We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect for large tourist hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Palace

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
El Mouradi Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique El Kantaoui | Hamman Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What you expect for large tourist hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited the hotel in half term, it was quite quiet, around a quarter full maybe. Sure this isn't UK five star but if you expect that for a few hundred quid you're deluded. The place is clean, staff are fine, some really good and all are polite. Was visiting with two sons, 15 and 23 and the unlimited pizza during the afternoon went down well, as did the evening unlimited gin with the elder son. Food is fine, it is mass tourist food but a good choice of styles, salads and puddings. The a la carte restaurant was operating only three times a week when we were here and was a fixed menu, but included in the all inclusive package. The outsideool was cold, but the indoor one better and the sea a short walk through the grounds.

Might be a different proposition in the summer when full but fine for a short break now.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    214
    125
    65
    70
See reviews for
137
258
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of the best in the El Mouradi chain. It's got a very big pool in the center of the facility in the style of club Med or the Djerba resort clubs with a serious pool bar service and kid's club. It's ornate style architecture with winding staircases and marble columns - pretty impressive - but since it's not new, the hallway carpeting is a bit frayed in places. And unlike the other Mouradis, this had modern tech - there was a digital safe in the room, and they used key cards instead of the traditional door keys. But - like the entire Mouradi chain, they charged for wifi - totally incomprehensible given the huge number of foreign hotel guests. And they still didn't have in-room coffee. And the room numbering is still confusing, like other Mouradis - in this case, rooms 3XX and 9XX were on the same floor!

Like all Mouradis, they did free breakfast and dinner buffets. We loved that the hotel insisted on formal wear for dinners. There was great food variety for both meals and they introduced some new dishes each night. They also had tennis courts, bocce ball lawns, kiddie playground.

Our major beef was the service. For a major resort town with 32 hotels, it was difficult to understand how the hotel could have spotty housekeeping. For two successive days, housekeeping wouldn't leave the proper toiletries, which necessitated us having to call for "special delivery". We asked if they could open a bottle of wine the following day and the housekeeping person turned up the next hour.

But the major plus is the access to the beach. Mouradi had built a covered walkway all the way to their beachfront - nice. And lots of watersport activities.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that had a direct view of the beach from the balcony. There's just one wing that p...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from my second visit this year and was not disappointed. I went with my friend and her 2 year old daughter and once again had a great holiday. The hotel definitely needs a facelift but what it lacks in modern facilities is made up for in the treatment from the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The beds and towels are changed daily and we had fruit, water and dressing gowns in our room on arrival.

Food can be a bit repetitive but there is always plenty of choice.

The pools and beach areas are also spotless and there are plenty of beds so no having to get up early to grab one.

I would recommend paying for a sea view as the rooms on this side of the hotel seem to be the best ones.

