We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the poor reviews, this is well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui to your Saves list
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zone Touristiques Sousse-Tunisie, Port El Kantaoui 40-4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ignore the poor reviews, this is well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A lot to mention here. The hotel is clean and the rooms are functional. TIP: either ask for room at front of hotel , or like us, have room facing sea but well away from overlooking the pool and its noise. ( We were room 196)The beds were quite hard and uncomfortable.The staff are great, and yes we did tip, but only 2-3 dinar each mealtime, received great service. Did the camel ride (great) quads ( better) parachute glide ( scary ) and the zoo and zulu ( good experience)all are very good value for money.Book the Gala night as soon as you arrive as it gets booked up ( still on the AI)Visit Sousse but becareful as can be quite intimidating, listen to what the rep tells you (we had Medhi from Just Sunshine who was v knowledgeable) and you should'nt get scammed. The Port is worth a visit, but don't make a special visit for the musical fountains which just left us rather bemused.Although you'll hear scare stories about the people here, remember it's a very different culture, and there is a lot of poverty here . And , more than anything else we were absolutely delighted in the way EVERYBODY treated our son, who has Downs Syndrome. He was always treated with kindness, but never patronised, people would go out of their way to talk to him, never expecting anything in return and we were very grateful to the Tunisian people for this. There are problems here ( politically and economically) but they WANT you to be here and show their enthusiasm, however, there is a feeling that the bartering, scamming, expectation of tipping etc may, over the coming years, become more cynical and over aggressive. I hope not as it's a lovely Country and people. Weather, of course, wonderful.

Room Tip: All in the review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for choosing to sepend your holiday at our hotel El Mouradi Port EL Kantaoui
Thank you very much for your positive comments and recommendations on Tripadvisor, honesty deserves to be mentioned that your congrats will go to our entire staff.
Dear guest , we deeply regret your disappointment on the bed confort ,we will pass on your comment to our head managment to improve on that point .
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hospitable regards,

Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    238
    119
    71
    74
See reviews for
200
255
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at El Mouradi Port for a week in October as a second holiday. For the price we paid the hotel was great value for money.

The food was tasty (a little repetitive but what can you expect from all in), the pool was nice and clean and the beach looked good even though we didnt use it.

What let the holiday down was Tunisia itself. If you have never been, listen when people tell you the Tunisians are pushy and never let people compare it to bartering in Turkey. We went into Sousse shopping and from the moment we stepped out the taxi they were onto you begging you to buy things, you couldn't look anyone in the eye, unlike the Turks they do not take no for an answer and they even came into the restaurants while you were eating to try and sell you things. They tell you things are free but once you've opened them they charge you.

If I returned to Tunisia, I would stay at this hotel but I think because if the time of year we went 90% of the people were German retired couples (which didnt really bother us) so I may try a different time of year and I certainly wouldn't leave the hotel complex again.

For what we paid it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear EmilyS,

Thank you for your words about our hotel El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, we are very pleased on knowing that you had a marvelous experience here, we will pass your words to the staff for them to know about your opinion .
Once again, thanks for your comments, they are a truly award for the whole staff and we hope to see you again for your next visit to Tunisia.

Best regards.

Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We Stayed at the El Mouradi Port Sept 28th for 2 weeks. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the trip advisor comments but we really need not have worried.

Firstly I have to mention the staff - all of them that we encountered were friendly and none of them expected a tip - we tipped at the end of the trip to waiters, restaurant staff and maids. They all work extremely hard and for very little. I found that if you treat people with respect they will go the extra mile to make sure that you are well looked after. I agree with the previous comment about other holidaymakers who seem to have left their manners at home.

Now to the food. As in all other all inclusive hotel I have stayed in the food does get a bit repetitive but always found something to eat, always lovely salads, a pasta and pizza station and mostly beef dishes. To be honest the money we paid for this holiday we could not fault the food.

The Rooms - this for me was the only part of the hotel that I was disappointed in - the room we had (029) ground floor overlooking the front of the hotel definitely needs a refurb. The carpet was old and looked dirty and a funny musty smell (but we only spent a limited amount of time in the room so it didn't detract from our overall holiday) The big downside is the beds - very low and very hard - I really did not have a good nights sleep while I was their.

I would like too mention that we went into Port El Kantaoui and ate at a restaurant called La Meditaraneo - beautiful fish restaurant overlooking the harbour. We ate here and it cost around the £50.00 for the two of us for 2 courses + bottle of wine+ irish coffee's and tip included.

Would I go back - yes, the resort itself is great, lovely sandy beach and because I have walking difficulties the fact that it is on the flat a great advantage. The weather when we went was changeable but never cold .

If you want a great holiday on a budget go to the Port El Kantaoui - you will not be disappointed.

