We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW LOW CAN YOU GO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Helya Beach & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Helya Beach & SPA to your Saves list
Helya Beach & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 05000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Monastir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HOW LOW CAN YOU GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

i never expected much from this hotel. it was reasonably priced and was in a good location. the bare minimum in any hotel irrespective of rating is courteous staff who fulfill reasonable expectations such as providing a bed in a room paid and occupied for by multiple occupants , having enough towels to go round , having enough staff , having a standard of hygiene that at least makes an attempt to clean the environment guests occupy.
unfortunately none of these were met or even attempted .
if your bathroom sink is blocked for 2 days and your room smells and you finally give an ultimatum of demanding a new room you might get some help.
do not expect there to be enough staff to cover cleaning tables between meals , definitely no supervision of the pools from any lifeguards , no safes in the room , no internet except at reception,
expect someone to finally provide a bed to sleep in at 3 in the morning
expect the caliber of guest you are staying with to pounce on food service as if the apocalypse is coming
do not expect enough plates and cutlery, linen to cover the number of guests at the hotel, so bring your own or get in early and hide your towels .
please i beg you do not take your children here unless you are trying to get rid of them , in which case - job done
ps - the gym consists of 1 machine which is broken
if you want to relax - not the place for you .

Room Tip: im starting to believe the strapping of Semtex to the body and running into buildings idea may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    52
    54
    88
See reviews for
115
87
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After reading the reviews for this hotel I didnt really have high expectations, however this hotel more than exceeded the expectations I had The location of the Hotel is Ok however apart from the airport over the road there is nothing else much around it. Sousse is about 20 mins in a cab and Monastir about 10 mins.

The rooms were spacious enough for 3 women and our bag, The Bathroom could have fitted a football team in, it was huge and quite well presented, overall the rooms were decent enough however the corridors to the rooms could do with an update.

Being as fussy as I am I can honestly say the food was ok.. it wasnt quite what I expected, however I didnt starve and the was always something I could eat The restaurant staff were amazing, and very attentive,

The Animation Team worked their socks of from early in the morning until late at night, We had such a laugh with them. They were always game for a laugh

The Beach and the pool areas were fab, good quality sand and clean water. well kept

Although the Spa area was quite small and doesn't look much the range of services they provide is quite comprehensive.. Has one of the best treatments ever there. We tried the Voyage package it works out aprox £50 for 5 treatments. I came out of the spa and slept for hours .. Well worth the money

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the airport, they appear much cooler and also because the airport is not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have recently spent a week at Helya, and I had a lovely stay. They told me the country was unsettled, but I haven't noticed a thing and had a good break in Tunisia. The hotel is clean and the food is very decent. The breakfast has a lot to offer, so I wasn't hungry for a few hours after that. The beach was so calm, it was very peaceful. The pool is large. My room was spacious. Overall, It has a god quality price, a would say.

Room Tip: The front side has train noise at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've just returned home from our second trip to the fabulous Tunisia !
Saying shortly:
- This hotel is excellent in such things as beach (marvelous sand and entranse to the sea) sea isn't deep near the shore (real depth begins after nearly 50 meters). After seeing a lot of beaches in the Skanes region, Monastir and Sousse I can say that this hotel has not the best, but one of the best beaches. Another great thing is quantity of tourists, beach was half empty (in lunch time there were nearly 4-6 persons on the whole beach.
- The food in Helya hotel was good, not very big variety but menu changed every day, in general food was really tasty.
- About accomodation, we had the room that faced airport on the 2nd floor. Room was great, some noise can appear only in day time from the Metro-trains whistling, and not big amount of arriving and departuring planes.
- Animation and disco also were fine.
- Well in general this 4-star hotel is good in price-performance ratio

Best wishes, if you have additional questions, please ask any, I'll be glad to answer them.

Room Tip: Ask at the reception nont to have a room on the side of Bella Vista hotel on the left, because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Food was healthy and tasty, room was big and clean, beach was great, 5 km. for walking and good swimming too, beachbar good and pizzabar too, it is a pity that the trains are wishtling every 10 minutes , so ask a room at the backside , not frontside.

