We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont be turned off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Beach to your Saves list
Sahara Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skanes, Monastir 5029, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Monastir
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“dont be turned off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went there two years ago for two weeks, like most reviews say, hotel needed some TLC but overall, very good value, lots of choice to eat, good pools and evening shows, plenty of bars to vary your evenings and a very good beach.

There is not much to do outside the hotel 9apart from the go karts they were great) unless you go on a trip, African Adventure is a must, Port El Kantaoui is a great night out, a lovely harbour and restaurants and there a good size cheap fun fair, but you’re all inclusive, the hotel is massive with lots to do, so do a few reps trips out, and enjoy the hotels facilities you’ve paid for them

Remember you get what you pay for, ignore those people who wanted a 5* Mexico resort hotel, that pay £700 a week for, then give a bad review of this very good hotel they paid £300 a week for..

Im going for a week in June 20212 I will let you all know if it changed,

Room Tip: when you arrive and are getting booked in ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    1,271
    631
    288
    284
See reviews for
1,690
765
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just got back from a holiday in the last week in March. First things first, be prepared for the airport on arrival. we landed along with 2 other flights and the airport simply was not prepared! Over 600 passengers and only 2 customs officers working! Absolute chaos! Took nearly 2hrs to get through.
The hotel is quite a distance from the airport and is the last one the coach stops at, took about an hour and a half to get there (the Thomas Cook rep got off half way along and left the Tunisian driver to shout out the names of the hotel as he got there).
On arrival at the hotel we were ushered into one of the bars to fill out a form with all our details on and then they took our passports-you can have them back after an hour.

We were taken to our room next, quite basic and a bit tatty around the edges. There was only one plug socket in the room and it is about six foot high up the wall, i suggest taking an extension lead (at least 2 metres) so you can plug in all your chargers etc. The bed was a good size (double) and very comfortable, there was plenty of room to put your clothes away. the room/bathroom is cleaned everyday and sheets were changed. Tip-they will only give you toilet paper if you have none....so we started hiding what we had so they would leave some more! The water pressure is very good..HOWEVER....because each block has 350 rooms the water goes from red hot to freezing cold very quickly, we ended up having showers mid afternoon to avoid this! The rooms DO NOT HAVE TV's!!

Although the hotel is all inclusive YOU WILL NEED LOCAL CURRENCY FOR TIPS! When you go to the pool the sunbeds are free, however if you want a matress/cushion when the man gets them for you he will expect a tip. We gave one dinar per matress and he seemed happy with that (at time of holiday 1 dinar=40p). The same goes at the bar, if you go and ask for your own drinks they do not expect a tip (although a dinar every few visits will make sure you get served first when they are busy!). However if the waiters are giving you table service they will expect a tip-again a few dinar is normally ok. The bars are well stocked and the only brand I'd not heard of was for the Vodka (although the mixers are free, they do charge for Red Bull, about £2.50). BE WARNED AT MIDNIGHT ALL INCLUSIVE STOPS AND YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR DRINKS!!!!!!!!

The food on offer is a mixed bag, some days it was very good and lots of choice, other days it seemed they were just re-using the food from the sitting before. the waiters are very friendly and you are given the same table to use for your whole stay. The waiters will get you drinks etc but as i mentioned before a tip is expected. We told our waiter we would give him a tip at the end of the week and he was happy with that. DO NOT EXPECT TO GET AN ENGLISH BREAKFAST!! On offer at breakfast were croissants, toast and cereal etc. The hot food available included ommlettes, baked beans (Tunisain style!) and weirdly pasta!!

There is a pizza counter open in the restaurant during lunch and dinner, although the choice of toppings isn't great the pizzas themselves are very tasty!! The opening times of the restaurant change slightly each day so check the board as you are leaving.

The hotel complex is huge! there are 3 pools, a show lounge, 4 bars (2 not inclusive), a games room, spa, indoor pool, a beach bar, 3 restaurants, a nightclub (not inclusive and only open 11pm-1am) and several shops. There are also small stalls on the way to the main restaurant. The guys that run them will ask you to look at their goods and offer cheap prices as you walk past for the first day or so but they are very polite and once you say no thank you you will be left alone. The hotel has a small supermarket that sell cigarettes, chocolate, crisps and clothes etc. DO NOT BUY CIGARETTES ON THE PLANE OR IN DUTY FREE, the average cost of 20 in the supermarket is £1.75!!! The airline,duty free cannot compete with this!! And the more cigarettes you buy the cheaper they become. They accept most debit/credit cards in the supermarket and felt quite safe using them. There is a 24h money exchange next to reception along with safety deposit boxes (we felt completely safe leaving passports and wallets in our suitcase in the room). The wi-fi charge is outrageous!!! so unless you are desperate I suggest not using it!!

