We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere Near a four star More like a two star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kuriat Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kuriat Palace to your Saves list
Kuriat Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuriat Palace, Monastir 5000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Monastir
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nowhere Near a four star More like a two star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

On arrival at Kuriat Palace we were given a twin room as i forgot to book a room with a double bed. I asked to change rooms but as it was late i was told that tommorow we could change. The Receptionist showed us to our room. I was reasonably happy with the room apart from the shower holder being broken. In The morning i asked to change rooms and we were given another room straight away. We were given a family room at no extra cost and believe me it was Huge and we were very happy with the room.

The bed was huge..we had sofas...a dining table.a balcony..although t.v was tiny.

I have no complaints with the room it was cleaned everyday although they seem to change the towels late in the afternoon and not when the room is cleaned. The air con worked well and there was an empty fridge. No tea making facilities but we were aware of this and brought our own travel kettle and cups. The view was ok. Could have been much better if the gardens were better looking.

The major problem with the hotel is the food! the same thing everyday and no flavour and ingredients were not of good qaulity. We spoke to many guest and made friends and i would say 90% agreed with the food problem. The queues for eggs or omlettes were not at all bad however the omlettes were a joke....just plain even if u ask for something to be added they look at you like your mad..waiter service is hit and miss...sometimes u may get the napkin sometimes you may have a table cover and sometimes you may even get a clean table its kinda like that. The waiters rarely ask if your enjoying your meal im sure they know its because your not enjoying. on the other hand the People complaining about the waiters english levels make me laugh i mean the country is arabic and speaks french....do ou expect a tunisian person to compain that we dont speak arabic or french...dont be so arrogant....

We also found the lighting in the hotel poor they did not switch on the ceiling lights and this made for a dim light. Another major thing was the swimming pools. Outdoor pool - Spacious but very cold.....Indoor Pool - advertised as heated and i can assure you it was freezing cold.....Jacuzzi - first time was fine second and third time.....my eyes were on fire as i was not the only one to realise the bleach was way too much u could smell it and it burned ur eyes...it has also whitened my shorts! The Spa ....Not bad....not good but price is reasonable....we had the full service and my wife is a beautician but even i could tell these people are not the best trained in the world. Even so i recommend the seaweed and Hammam but dont bother with anything else. I also got my haircut in the hotel...WOOPS...big mistake.

The Hotel also needs renovation as most people have said it is outdated and i dont know if its the solution they use to clean but it kinda smells.

The staff themselves are absolutely fine...helpful and friendly

the tunisian people are crazy and will try all sorts of tricks to get your money....some people find this very annoying....but not me. The world would be a boring place if we were all alike...you need to be firm and have your wits about you but also enjoy the experience.

The beach is just beautiful...im half mauritian...ive lived in mauritius for 3 years and the sand on the beach at monastir was incredibly soft and pure. The water was very clear too however i found it a little bit cold but im used to the warmer waters of mauritius.

We did not pay for sunbeds or matresses...we went parasailing which was nice and wasnt to expensive.

The activities and evening entertainment was very good.

We also tried the chica but the lights kept going out ...some sort of electrical problem.

Dont get me wrong i loved Tunisia...Liked the poeple....Loved My hotel room itself.

But the food was sooooo bad its incredible. I can live with the out of date decor and the hit and miss waiter service but the food was way below what you expect from a 4 star.

Buy your spirits duty free if you like a drink as 2 red label whisky costs £7
Beer is not so expensive and nice too around £1.40

We stayed at Kuriat palace for 7 days .....ate twice next door...incredible food and hotel...but expensive at £35 for two plus drinks

We spent one night in another hotel.

We ate dinner twice at the Kuriat both times was horrible.
And had around 4 Breakfasts at the Kuriat...again horrible.

My advice is Go to a newly built hotel dont go here it has a bad reputation for food and its very true......i read the reviews and it was worse than i had anticipated.

