up every day. I cant really fault the staff, they were friendly, and service was good, both in the resturant and around the pool. Some are probably a little too friendly when the husband was not around, but you just have to laugh it off. I tipped each time I felt I had good service which was quite often. We wanted a relaxing holiday, so tried out the massages, hairdresser and pedicures 2x in the week we were there. The hairdresser was so quick and cheap, but did a good job. I ate loads whilst there as there was plenty of food I enjoy. The bad stomach seems to come with the territory, not to do with the food. We involved ourselves with the day time entertainment, darts and water polo, loads of fun. The 2 guys employed by the hotel do their best to get you involved and are really nice lads. We met some lovely people by getting involved. Evening entertainment was not that good, but we did have a laugh watching it (i dont think we were meant to laugh). We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool and sea view. Those rooms seemed to be a little bigger than some of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

After reading previous reviews i was worried about our stay at the kanta hotel but me and my boyfriend had a brilliant time. Our room was lovely it was cleaned everyday and clean towels were provided daily. Air con was brilliant. Only small complaint being the bed was not a double but two singles pushed together. The hotel itself was beautiful. It had 2 big pools and a childrens pool all great. The seating around the pool is quite limited therefore early mornings are required for a good pool spot. Free crazy golf at the hotel and you can play tennis for a small fee. Service around the hotel was great if your were a man however they seemed to treat women a little different. I was often ignored whilst waiting at the bar and reception. Drinks were brought to you if asked and they didnt expect a tip but we tipped often anyways. The food was very similar for the full week and it wasnt great but we never went hungry. The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the kantas private beach or you can take a tuk tuk free of charge which leaves the hotel every 5 minutes. The hotel is also around a 10 minute walk to the port and to the fountains although theres not loads to do at either place. We went on 2 excursions and would recommed them both. African dream is brilliant! A zoo where u get to feed different animals and get your photo taken with them and then a 3 course meal accompanied by african dancing! And the sahara explorer was a brilliant experience, including lots of sight seeing as well camel riding in the sahara dessert, visiting the atlas mountains and watching the sunrise over a salt dessert, just be prepared to spend alot of time on a bus. Overall we would both highly recommend the kanta :-).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just got back from 10 nights in Hotel kanta, myself and my partner travelled with Thomas Cook with another couple we know. We arranged to meet another couple at the hotel on arrival. 6 of us in total.
First of all you arrive at the airport and are greeted by a Thomas Cook Rep, there will be several people waiting at this point to carry your bags to the coaches, they will expect a tip so if you do want to avoid it, carry your own luggage, its only a minute walk to the pick up point.
On arrival we were greeted with a cocktail and the entrance hall is very clean and well lit. The reception staff were rather grumpy and spoke the least English out of any of the staff i dealt with but they still were helpful when i asked questions. There is a desk next to reception where you exchange your English Sterling into Tunisian Dinar, The exchange rate worked out to be about 43p to 1Dinar.
We had a lovely, spacious, clean room overlooking the pools and the sea, as we had requested our travel partners where in the room next to us. There was a mini fridge in each room which had a bottle of bubbly in for your arrival and two bottles of water, the maids are meant to re-stock the water everyday once you had drank it but they often forgot during our stay but bottles of water are free in all of the hotel.
Breakfast starts at 6.30am until 10am, there was alot of choice everyday including fruit, cereals, toast and cooked breakfast (with alot of egg options). Although the food didn't vary everyday i still found something to eat and i am very fussy with food, as where some of my friends.
Lunch was very simular to breakfast, served from 12pm-2pm everyday. The snack bar opened at 2.30 everyday and they had chips, sandwiches and lovely pizzas.
Dinner started at 6.30pm-10pm and we were allocated a seat at the start of the week which we sat on every day, we were served everyday by 'Lotfi' and he was lovely, always remembering our drinks order and very pleasant.
The snack bar re-opens at 10pm-12pm which we didn't realise until the penultimate evening.
The pools are lovely and clean, we chose to sit by the adult pool everyday and it was very peaceful. There was daily pool entertainment of water gym, darts and water polo. We joined in on water polo a couple of times and it was a nice way to meet some of the other guests.

The evening entertainment was very minimal, i feel if we hadn't of travelled with other people we would have been rather bored.
The beach is a short tuk-tuk ride away, or a ten minute walk, its a nice beach, rather crowded but lovely none-the less. The snack bar at the beach opens at 12pm and they serve the same food as the snack bar at the hotel. There are lots of activities at the beach and we chose to do a sit-down mattress type ride, very fun, worked out to be 10dinars each (about 4pound), Well worth it.

The pool staff were all lovely and came and re-filled your drinks and took the time to get to know us, especially one man in particular, Ahmed.

The reason i have given this hotel 4 star is, overall it was a fantastic holiday and the hotel was very well kept.The hotel is new to all-inclusive and you have to sign for every drink or food item you order with your room number, even if it is for just one drink. Double check all the food at dinner, 95% of the food we ate was lovely and well cooked ,but yes there was still the odd bit of pink chicken which i wouldnt recommend eating. It isnt a four star hotel in comparison to what you would expect from England, but remember, this is Africa. We all did suffer from upset- tummy's at some point during our stay but we need to keep in mind we were all eating food our bodies aren't used to, as well as the heat ( A scorching 43degrees whilst we were there).

If you leave the hotel, be prepared for the haggling down at the port. It was quite intimidating at first but a firm no soon sends them away.
Overall we had a brilliant time.

Room Tip: Ask for a new re-furnished room as they are much more spacious, the best views are floor 3 and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Address: Route touristique BP 23, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.