There are 3 good sized pools in the complex, the first one is aimed at kids. It has the Animation Team based there and gets them playing games and dancing etc. The second pool is aimed more for adults and people that just want to swim and relax. And the upper pool is very much just for relaxing. There are two outside pool bars (the upper one was closed while we were there as the hotel was not even at half capacity), they serve coffee's and alcohol untill early evening.

The Animation team are quite good if you are feeling active or have kids, we didn't and don't so once you've said no they leave you in peace. They put on a show each night in the show lounge, singing and dancing etc.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so don't expect to be able to walk into the local town!

All in all a very good holiday! Would recommend the hotel if you just want to relax on a budget, if you want lots of nighlife then i would suggest staying in Sousse.

PS Bora Bora does not open till peak season!

PPS You can hear Everything through the walls!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here February the hotel is tired in places but rooms although a little small with 3 children but exceptionally clean. The food was very good always a good choice and plenty of it. The best bit about this hotel is the beach it's spotlessly clean and safe. It was our first trip to Tunisia but we would go back. It is a big hotel 700 to 800 people but our children made lots of friends as did we. A really good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely holiday, food the best all inclusive I've ever had. Pool freezing but beautiful. Hotel is a bit tired in places and could benefit from a refurb, gardens lovely. Although the rooms were small, bathroom lovely and double bed! Very clean tho. Would definitely return massive negative was the beach....nothing open n filthy..buy early season so may not be a problem later in the year..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

stayed here for 1 week 18th march yes the hotel is dated in places ,bathrooms need some tlc; but our room was kept clean and tidy clean bedding and towles every day ;pools and gardens were brilliant and clean .food was good always found something to eat staff were very friendly and spoke good english and they were very helpful and they didnt always want a tip ; but when you find out how much they get paid for the work they do we didnt mind tipping for good service we met alot of people who return to this hotel year after year and yes we will be returning later this year there is so much to do gym, horse riding ,spa much more to mention ,the animation team work well and keep you entertained see you soon sahara beach hotel and staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Hotel is good for family and young people as well. A lot of things to do and especially the swimming pool is fantastic. The food is great and with multiple choices. The Staff is friendly and professional. The location is strategic. The beach is very clean and so nice. The hotel was booked with about 700 guests among a capacity of 3000 beds, majority were England and French. Some Tunisians were also there and are very friendly. Be generous with the staff, tipping is with no harm.

Room Tip: We advice to pay 20 TDN (10 euro) per night more onsite to upgrade for a larger and good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My friend and I got a fantastic deal on this hotel - £300 AI, and frankly for the money it was a brilliant trip.
We were two single girls wanting to just have a relaxing break in the sun without the typical chavvy Brits abroad crowd you get in Europe and travelling to Tunisia was definitely worth it.
We travelled to Enfidha and were pleasantly surprised at how modern the airport is. But, like many have said in their reviews, you do start panicking a bit when you are travelling to the hotels. There's no need though. Yes, there is rubbish shrewn on many roads but that's what happens when you don't have council tax paid bin men!

Anyway, the hotel overall is very nice. The only thing that lets it down is certain parts being a bit run down but they are continuously revamping small areas at a time and I think it will continue to improve. Like someone said on here, the hotel might be 3 star but the staff are so brilliant they make it 5 star. As young girls we didn't feel hassled once. The staff are obviously aware not to make guests feel uncomfortable. Tipping is usually one dinar which is around 42p and frankly knowing how much it means to these hard-working people made me very happy to offer tips. Some of the staff work 19 hour days for £60 per month and still 9.5 per cent of the staff were well-mannered, friendly, humorous and took pride in helping guests have a good holiday. So much a lot of lazy Brits could learn I tell you! The Animation team are excellent with the children and I would have no issues travelling here with kids. There are also a lot of Tunisian and French guests who use the hotel, so if you don't like that then don't go because we saw quite a few Scottish/English guests who seemed to have a problem with that!

Rooms are small, yes, but they are clean. Only major problem I had was the level of noise in the hotel at night. If you are a light sleeper like me - bring ear plugs!! **If you are travelling with kids ask for a room away from the stairs/lifts**

Another problem is that Thomas Cook told us porky pies about what would be open in March. No parasailing, no jet ski, no water park etc and only one snack bar. So do check with your agent and if they told you they are open then write a complaint letter.

Room Tip: You do not want to be near the lifts!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach

Address: Skanes, Monastir 5029, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse ( Skanes – Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq. m of gardens. A childreńs paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sahara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.