We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel we've ever stayed in! Don't do it!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Houda Golf and Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Houda Golf and Beach Club to your Saves list
Houda Golf and Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dkhila | BP 35 Zone Touristique Dkhila Skanes, Monastir 5035, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Monastir
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel we've ever stayed in! Don't do it!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was awful from the onset!
The bed are rock hard and I hardly slept the whole fortnight! Beds were only changed once in our 2 week stay. We could hear very loud and basey music all night until 4am, which further prohibited sleep.
The were ants everywhere, even in the beds.

Most of the sunbeds are broken.

The food hall is red hot and has no air conditioning on at all.
The food isnt bad, although I lived off chips and bread the whole time.

The bar is restricted to 3 drinks a time, not good when we are a family of 4!
It kept running out of vodka and diet coke. Also the queues were unbelievable, there was 2 bars but one of these closed around 10pm or earlier.

There is very little to do on an evening and the entertainment is repetative.

All in all I would suggest you steer clear of this hotel.
Our first visit to Tunisia and our last!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    704
    443
    292
    385
See reviews for
1,298
473
50
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times in 2012 and would certainly have no hesitation of booking again. The staff are all really helpful and friendly, reception can't do enough for you. The hotel is immaculate - they are always cleaning. There is also plenty choice for food - I am a fussy eater and always ate well. Ben the Guest Relations guy is really nice - even attended my wedding for a while which I thought was extremely nice! The beach is lovely and well kept as are all the grounds. The entertainment is also really good. There is really nothing bad I can say about the hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was here twice in 2010 July and september and came back twice in 2012 may and august and hoping to return back twice this year. I love this hotel, ive stayed at more beautiful hotels, more cleaner hotels but theres nothing like houda, the atmosphere at the houda and the entertainment and variety is amazing. Always something to do, never bored especially with the lively fun entertainers. Ive visited this hotel as a family holiday, as a girly holiday and as a couple holiday with my husband so it works for everyone. I no the hotel is supposed to have a refurbishment they have been working on so im really exited to go back and see that. If you look at my other reviews you can see how much i love this hotel and would always reccomend it for anyone. You get alot of mardy peope and alot of people expecting to much well im not being funny its a 3* hotel and a bloody good 3* at that so they cant be expecting 5* treatment u get what u pay for. Always there is a great variety of foods, drinks, activities, the rooms are basic but clean and like i said i think they are re decorating in them. The animation team always gets u up and making the most of your stay. You can read 100 reviews but i think its what u see with your own eyes so dont be put off. LOVE YOU HOUDA!!!!

Room Tip: If you email the hotel or find the facebook hotel page and email them there before u come ask them i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my first holiday abroad, the corridors were extremely noisy and often woke us up. The beach was poor, with dirty sea and virtually no room. The only activities possible on the beach were volleyball or paying extortionate amounts for activities provided by others. E.G paragliding and water skis. Our bathroom door didn't shut properly and one night we had a random bug that was crawling up my sisters leg and flying round the room. The pool was really good having 2 sections but the staff 'animation team' put on activities such as water polo and when i attempted to join in one of the pig headed idiots thought it would be a good idea to tip me up and throw me under the water numerous times. The nightclub was poor shutting as early as 2am in the morning. The food lacked thoroughly, I lived off pizza pasta and chips which i often found hairs in. The same food was being served daily and there was virtually no variety. The alcohol was fine, especially the cocktails which unfortunately aren't served all night. Even on the holiday the Tunisians are trying to flog you worthless crap for ridiculous prices (bracelets you can bend with your bare hands) they make you feel uncomfortable and uneasy. There is nothing directly close to the hotel we had to get a horse and cart to our destinations. All the day trips were enjoyable. We went onto the market for a day and i felt thoroughly unsafe, the men would drag you into there store, attempting to chat you up and feel you up. Asking for numbers, emails and Facebook. They would all be making comments as well. As we were in a group of 4 young girls this made me feel even worse.In order to get sunbeds for the whole family someone had to go down at as early as 6am in a morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stay here for 2 weeks for our first family hol with our 18month old,the slides were great fun, the pool entertainment was fun,the staff and evening entertainment was good the staff get you involded,the food was ok same old every day,breakfast wasnt to good ( hotpot and the evening before dinner normally served) they had spa treatment which was nice and good prices,you step out onto the beach which was good, the rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaner toke a shine to our son so she always made his cot look pretty with flowers and very polite to us,they had cocktails everynite but only till 9 (prob cause there very popluar and could only get one per person)the alcohol was not very good if you like beer yr'll be ok.you get to din in the tunsisan restaurant and another restaurtant and the food very lovely but you only get one visit per week.the seating arrangement for main restartant was big confusing as no one explained it to u when you check in,you have two sitting 6:30 till 7:30 or 7:30 till 8:30 and have to eat at the same table everyday at your time.i personnaly wouldnt go back to tunisia but thats nothering to do with hotel,you do get hassled by taxis and should haggle the price. nothering really around the hotel only one bar full pf tunisian men which kept staring at the ladies and making comments when my partner left so felt very uncomfortable.i would recommend not booking a tranfere and getting a taxi quite cheap,we spent 1 hour and half on the coach we were one of the last stops.tunisia is not as beautiful as i thought and pretty run down .all in all it was a good hoilday and offer lots of day trips

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we went here in august 2012 and had an amazing holiday . weather was hot hot hot !!!!!! food was great with our amazing waiter AZOUZ who looked after us and gave us advice where to visit and had football banter with my boys also decorated our table with flowers for my birthday !!!!!!!!!!! lifeguards by the slide pool was good with the kids even got in the water with em !!!!! beach sports cheap and the guys good with the kids all in all one of our best holidays to date .................we didnt really meet the entertainment team as prefer to keep my boys close by !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

it was fab brill great well everything and u get the best things if u don't believe me read the other revews but the entertament was well where can I start it was so great I couldn't of asked for a better holiday but just to say some people love the holiday then other people are just fussy lol thanks for reading

Room Tip: well my tip is to have a good time be polite and enjoy ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Houda Golf and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houda Golf and Beach Club

Address: Dkhila | BP 35 Zone Touristique Dkhila Skanes, Monastir 5035, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#5 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Houda Golf and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Houda Golf and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houda Golf And Beach Club Hotel Monastir
Houda Hotel And Beach
Houda Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houda Golf and Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.