We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive week out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Palm Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Mouradi Palm Marina to your Saves list
El Mouradi Palm Marina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All inclusive week out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not our usual choice, but last X-mas we definitely had a very relaxed week as result of the all inclusive concept at the Palm Marina.
For a change I didn't worry or even think much about what to do the next day to make it all worthwhile. My mindset was not to care if we wouldn't do a thing. We did however make a short trip to Sousse, walked to El Kantaoui, play a round of golf and had a ride on some quads.
I have been around and don't usually feel uncomfortable, but the market in Sousse was too crowded and after a handfull attempts from pickpockets we left the scene. El Kantaoui was quite pittoresque without tourists. The golf course was far from a pretty one, but ok nonetheless. The quad guide lead us over a garbage dump at a painstaking low pace. But all in all it was good fun.

Ok, the hotel! All Tunesian tourists! Only a handfull of European ones. That was a surprise, but surely no problem. Actually, other than the first weekend, the hotel was rather empty. Rooms were clean (except for a bit of spilled henna which we initially thought to be blood), large, in a good state and with superb beds with a view to the sea. Mostly in the shade, but 10/12 months you'ld be happy with that. No wifi in the rooms was disappointing for the kids. Other parts did have wifi, but when we asked to change rooms (empty as the hotel was), we noticed those rooms (although with sun and wifi) were definitely in a lesser state. Older beds, damaged paint etc. Hence we stayed with our rooms.

December the swimming pools are really too cold and the sea was also all yours (not mine though). There was an indoor pool which was quite crowded.
Entertainment team was friendly and also large enough to bore themselves slightly with too few guests. We and our kids had some friends with whom we had plenty fun, so we didn't make much use of the professional entertainment. There was plenty space not to be annoyed by others if you wished.
We played a lot of tennis, but the rackets were nearly all in a bad condition. Playing with a twisted junior racket without grip on it, got my level down to leaving nothing to boast about. It could not spoil our fun. A leaking light weight ball just did not make it for my son who needs to play soccer wherever he goes. We sponsored the hotel with a better one.
Tunesian food did not make it to my favorites, but it was not bad. Hard to tell if the hotel did a very good job. There was sufficient choice for adults and children, although after a week I had had enough of most.
We were there with X-mas and they really tried to make a good feast of it. Special dinner, completely dressed up dining room. Really nice. Well... the band was too sad and only being drunk one would really enjoy the belly dancer. But hey, the effort was much appreciated.

Was it bad? No, it was relatively cheap, offered roughly as expected and what it promised (except for wifi), clean rooms, friendly personnel who tried to make the best of things etc. etc.

Was it good? Well, I read a couple of the other comments leading to a maximum score... That is definitely not my opinion. Neither the hotel nor staff disappointed me, but there is good difference to 4 or 5 out of 5.

All in all we had a very relaxed week!

Room Tip: Read the text to know what to ask for. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your last stay at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We read carefully your review on tripadvisor, we were happy that you enjoyed many things in the hotel, its surrounding and Port El Kantaoui.

Be sure that we take seriously every single point that you did not appreciated during your stay among us and we will work on it in order to reach your expectation.

We appreciate very much that you took in consideration the “value for money”.

Hope seeing you as soon as possible and for sure you will feel the changes positively towards your satisfaction.

Best Regards
Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    332
    177
    72
    52
See reviews for
265
474
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Last two years, we were at this hotel,and also this summer we will go again at Palm Marina.Everything was really nice.Food and drinks choice was very big,as that as you can't decide what to eat.In restaurant always fresh fruits,many different kinds of cookies and cakes,and for breakfast delicious pancakes :).There is also 3 a la kart restaurants and one at the beach.Beach and pool areas clean.Interesting sunumbrellas, sponges and towels are free.Rooms are big,clean practically all with sea view.Many different bars(Piano bar,Corali bar,Coffee bar,pool bar,nargilla bar...).Very friendly stuff.At night nice and funny animations.There is fantastic spa and thalasso center(with sixteen massage cabins).
In all this is hotel for peolpe who wants excellent,relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you very much for this excellent review.

There is always a will to lead the hotel as you would expect from us and your comments confirm that as:

-The location of the hotel, right on the beach.
-The pool area and its surrounding facilities.
-The rooms.
-The wide range of the food and beverages.
-The kindliness of the staff.
-The Thalasso facilities.

Your comments give as the will to continue and it is, indeed, a source of motivation for all the staff.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights at the Palm Marina to escape the cold in Britain and had a lovely, relaxing break.
The hotel was very quiet for the first couple of days, then lots of Tunisian people arrived, apparently for the week-end.
The all-inclusive was very good, with lots of choices of both food and drink and never having to queue at the bar was great - don't know what it would be like in peak season, though.
The outdoor pool looked lovely, but it was too cold to use. The indoor pool, on the other hand, was blissful - like getting into a lovely warm bath.
All of the waiters, barmen and entertainments staff we met were really pleasant.
We had booked a superior room at the hotel and would advise anyone else to do the same as we looked at a standard room and it was certainly nowhere near 5* standards.