Do a desert Safari it was amazing but tiring.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    38
    22
    61
See reviews for
56
66
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Having read some of the reviews before going on my trip I was a little apprehensive, however it really wasn't that bad. Decor is a bit outdated, we had a garden view room. The room was quite large n clean not quite up to four star standards, no irons or hairdryers and poor lighting, but the a.c works well in the rooms. It is very close to the airport, walking distance and the taxi drivers will rip u off from the airport. Don't be afraid to haggle with the taxi drivers from the hotel to Monastir we paid about 6-8 dinar and to Sousse about 8-10 dinar, but expect to pay up to 5dinar extra at night. The food at the hotel isn't brilliant but for 12dinar per person for the buffet at dinner its not too bad. The food at the bar by the beach is a bit better. There is a variety of entertainment throughout the day and the staff were really friendly and try to involve everyone and considering the hours they work it was amazing to see them remain so enthusiastic the whole week. There are also reps at the hotel that sell activities like quad biking, again don't be afraid to haggle with them, as we managed to knock up to 10-20dinars off the price. The pools were clean, but it was a bit hard to get sun loungers, however we didn't have to pay for the mattresses etc as mentioned in previous reviews, so maybe question them about that. The shopping in Monastir and Sousse was an interesting experience, you will get hassled a lot! Lots of ceramic items and an immense amount of fake stuff! Monastir was cheaper and more friendly. The restaurants are better in the marina's than the medina's - couscous was really nice - pizza is awful! Really would not reccomend the henna tattoo's at all, the women are rude and demand a ridiculous amount of money, for henna that made my skin itchy! Overall, we had a great relaxing holiday with a range of activities but not so much sightseeing and a week was about the right amount of time to spend there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Hotel is OK. Comfortable and clean.Lots of pink marble and nice receptoin area. It just seems to be struggling to keep up with the times. It also seemed so qiuet during peak season. I went with my partner and three teenage kids form the UK. The main problem are the Gadaffi like reception staff. There was a trio of them on rotation the week we stayed there. First I thought they were unhelpful and uncommunicative cos they couldnt speak english but after a week we came to the conclusion that they were just rude and seemed to look down there noses at all british travellers. They did not give any advice - we had to figure everything ourselves.Difficult as we couldnt find any other british to compare notes with. Most of the reviewers have been very accurate about food and taxis so heed their advice.
Lovely,lovely beach - nice pools too.Shops need a taxi ride and haggling every day does get you down so you need to create your own entertainment if you stay at the hotel for a day or more and not go out. So please take a cd player and your own music, and your own kettle/mug and adaptor plug (the tea is awful and costly and served in very small cups.) Satellite channels are all german,french and tunisian. You have to pay for wireless connection -1/2 hour costs the eqivalent of £ 2.50 - you can get a 10 hr pass though which we found out on the last day via another kid. If you dont take your laptop -you have to share 1 computer with all the other guests which you have to pay for.

Go to Monastir centre the second day of your visit -taxis right outside hotel gates - and go to Yasmina Shopping Centre -there is a supermarket there and stock up on crisps,biscuits and drinks as you have to pay for these at the hotel and it is more expensive at there. There are some fixed price shops here if you dont like haggling.
.
If you have teenagers go to nearby Port Al Kantonia.. there is a zoo,water park and themepark. Nice marina with boat rides - about 45 min drive away via Sousse. Easy to get round foot and nice places to eat. Lively at night till midnight - easy to get a taxi back to Kurait Palace in Monastir. More than 4 passengers need two taxis so bear that in mind when budgeting and it gets more expensive after 7pm.

Maids were lovely - there is a little old women maid there if you see her leave some money for a tip cos she is the only one who welcomed us and said BonVoyage at the end...the reception staff did not even bat an eyelid when we left. No goodbye - we even had to ask them about checking out - they didnt seem bothered. We never saw them smile once.. Sack them and promote the maid!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was my 1st trip to Tunisia, and was really looking forward to it. Hoping to have a lovely time from start to end...this was however, not the case!

Thankfully told by a Thomson rep that the hotel was actually across the road from the airport and was within walking distance! And to pay no more than 7dinar for a taxi. But we were told by drivers it would cost 20dinar for a journey which was less than 400 meters way!
Upon arrival at the hotel, initial room was twin bed and overlooking a tin roof when we had paid for a double with a sea view. Complained, and staff at reception were useful enough to give us a room which actually met those requirements...until further inspection the next day!

On the 1st morning, we went to breakfast to find limited food to eat, much of it had flies on it and did not look up to a good standard, juice offered was horrible also. Later that day we both had diarrhea and were ill from breakfast and decided not to eat there anymore!
We ventured out to look for other places but found Monastir town was very built up and NOT a tourist area, we furthered to Sousse and this also was NOT - except a few shops and markets.

