We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better before” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laico Djerba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Laico Djerba Hotel to your Saves list
Laico Djerba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 125, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
Viry, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It was better before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

every holidays in december or Chritmas or happy new year we went there for 7 years. But this year we feel a sad atmosfere. There are no animation or quiet nothing and we are very far away from what we knew the years before. But the sun is still there. Food is good. Rooms are clean but we go there to enjoy and dance and go late to bed. It s quiet. This year I am not sure we come again
At the entrance very far away from the decoration we knew before quite nothing Disappointed
Great animation for kids still there !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    452
    187
    115
    51
See reviews for
490
316
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tielt, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are build in Menzeltypes, something special, but it contains all the comfort you need. With an professional animation team, there's always something special to do.
The food is great and there's a lot of choice. The staff was verry nice and friedly.

Room Tip: first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week in the Laico in Djerba! We usually travel around and this was our first experience with staying in one place for a whole week, and with the all inclusive formula. The hotel was good, friendly staff, clean, good food with a lot of healthy and vegetarian options. We rented a bike and we were able to see the djerban countryside and some of the sites. The only downside of the hotel was the entertainment team, which as very present, and noisy. But of course that cannot bother you if you go out during the day!
We rented our cycles about a kilometer down the coastal road in the direction of Aghir, we paid about 10td a day. The guy across the road from the Laico is unfriendly and a rip-off!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We found the staff speaking French (of course), German and reasonable English. The guests were also coming from all over Europe. In the restaurant was a variety of food served, both Tunisian and western style, lots of choice and of good quality. You can see the hotel is in use and is well maintained. Hygiene is kept on average. Rooms were cleaned every day and large enough, nicely situated in a garden. In our room was an air-conditioning system for both cold and warm air.
The beach was clean on parts, some parts were with algae. In winter not much activity on the beach. We used the mini golf, some parts were damaged but play was still fun for the kids. The hotel is located on a strip with many other hotels and not close to any village (when walking). Some tourist shops are along the street. Several men sold their tourist activities at the gate of the hotel (horse riding, quad tours, dromedaries rides, taxi rides), also the travel agencies have plenty activities on offer.
The indoor pool was open and of good quality with room for about 25 people (no kids facilities, minor hygiene in the changing room). Outdoor pool looked fantastic but the weather in January is too cold to enjoy it. Animation team is large and well willing to spend time with the kids and providing in a program of activities. The staff is kind to children.
Access with wheelchair and kids’ stroller is okay, but assistance is required as there are some ramps and paths with dips. Being dependent you need to ask for a ground floor room when making your reservation as there is no elevator to the rooms on 1st floor. Outside the hotel is difficult as the streets are sandy and not well maintained. Taxidrivers are well willing to assist.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

To be honest i didn,t know what to expect about Djerba and this Hotel Laico. However the atmosphere, food and people were all great! At first i had a funny feeling about the rooms but probably becourse we arrived at night! Not normal looking hotel rooms however a sittingroom with tv, a separate bedroom and ofcourse spacious bathroom that i think is a bit difficult for elderly people (bath+shower= same and very high to get into!). But in the morning i saw it was just wonderfull and really in Arabic style build like! Just try it, Hotel and staff are great! Will definetly go back there! Have fun everybody!

Room Tip: Maybe you can ask if they have low build showers for the elderly people! Baths are really high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We've been to this hotel a more than 5 times and it keeps getting better every single time. The service is good, the rooms are beautiful and clean. I would recommend this hotel to people with childeren, because the animationteam does everthing to keep the children busy everyday. There's a lot of animation for young and old. My brother (8years of age) had an awesome time in this hotel. The food and drinks were also good. If you wanna have some fun, choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Promo rooms are the same as the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our experiance within the hotel was good but when it came to the local men it was a different story and also the male hotel staff.On numerous occassions we where hasseled by all the male staff as they where under the impression that as we where 2 single females we where there for sexual incounters this was not the case we where there to relax and enjoy the sun!!!!! At times the male staff made us feel very intimated and under valued please be very aware of the male attention you may get if traveling as single women.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laico Djerba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laico Djerba Hotel

Address: BP 125, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laico Djerba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Laico Djerba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Djerba Midoun
Hotel Laico Djerba
Laico Djerba Hotel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laico Djerba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.