We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Djerba Palace 2012 - Average Hotel With Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar Djerba Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Miramar Djerba Palace to your Saves list
Miramar Djerba Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Djerba Palace 2012 - Average Hotel With Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is definitely not 4*, but you know how it works in northern Africa - remove one star to get the real rating comparable to the hotels in Europe. We paid 550 EUR per person for 11 days, all inclusive. For this price, it was worth it. Our room was nice and big, but we were warned by our friends that all of the staff in Tunisia is hungry for "bakshish". Therefore we bribed the receptionist to give us nice room as soon as we came there. The air-condition was great for about half of our stay. Then the hotel got filled to its capacity and the temperature in room has dramatically risen. Safe in the room worked perfectly, hair dryer was sort of working. Toilet and bathroom were cleaned on a daily basis and we experienced no cockroaches, only ants invasion once. Compared to other neighbouring rooms, our was the only one to have a balcony with the stairs out. Other balconies were closed. Also, we left 1 dinar-tips for cleaning lady for about every other day. As a result she was leaving beautiful things made from the towels and flowers on the bed.

Food was delicious. Plenty of choices, everybody found something for himself. Service was great too, but again - we left tips to waiters almost everyday. That resulted that the staff was nice, smilng, willing to help and even started to use english, not only french as they were before. Wide range of food - european and also native cousine. Only problem was that there was only 1.5 hours for the lunch and later when the capacity of hotel got filled to maximum it was hard to find a seat inside.

All inclusive. This was a bit disappointment. Breakfast, lunch and dinner with drinks - okay so far. However, drinks are a bit tricky. For breakfast, tea, coffee, milk and juice. All fine, but juice is pretty low quality. For lunch and dinner, additional options of water, beer, wine and soft drinks were added. You can take whole bottle of water with you to your room. Often, there was a problem with soft drinks - cola, fanta etc. The machines were usually out of drinks and it took waiters some time to refill it. Snacks in the afternoon - these were mostly leftover cakes from lunch and pancakes. Problem with pancakes was that a huge line of people formed even before they started to serve pancakes. Also, many of spoiled children mostly from France, took plenty of pancakes, while they only ate some of them. They threw the rest away. Drinks - at 10:00 am they opened the all inclusive bars - in the hotel and by the pools. In the hotel and by the big pool, the choices were the same. You can have water, beer, wine, tea, coffee, soft drinks and alcoholic beverages such as gin, boukha, vermouth, muscat, whisky etc. Soft drinks were available in self-operated machines and usually they were out of cola and sprite. You need to make sure bartenders know about it, otherwise they will not care to refill it. Also, the biggest glasses they have are 3 dcl. Which is definitely not enough for the beer in such high temperatures. By the other pool with salty water, there is a bar with a very nice bartender Mohamed. Problem is that he keeps all the bottles outside of fridge and he keeps soft-drinks machine in a small warehouse about 40 meters away from the bar. All inclusive customers have non-alcoholic drinks in a bar at the beach too. However it is only water and soft drinks from machine, which has the same problem as the machines described above. Also, machine by the beach is usually favored by bees. This hotel does not use glasses very much - besides the breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can look forward to app. 2 dcl plastic cups. All inclusive drinks are served till 11:00 pm. Forget about cocktails - these are not inlcuded.

The resort itself is clean, nice with plenty of green plants and grass. Has three outdoor and one indoor pools. The beach is app. 300 m far from the resort area, with the beach umbrellas and sunbeds for free. Sea was beautiful for most of the time, only after the sea storms it got polluted by kelp. Another weird thing was that there was huge traffic of horses and camels by the sea. I understand that these animals did not care about where they were defecating, but their owners did not care too. They simply did not clean after them, which meant that some of these feces got flushed by the sea...

Animation was the biggest disappointment. Although several of the animators speak english and german, they only did the animations in french.