One more thing - I took a travel kettle as there are no tea & coffee making facilities nor a hairdryer in the rooms - this does need to be addressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ms Glenda F,

First of all we would like to thank you for the opportunity that you have given us by choosing our El Mouradi Port El kantaoui for your holidays in Tunisia and for the time you spent to redact a review on your personal experience so we can take your vision into account to improve in our daily services.
Honesty deserves to be mentioned that your congrats will go to our entire staff. Without them, we would be nowhere .
Ms Glenda F, your thoughts are the best award we ever could receive.We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Hospitable regards,

Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is our 7th visit to this hotel in the last 10 years and it just gets better.

The staff are amazing and can’t do enough for you and DON’T always expect a tip!

I gave a detailed review last year and much of it still holds true. We had the same room as last year 271 and it has had a new carpet and bath fitted this year. Aircon was ok – could have been a little stronger but was adequate. Saw painters in at least 10 other rooms during our stay so it is gradually being refurbished.

This hotel is clean, maintenance issues are dealt with promptly and we had possibly our best ever holiday at this hotel. The staff are more like friends and family and the welcome is second to none.

The only downside was the behaviour of some of our own countrymen. One ‘gentleman’ lets say from ‘the Midlands’ – waived his stick at the pool area guys and said ‘ I’ll have two beds over there.’ Not a thank you or kiss my butt when it was done and much less a tip for the effort and then didn’t sit on the bed for 4 hours!!!!! These people are not your slaves – give them some respect thank them and tip them.

You are not tipping to get good service you are tipping because you got good service!!!!!!!

A funny three part handshake and ‘you’re my mate’ is not good enough when the waiter has found two chairs for the table you chose that didn’t have any chairs even though there were 30 other tables with chairs around it!

All nationalities have their bad examples and we met some great German, French and Russian people this year and we were all embarrassed by the behaviour of some of our own people! Give some respect and you will receive it back 10 fold.

Holidays are always what you make them but when all the staff from the bellboys to the managers are this good it certainly helps.

We will be back again next year for our 8th visit.

If you have any specific questions just message me and I’ll try to help.

Room Tip: dont be on the front of the hotel as sun is on from 1200 till sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr Steve Y,

We would like to thank you for choosing El Mouradi Port EL Kantaoui on your holiday since 10 years, We are thankful to read you have had a wonderful experience at our hotel.
Mr Steve Y, we feel very motivated to continue improving our services., rest assured that I will pass all your compliments to the staff involved.
Once again thank you for your visit, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in Your second home.

Hospitable regards.

Sana barakert
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am writing this review after seeing what one person had left as their review, I have been coming to this hotel for the past 13 years at least twice a year. There are many guests from England that revisit this hotel and stay for 4 weeks at a time. Over 60% of the guests are repeat guests so this speaks for itself. I wouldn't say that this hotel is the modernest but what the hotel lacks in looks it's more than made up by the staff. You are made to feel welcome from when you first arrive it doesn't matter whether it's your first time there or your twentieth. The food can be sometimes repetitive but when there is so many nationalities to cater for it must be difficult to get it just right. I have always found something nice to eat, and their cakes are delicious. It's right on the white sandy beach, only 15 minutes from the marina in the port. If your after a swanky posh hotel then this properly isn't the place for you. But if you prefer to be treated with warmth and friendliness then this is the place for you.
Chris and Pat from England

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Chriss,
We would love to thank you for all the marvelous comments you have wrote on Tripadvisor and also for the time and effort it took you to post them for the whole travelling community to read them, reading your words we feel the urge to share your comments with the whole staff of the hotel.
Since such words are priceless and encouraging, they lead us not only to continue working in this way but also to try improving all the time, your thoughts are the best award we ever could receive.
Once again, thanks a lot for all your comments and for choosing our hotel El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui since 13 years, we hope to see you soon back at your second home.
Hospitable regards,

Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

have the honor to my family and I go down for this hotel because we are receiving good treatment and good receivers Ndhafah place and its proximity to the sea and the most important in this hotel wonderful design

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr Ahmed,

Thank you for choosing El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui on your holiday. We would love to thank you for all the marvelous comments you have wrote here and also for the time and effort it took you to post them for the whole travelling community to read them on Tripadvisor, reading your words we feel the urge to share your comments with the whole staff of the hotel.
Thank you for choosing us again and being a regular guest, we are waiting to welcome you soon in your second home.

Hospitable regards,

Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When you sum up the impressions, it was a great holiday in this hotel. We paid all inclusive which was worth of the spend money.
The beach is beautiful with fine sand, uou have drinks, chips and sandwiches on the beach and the food is great, variety of salads, side dishes, fish, pasta and cakes...My son was constantly eating donuts and pancakes :)
The rooms are small and old but insignificant in relation to the beach, pools and everything else in the hotel.
Tip helps to keep the room clean as you like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouradi P, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Snezana,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui. We are glad to read that you have had a nice vacation. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards
Sana Baraket
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui

Address: Zone Touristiques Sousse-Tunisie, Port El Kantaoui 40-4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Port Kantaoui
El Mouradi Hotel Port Kantaoui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.