Room Tip: Choose a superior sea-view room on a higher floor for great views over the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the review about the variety and the quality of both food and beverage.
Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated by the entire team.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. We assure you that the same service quality is maintained all year long.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.


Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've been to the Palm Marina 3 or 4 times and the standard has always been high. Staff recognise return guests and are always very attentive - it doesn't feel corporate or in-your-face, just very friendly. The rooms are not as modern as many would like, but that's not a problem. Huge choice at all meals, lots of sunbeds available most of the time, and both the indoor and outdoor pools are great. Well worth hiring a car and driver for a day to explore places like Tunis/Carthage/Sidi Bou Said or more local such as the Coliseum at El Djem (or even a weekend if you want to go down to the Sahara - REALLY recommended!). A lot of fun to be had here, but avoid the 'Marina' if you're not a fan of 80s film set fakery as in Eldorado :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we thank you for your friendly review.

This is the result of a long-standing effort - but also an obligation towards all the guests to continue.

The increasing number of returns and long-stay guests confirms the efforts of the Management and all employees.

Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, thefood and the pool side facilities; this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel has a big offer of entertainment with their great animation team :) You will never - I mean never feel bored because the animation is working from 9-17 with a small break for lunch and also during the night so it is hard not to have fun with them. Also the rooms are equipped with big beds, huge bathroom and a nice balcony. If you are lucky you will get a room with a beautiful view of the sea and the hotel pool. The pool itself is also pretty cool with lots of swimming area and also a small relaxing spot. There is an indoor pool as well with jacuzzi and place for swimming. The food was amazing - a huge buffet for every meal of the day and the staff is polite. You can eat something at almost every part of the day - I think the kitchen closes at 2 am and opens at 6 am. There is also a small disco in the basement of the hotel so you do not even have to go out to the city. I could go on and on how great this hotel is but I think this was enough :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor are very much appreciated by the entire team.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute holiday and we were really impressed all week. We arrived late at the hotel and we were surprised that we were able to still get food. On arrival we were really impressed with how clean the hotel was, and how impressive the reception area was. The porters took our bags to the room whilst we got food in the cafe which did excellent pizzas! Our room was clean and big with a south facing balcony which was a bonus for some winter sun! The hotel has fantastic facilities, large outdoor pool private beach and an indoor pool. We received a free massage and sauna which was lovely the spa area has a separate pool and it was a lovely relaxing afternoon. You could easily spend the day in there treating yourself to different experiences and treatments. There was entertainment each evening which was put on by a friendly crew of staff who made the effort to talk to you during the day and night. Yes the entertainment was not perfect but it kept us entertained and if we wanted 'A class'
entertainment we would not have expected to find it at a hotel (so discard any bad reviews on this), the entertainment team were also great during the day offering a range of activities like archery, tennis, mini golf, boules, darts and i am sure there would be more in the summer.the food and drink was available all day and there was a huge range for everyone. It was great not to see chips on the buffet every day! The New Years entertainments and food was amazing I would highly recommend going away for NYE! It felt like a great party atmosphere with friends that you have just made! It was about a 20walk to the marina in port el kantonoui or 3d in a taxi. Sousse is 10d in a taxi to talk a walk through the medina. The staff were fantastic in all areas of the hotel, from chefs,cleaners , bar staff and waiters they really made you feel welcome!!!
The only down side is some of the bars you can smoke inside and as you can't smoke at home inside it was a shock but one we got used. We made some great friends and had a good week away, if your looking for a relaxing break with things to do I highly recommend this hotel!! We are looking to go back in the summer for some summer sun (it was about 16-21oc when we were there)

Thank you to everyone who works there!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the left hand side of the hotel! Get some extra sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hi went to this hotel on the 19th december 2012,it is no way a 5 star hotel and the managment have no respect for women if you want a rubish holiday go, i would class the hotel as 3 star, on the friday we were told to eat in another resturant as they had there own people over to stay in the hotel, as they do not like the way we eat or dress, never ever felt like a second class citizen ever in my whole life, worst christmas holiday ever, lots of the guests felt the same way as i did.... Took both my daughters with me and the men were harrasing them and did not care that there wifes were with them,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Hispano-Moorish style close to the marina at Port el Kantaoui, dotted with gardens leading to a beach of fine sand, the El Mouradi Palm Marina is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday. For golfers, the 36-hole El Kantaoui golf course is two kilometres away. The hotel is 10 kilometres from the town of Sousse, 35 kilometres from Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport, 40 kms from Enfidha airport, 70 kilometres from Yasmine Hammamet and 135 kilometres from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Palm Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.