We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Palace

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique El Kantaoui | Hamman Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Madrid
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been in several hotels in the Sousse/Monastir area during the winter and this is probably the one with the best price/quality ratio. Of course it is not a 5 stars european hotel (4 stars at best), but it is quiet, the food is nice, there is a good indoor swimming pool and cleaning is adequate (Tunisian standard, nonetheless). It is just 30 minutes from the Monastir airport (30 dirhams, just take a taxi at the main gate of the hotel), but 2 hours from Tunis airport by taxi (more than 100 dirhams).

Room Tip: If you do not like the room, just ask for a new one (in Tunisia a good tip helps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    233
    139
    74
    77
See reviews for
162
286
28
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winslow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We always go to this hotel in October half term, but Thomas Cook have taken it from their Winter Brochure. We went on the Wednesday before half term. Went from East Midlands, nice airport, everthing on time! Arrived to sunshine.
We were given room 266 with a sea view, but it had a large pine tree in front of the balcony so we were put in room 417. Nice room, refurbished. Comfortable beds, nice and clean. Towels changed everyday. Sheets changed 3 times in a 7 night stay.
Staff were polite as normal and all very friendly. We have made lots of friends in our 16 consecutive year stays.
The hotel was quite empty, around a quarter full, but that was lovely. Outside pool was very cold as usual, but indoor pool was warm. Nice walk down to the beach through a covered way.
All areas of the hotel are clean. Beach is a safe area with lovely white sand.
Food is good, plenty of choice and all was hot. Trying to book for next October half term, but am struggling.

Room Tip: If you want a better sea view, ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food was very good lovely helpfull people go all the way to help you have a good holiday.A very good priced holiday.we got to know all the staff very well. the maids kept the rooms very clean always clean towels some times twice a day. weather in sept was a little to hot for my husband but always shade to sit in.no mosquitos at that time as it was to dry for them.we have always got the room we wanted as they like to oblige in any way.

Room Tip: best rooms over the indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited the hotel in half term, it was quite quiet, around a quarter full maybe. Sure this isn't UK five star but if you expect that for a few hundred quid you're deluded. The place is clean, staff are fine, some really good and all are polite. Was visiting with two sons, 15 and 23 and the unlimited pizza during the afternoon went down well, as did the evening unlimited gin with the elder son. Food is fine, it is mass tourist food but a good choice of styles, salads and puddings. The a la carte restaurant was operating only three times a week when we were here and was a fixed menu, but included in the all inclusive package. The outsideool was cold, but the indoor one better and the sea a short walk through the grounds.

Might be a different proposition in the summer when full but fine for a short break now.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of the best in the El Mouradi chain. It's got a very big pool in the center of the facility in the style of club Med or the Djerba resort clubs with a serious pool bar service and kid's club. It's ornate style architecture with winding staircases and marble columns - pretty impressive - but since it's not new, the hallway carpeting is a bit frayed in places. And unlike the other Mouradis, this had modern tech - there was a digital safe in the room, and they used key cards instead of the traditional door keys. But - like the entire Mouradi chain, they charged for wifi - totally incomprehensible given the huge number of foreign hotel guests. And they still didn't have in-room coffee. And the room numbering is still confusing, like other Mouradis - in this case, rooms 3XX and 9XX were on the same floor!

Like all Mouradis, they did free breakfast and dinner buffets. We loved that the hotel insisted on formal wear for dinners. There was great food variety for both meals and they introduced some new dishes each night. They also had tennis courts, bocce ball lawns, kiddie playground.

Our major beef was the service. For a major resort town with 32 hotels, it was difficult to understand how the hotel could have spotty housekeeping. For two successive days, housekeeping wouldn't leave the proper toiletries, which necessitated us having to call for "special delivery". We asked if they could open a bottle of wine the following day and the housekeeping person turned up the next hour.

But the major plus is the access to the beach. Mouradi had built a covered walkway all the way to their beachfront - nice. And lots of watersport activities.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that had a direct view of the beach from the balcony. There's just one wing that p...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from my second visit this year and was not disappointed. I went with my friend and her 2 year old daughter and once again had a great holiday. The hotel definitely needs a facelift but what it lacks in modern facilities is made up for in the treatment from the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The beds and towels are changed daily and we had fruit, water and dressing gowns in our room on arrival.

Food can be a bit repetitive but there is always plenty of choice.

The pools and beach areas are also spotless and there are plenty of beds so no having to get up early to grab one.

I would recommend paying for a sea view as the rooms on this side of the hotel seem to be the best ones.

Will be going back May 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The El Mouradi Palace is a lovely hotel. We were full board for the first time and I was a little apprehesive about having my evening meal in the same place every night, well was I glad we did. The food was excellent plenty of it and much to choose from. Sometimes yes the same dishes appeared each night but in all fairness would you have spaghetti bolognaise, tuna, prawns, chicken, turkey all on the one plate for dinner!! Choose a meat/fish dish and add the veg and potatoes etc. The vegetarians were well catered for too. Deserts were yummy.
Pizza's in the restaurant near the beach are really lovely.
The staff were very helpful, right across the board. Tipping 1 dinar (50cent) gets you extra special attention and to be fair you dont need to tip each time. If I went back I would try to go all inclusive it just wasnt available when we booked it. We stayed a week and on a personal basis a week to 10 days would be a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Best idea was pay 10 dinar (about €5) and get a towel for the pool or the beach and the next day han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palace

Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui | Hamman Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Palace is located in the heart of the resort of Port El Kantaoui, alongside a superb beach and facing a 36-hole golf course while the town of Sousse is 10 kilometres away. Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport is 35 kilometers away, the resort of Yasmine Hammamet 70 kilometres away and Tunis-Carthage international airport 140 kilometres away. The hotel has 452 double rooms, 40 triple rooms, 8 quadruple rooms, 4 junior suites, 10 suites and 1 presidential suite. All rooms are air conditioned, have a terrace or balcony and full bathroom with separate toilet, direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, hair dryer, mini bar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your El Mouradi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palace Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Palace Port Kantaoui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.