We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Winter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Palm Marina

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi Palm Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Mouradi Palm Marina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
U.K.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Winter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights at the Palm Marina to escape the cold in Britain and had a lovely, relaxing break.
The hotel was very quiet for the first couple of days, then lots of Tunisian people arrived, apparently for the week-end.
The all-inclusive was very good, with lots of choices of both food and drink and never having to queue at the bar was great - don't know what it would be like in peak season, though.
The outdoor pool looked lovely, but it was too cold to use. The indoor pool, on the other hand, was blissful - like getting into a lovely warm bath.
All of the waiters, barmen and entertainments staff we met were really pleasant.
We had booked a superior room at the hotel and would advise anyone else to do the same as we looked at a standard room and it was certainly nowhere near 5* standards.

Room Tip: Choose a superior sea-view room on a higher floor for great views over the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the review about the variety and the quality of both food and beverage.
Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated by the entire team.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. We assure you that the same service quality is maintained all year long.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.


Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    285
    143
    65
    46
See reviews for
235
394
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've been to the Palm Marina 3 or 4 times and the standard has always been high. Staff recognise return guests and are always very attentive - it doesn't feel corporate or in-your-face, just very friendly. The rooms are not as modern as many would like, but that's not a problem. Huge choice at all meals, lots of sunbeds available most of the time, and both the indoor and outdoor pools are great. Well worth hiring a car and driver for a day to explore places like Tunis/Carthage/Sidi Bou Said or more local such as the Coliseum at El Djem (or even a weekend if you want to go down to the Sahara - REALLY recommended!). A lot of fun to be had here, but avoid the 'Marina' if you're not a fan of 80s film set fakery as in Eldorado :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we thank you for your friendly review.

This is the result of a long-standing effort - but also an obligation towards all the guests to continue.

The increasing number of returns and long-stay guests confirms the efforts of the Management and all employees.

Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, thefood and the pool side facilities; this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel has a big offer of entertainment with their great animation team :) You will never - I mean never feel bored because the animation is working from 9-17 with a small break for lunch and also during the night so it is hard not to have fun with them. Also the rooms are equipped with big beds, huge bathroom and a nice balcony. If you are lucky you will get a room with a beautiful view of the sea and the hotel pool. The pool itself is also pretty cool with lots of swimming area and also a small relaxing spot. There is an indoor pool as well with jacuzzi and place for swimming. The food was amazing - a huge buffet for every meal of the day and the staff is polite. You can eat something at almost every part of the day - I think the kitchen closes at 2 am and opens at 6 am. There is also a small disco in the basement of the hotel so you do not even have to go out to the city. I could go on and on how great this hotel is but I think this was enough :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor are very much appreciated by the entire team.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Ahmed G.
P.R.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute holiday and we were really impressed all week. We arrived late at the hotel and we were surprised that we were able to still get food. On arrival we were really impressed with how clean the hotel was, and how impressive the reception area was. The porters took our bags to the room whilst we got food in the cafe which did excellent pizzas! Our room was clean and big with a south facing balcony which was a bonus for some winter sun! The hotel has fantastic facilities, large outdoor pool private beach and an indoor pool. We received a free massage and sauna which was lovely the spa area has a separate pool and it was a lovely relaxing afternoon. You could easily spend the day in there treating yourself to different experiences and treatments. There was entertainment each evening which was put on by a friendly crew of staff who made the effort to talk to you during the day and night. Yes the entertainment was not perfect but it kept us entertained and if we wanted 'A class'
entertainment we would not have expected to find it at a hotel (so discard any bad reviews on this), the entertainment team were also great during the day offering a range of activities like archery, tennis, mini golf, boules, darts and i am sure there would be more in the summer.the food and drink was available all day and there was a huge range for everyone. It was great not to see chips on the buffet every day! The New Years entertainments and food was amazing I would highly recommend going away for NYE! It felt like a great party atmosphere with friends that you have just made! It was about a 20walk to the marina in port el kantonoui or 3d in a taxi. Sousse is 10d in a taxi to talk a walk through the medina. The staff were fantastic in all areas of the hotel, from chefs,cleaners , bar staff and waiters they really made you feel welcome!!!
The only down side is some of the bars you can smoke inside and as you can't smoke at home inside it was a shock but one we got used. We made some great friends and had a good week away, if your looking for a relaxing break with things to do I highly recommend this hotel!! We are looking to go back in the summer for some summer sun (it was about 16-21oc when we were there)

Thank you to everyone who works there!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the left hand side of the hotel! Get some extra sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hi went to this hotel on the 19th december 2012,it is no way a 5 star hotel and the managment have no respect for women if you want a rubish holiday go, i would class the hotel as 3 star, on the friday we were told to eat in another resturant as they had there own people over to stay in the hotel, as they do not like the way we eat or dress, never ever felt like a second class citizen ever in my whole life, worst christmas holiday ever, lots of the guests felt the same way as i did.... Took both my daughters with me and the men were harrasing them and did not care that there wifes were with them,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've set this review with a rating of 2/5 (poor) because....

The hotel rooms themselves are pretty spacious but the design is ridiculous and the beds are ok, but not 5 stars.
If you are lucky you could be in a room close to the reception but we stayed in the 530's which was about a 4 minute walk to get there. The bars/elevators and other communal space all have the same music going and sometimes it does drive me crazy. The breakfast was horrible - just a buffet of hot and cold food. The corridors to the rooms reminds me of being in a hospital.

Good thing is that Internet is free and with decent signal strength - from my room anyway.

The hotel is miles away from the town center where the (really cool) night life is.

The entrance to the hotel was nice, decent look to the reception area.

The staff were accommodating enough, not to say that they were friendly but done the necessary. Infact i found the conformation email to be more polite than the actual staff.

We went at an off peak time (early December) so this was not a beach type sun seeking tour.

The hotel is effectively a huge squared U shape so pretty much most of the rooms have a view of the sea unless you are on the ground floor.

Beach was good, clean well kept. Note: We were in the wrong season for it. The pool on the hotel grounds looks alright with plenty of space to lounge around.

Will not stay here again for the money!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mytchett, camberley
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Do not come to this hotel if you are expecting total English Cuisine and a Full English Breakfast every morning, do come though if you expect good quality food from all corners of the world served by dedicated polite, courteous and pleasant staff. We had two weeks and it was always difficult knowing what to eat at any meal due to the choice, it can be said though it was always good whatever we had, as at times we were not certain. We did know the hot pancakes served at 5pm though and always had them, scumptious. The room we had was pleasant and always spotless with towels and sheets changed daily even though we thought that a bit to much. The hotel itself is large with lots to explore and be nosey about with exellent pools and beach, we were swimming in the sea in November with no problem. The hotel at this time of the year is very quiet and this creates a lack of atmosphere but the staff are so attentive in all areas of the hotel trying to ensure all your needs are catered for. We do suggest that you have a room with a sea view, do try the theme food evenings and even the body massarge as a first was an experiance. We did no Trips as we only wanted to relax, this we did but we had some nice walks along the beach both ways even though the right turn is more interesting and you have the port to visit at the end of your walk, we never got bored visiting there as it was always different. We will visit again at a different time of the year as even us found it all a little to quiet but a big thank you to all the staff for the excellent running of their hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view, try the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Palm Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.