Room Tip: The rooms at the frontside have a lot of noise from the trains that keep on going 24 hours and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Worst holiday I have ever had the misfortune of being on, I would rather have stayed in my own flat for a week. Disgusting food, raw "chicken" which I can guarantee was not chicken. Nothing is inclusive, it's an effort for them to even give you half a plastic cup of tap water through the day. We had to pay for almost every drink and also pay to leave the hotel, get a taxi into town (even the taxi driver said to us "your hotel is [--], no?" to eat edible food, and also pay for it - so much for an all inclusive holiday, all it included was the worst experience ever!!! Rude staff, inedible 'food', disgusting drinks, toilets overflowing, broken glass everywhere. Do not stay at this 'hotel' ever!!!!!!!!!! False advertising it has any stars, I have stayed in youth hostels that were a lot nicer than this hotel, laughable. I am at a loss how anyone could ever rate this 'hotel' more than terrible, totally confused how anyone could enjoy a stay there - we paid to move to a nicer hotel thank God after 4 days of hell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

So, first of all the whole holiday was a big disappointment for us. The Hotel was a really nice hotel in the past but not anymore.

Location: The location was fantastic; right on the beach, two minutes from the airport (in fact we walked to the airport easily). However being so close to the airport if you have a 'garden view' this means you are facing the airport.

Accommodation: The rooms are big with decent beds but I would only class this hotel as a 3* on the accommodation. The rooms need reconstruction. The tiles in the bathroom and toilets were broken; some tiles on the floor have been loosed and broken. The drawers were jammed and the lights were working on some really strange manner. The rooms were in dire need for refurb.

Food: Food in the main restaurant was somehow acceptable. It was all the time the same, but you could find always something to eat. The problem was the cleanliness (or better to say the dirt everywhere)…dirty tablecloths, silverware, plates. Flies everywhere were really annoying. Food was sometimes undercooked (especially the grilled food). A final warning for those going all inclusive with kids - there is no ice-cream or French-fries for them, which is the first time I have ever gone AI and not had them. When speaking about the snacks during the day, it was a real disappointment … the hygiene was the main issue. The place where snacks were served was dirty, the cook preparing the pancakes was lazy and wore dirty clothes, and he was catching the pancakes with dirty hands. There was always a long queue there, because the only snacks served during the day were: pizza, pancake, and croissants (btw they were leftovers from breakfast).The personnel at the restaurant were rude and unfriendly.

Drinks: Drinks were served only at two places: the main lobby bar and the pool bar. There was all the time some issue with drinks. The AI included coffee, hot chocolate, soft drinks and local beer. All drinks were tapped from drinks machines. None of the drinks machines are self service. The machines were not working correctly most of the time. Once the machine was broken the soft drinks were poured from bottles (they were warm).They also ran out of beer several times. The AI also included some wine (red, white and rose) and you have been also eligible for one bottle of still water per room a day. For everything else you had to pay.

Beach/pools: The hotel has a very narrow beach with white sand. The water is shallow, so you must walk at least 50 metres into the sea if you want to swim. And there are motorboats, jet skis, bananas, etc..There are not enough sun loungers by the pools, and at the beach (and many were broken). They are all taken by 7.00am. No one in the hotel cares, as many times guests would sneakily give money to staff members to get sun loungers for them (if there were no vacant ones the staff simply took one that was occupied but no one was lying on them at that moment). There are 3 pools there and one pool for children. There are also toboggans but have been operating only twice a day for about one hour.

Traveling/trips: The trips organized by local agencies are very expensive. We traveled by our
own. There is a train stop about 150 meters from the hotel, trains come almost every half an hour, and they take you to the center of Monastir or Sousse very fast, and there you can see the old town, visit museums, go for shopping, pay for a pirate boat trip etc. The ticket for the train is ridiculously cheap (you do not have to bargain the price with taxi drivers and you will travel to Sousse for 0.8 dinar/person compared to taxi which won’t be less than 20 dinar/ride).

Final note: This should be a 4* hotel, but it is hardly a 3*. The hotel is in dire need of a total referb-paint/carpets/furniture etc. It also needs investments because everything is falling apart and breaks down regularly. The main issue is the hygiene and many amenities are not in use any more (like the beach bar, children playground, football and basketball field, entertainment area). One final warning: if you are ”lucky enough” to travel there when a bigger group of Tunesian citizens are accommodated there, you better run away from the hotel. They are rude, primitive and don’t know how to behave in a hotel like this. From the experience I can tell that your holiday can quickly turn into a nightmare. If possible than choose a time during the Ramadan, it will save you from many bad experiences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helya Beach & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helya Beach & SPA

Address: Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 05000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helya Beach & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Helya Beach & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Helya Beach Monastir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helya Beach & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.