Will be going back May 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The El Mouradi Palace is a lovely hotel. We were full board for the first time and I was a little apprehesive about having my evening meal in the same place every night, well was I glad we did. The food was excellent plenty of it and much to choose from. Sometimes yes the same dishes appeared each night but in all fairness would you have spaghetti bolognaise, tuna, prawns, chicken, turkey all on the one plate for dinner!! Choose a meat/fish dish and add the veg and potatoes etc. The vegetarians were well catered for too. Deserts were yummy.
Pizza's in the restaurant near the beach are really lovely.
The staff were very helpful, right across the board. Tipping 1 dinar (50cent) gets you extra special attention and to be fair you dont need to tip each time. If I went back I would try to go all inclusive it just wasnt available when we booked it. We stayed a week and on a personal basis a week to 10 days would be a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Best idea was pay 10 dinar (about €5) and get a towel for the pool or the beach and the next day han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We moved to this hotel after requesting a move from a 'hotel from hell' down the road. (Soviva Resort.) I wouldn't call it a 5* as it is a little dated, but the staff were polite & treated you with respect. They appreciate it when you talk to them in their language, French, and laughed with you if you got it a little wrong!
No complaints about the room - clean, good air con & even got a bowl of fruit! The maid always arranged somethng on the bed to make it look nice. The restaurant was very good - waiters greeted you & showed you to a table, and got you a drink straight away. (Fantastic after the last hotel!) The pool was nearly empty most of the time, and getting a sunbed & mattress was easy! Towels are available for the pool but you have to pay a deposit, which is refundable. You can get fresh ones every morning. The beach was lovely, and made a change from the pool. I thought it was quite entertaining watching the vendors walking up & down the beach with fresh fruit, nuts, pretty wraps & jewellery. They weren't pushy at all, just friendly, and I even had a cameleon put on my shoulder at one point! The sea was lovely & warm & clear. - much warmer than the pool most days!
The piano bar seemed to be the place for smokers to go - but it was very smelly, so we didn't bother with that one. It seemed to be a bit of a waste really. The other bar had very friendly bar staff, and if you sit at the bar & chat to them you get excellent service!
There were times late afternoon when we fancied a snack but there didn't seem to be anything available. Dinner started at 6pm, but we preferred to eat a little later. The drinks were good, and diet coke was available in this hotel, which made a change from the other cold fizzy drinks, as they seem to be a little sweeter than normal. The entertainment wasn't brilliant, but I think most of the hotels are the same there. We went to the disco one night, and there were 4 people in it!
We did the paragliding on the beach, which was excellent! For both of us together it was 45 dinar, which is about £22, and they also take loads of photos of you & put them on a CD for 15 dinar! My partner also did water skiing for 25 dinar (£12) and they even let me sit in the boat for no extra charge!
Its quite cheap to get a taxi to the port, but ladies beware - the streets are cobbled, which is a nightmare if you wear high heels!
It was hard to get hold of the Thomas Cook rep, plus no info left saying when she would be in. When we finally did see her my partner said ' its our last day tomorrow, what can you tell us about the hotel?' She didn't understand the sarcasm, but told us we were entitled to a free back massage, which we weren't able to book as they didn't have time to fit us in. Also, we were entitled to a free half hour every day in the gym, but we didn't know about that either.
All in all, a nice break.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent ,england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have been to tunisia on more than one occassion , and always have a lovely holiday.
This hotel is no exception, clean and beautiful hotel, staff as always with the tunisians are fantastic, food very good, rooms lovely and clean , maid service 10/10.
air con through out , pools good, beach good, restaurants very good.
Not much more to say really but a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgrade , serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

it depends what do you like, or what do you expect. I was there 15 days, UAI, just arrived one week ago.. :))
Sea...ok, clean, and warm..beach...ok, but could be better...hotel was built 1973, so dont expect luxury...food..ok, you can't stay hungry, you have big choice...service...VERY BAD...they all FIRST want to get tip, after they got tip, they will do....something??!!...they don't clean tables on hotel terace, they dont clean ashtrays
chambermaids cleans toilletes with bare hands (no gloves)!!!!..after that, maybe she is touching my bed, pillow..???!!..arround hotel...horses...with...carriage.. everywhere..smells..on....you know what... on.... 43 degree C !!!!!...but lucky i had very good company...so we made lough of everything bad we noticed....tunisia...???..again??!! thank you, no more!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Mouradi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palace

Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palace Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Palace Hotel
El Mouradi Palace Port Kantaoui
Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui | Hamman Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Palace is located in the heart of the resort of Port El Kantaoui, alongside a superb beach and facing a 36-hole golf course while the town of Sousse is 10 kilometres away. Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport is 35 kilometers away, the resort of Yasmine Hammamet 70 kilometres away and Tunis-Carthage international airport 140 kilometres away. The hotel has 452 double rooms, 40 triple rooms, 8 quadruple rooms, 4 junior suites, 10 suites and 1 presidential suite. All rooms are air conditioned, have a terrace or balcony and full bathroom with separate toilet, direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, hair dryer, mini bar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your El Mouradi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.