After a fortunate spot, we got a train car from Sousse to Port El Kantoui which was lovely! Plenty of places to eat, lots of english tourists, shops and a beautiful beach and all within walking distance.
Annoyingly Kuriat palace was at least 45mins to an hour away in a taxi and costs 20 dinar, so we would have found it hard to travel there every day for food!!

After returning to the hotel that evening, we realised the room had dead mosquitoes which had clearly been there before we were given the room. There was an ants nest, mould on the shower curtains, air conditioning which did not work for the whole night before and lots of noise from airplanes flying over! A rather sleepless night for two days at this hotel.

We ended up switching to Houria Palace in Port El Kantoui, and never had a problem! We finally enjoyed our holiday after 2 days of stress.

Overall, the hotel was not a 4*, i would say it was a 2* or 3* at a push! Food terrible, room unlivable, location was terrible, nowhere to eat (unless you stay in hotel or travel to Port El Kantoui) and airport across the road was very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

just returned from kuriat palace we were the only english couple there and not very good english spoken there. lovley beach lots of jelly fish in sea was very hot .no evening entertainment apart from kids disco had to get cabs everywhere had great time but wouldnt recomend it to anyone .hotel was very clean just bit dated staff were nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Very quiet here, off season. Maybe 40 of us in a big hotel. Only 2 of the 4 restaurants open, no activities being organised but both pools open. But nice staff, a fine room that is a little tired, and just 190 pounds for a package from Gatwick, half board.

Advice - the garden side rooms get the sun and so are warmer but no sea view. Off season there are few choices for eating, so go half board which costs very little extra and the dinner buffer is quite OK and always had lots of choice. The airport and the railway (metro) station are both just a walk away. Trains to Monastir, Sousse and Mahdia are strangel irregular but always less than a hour apart.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Firstly, as another traveller has already mentioned, the trick with this place is to go with low expectations. After booking, I looked at the reviews and wondered if I'd made a huge mistake and was very apprehensive about the whole thing.

After a bit of a kerfuffle getting a cab at the airport (Fists were thrown between two drivers!) we arrived.
I must warn you, the hotel's decor is very dated (It reminded me quite a lot of the hotel in the film "The Shining" lol) and the entire hotel is very poorly air-conditioned. Hopefully at some point you'll acclimatise.
The reception staff don't really speak any English, and be sure to change up your cash at the airport if you only have a card because they won't take card payments, but werre otherwise as helpful as can be expected.

We were very lucky with our room - unlike a lot of the rooms we had a beautiful view of the beach. The room was large and tidy, as was the bathroom. Yes it was a bit scuffed round the edges, but nothing that's gonna ruin your holiday. (Personally I cannot abide these people who go round taking photos of chipped tiles and unpolished doorknobs abd act as if the world has cone to an end. Get a life!)
The were a few instances of cockroaches in the bathroom, but hey! A holiday's not a holiday without a few creepy crawlies.
Maids came every day and they were very pleasant and polite. Some days they even arranged my PJs in cute shapes, bless 'em.

The pool is fine, but tends to overtaken by noisy kids and boisterous locals who come up off the beach. The German guests also live up to their stereotypes beautifully by stealing all the sunbeds at 5am. Personally I prefered the beach.

The food was your average sort of fare. Rice, meats in sauce, veggies of some description and some fake chocolate cake for pud. It's fine, but if you're half-board or all inclusive you will probably become bored of it.

The location is fine if you like a bit of seclusion but you will not be within walking distance of any bars, resaurants or shops (excluding the airport). However the taxis are cheap and both Monastir and Sousse are a short cab ride.
Be prepared to be pestered when you're out shopping. At times it was somewhat intrusive but there are shops with fixed prices where you can shop in relative peace.

If you are inclined to do any of the hotel offered excursions I thoroughly recommend the quadbiking. For £20 you get an hour and a half of whizzing around til your heart's content - lots of fun.
On the other hand do not do the horse-riding. Two hours in the scorching heat doing no faster than a walk with no water supplied. My boyfriend had to stock half way through and get driven back to the ranch.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay. But in retrospect I would have gone for 1 week not 2!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuriat Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuriat Palace

Address: Kuriat Palace, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#17 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuriat Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kuriat Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuriat Palace Monastir
Kuriat Palace Hotel Monastir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuriat Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.