People from France were about 80% of the clients, that is why it was hard to find the staff person who spoke some other, more global language. Most of these clients were arrogant and priggish as soon as they realised that you do not speak French. Also, most of these clients had little annoying children that turned the restaurant in the stadium - they kept running around, screaming pretty loudly, making sure that you wont be able to finish your meal peacefully. The only chance was to move to the terrace. However, it was damn hot out there. Also, I do not recommend that if you are allergic to cats. This hotel is definitely NOT suitable for couples. Although, if you have little kids who speak French, it is a paradise for them.

One last thing does not concern the hotel, but the trips organized at Djerba Island. First of all Quads. They say you will drive them to the desert and along the sea. Forget it. You will mostly drive around the island and see that it is damn dirty outside the resort. And as far as the sea is concerned, you will drive by the sea for about 10 minutes. (out of 2 hour trip)
The other trip we tried was Matmata-Gabes. A day-long trip called The Secret of Sahara Revealed. Forget about seeing Sahara. You will drive to Berber village Matmata. You will see some pretty amazing staff in there but it will take only about 20 minutes. Than we had chance to ride a camel. The camel looked like it was going to die by any minute as well as the old man who was going along with us. Also, we were not allowed to ride the camel one by one. Two person per camel. Then there was a lunch in a restaurant, which was supposed to offer traditional food. Of course it was the same food, as we had chance to have in the resort. Then we came to Gabes and we saw something like ZOO. It took us about 15 minutes to see all of it. So it was 35 minutes out of the whole day.

Room Tip: When you arrive, put about 10 EUR note into your passport and hand it to receptionist. Tell him that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    102
    74
    41
    25
See reviews for
121
82
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

hotel was nice enough bit like butlins in the sun lol.. everyone n everything is french, the staff were ok but other guests didn't seem to like the english, very rude and ignorant towards us were made to feel unwelcome.. entertainment is all french so all commentary is over your head haha..(the only thing in english was karaoke book) nice n quiet peaceful but out in the sticks only 2 shops over the road which didn't bother us but may matter to you, not sure i would use this hotel again .. couple of cockroaches living in the toilets but no big deal really, judge for yourselves i say ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were recommended this hotel by the Thomas Cook rep, told it was a very relaxing quiet location, with sunshine, good food and good accommodation. And this is what we got.
Rooms are large, with queen size bed, tv, clean bathroom and nice balcony.
We went all inclusive, and had great food everyday. The only downside was the food was more or less the exact same everyday.. which by the 5th day got a bit less inviting.
The staff are very friendly, helpful but only speak french. As an english young couple, we found it very difficult to converse with any other guests.. who unfortunately did not seem to have any interest in conversing with english people.
Definitely take the offer up on going quad biking.. it works out at about £20 per person and you tour the island on a quad-bike for on average 2 hours. Great photo opportunities and amazing views and great fun. We went 3 times, well worth it.
Great holiday overall, only downside was everything and everyone was french.. and there is no english translation for any activities or food or menu's. Perhaps take a translator :)
Would definitely return but in a few years time.
One last thing.. the men seem to love british women and are not shy on showing this, so just nod and keep walking.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same description, each with a good size balcony. The rooms on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

great hotel great staff great rooms great food great beach learn sum french you will be fine .and no engish people bliss

Room Tip: learn please and thank you smile alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

2 weeks in September 2011. After reading some of the reviews we weren't sure what to expect. As a couple with grown up children (left at home) we found the staff friendly - some in the dining room were run ragged but mainly had a friendly smile (even if they didn't understand English). We went half board and always able to get served, (a small tip works wonders) even the all inclusive people who we saw had no problems getting served. Food very good but found a lot of it was turkey based in one form or another! I would say if you are looking for all night partying this is not the place for you, if you want to relax, sunbathe, read a book or two? then this is the place for you. We mainly based ourselves at the 'quiet' pool it does what it says on the tin, the guy at the pool was very helpful and got used to our routine of coffee at 11am every morning :-). Being British isn't a problem there, although majority are French/German they tried very hard to include us, however we prefer to watch rather than participate.
The rooms were clean and quiet large, we had a balcony which was private but the only thing that would have been nice is more than one English channel on the TV which was the News..... We've been on a few holidays to North Africa where the staff bother you all the time for 'joining in' or to do this or that, but once you've said no thank you in this place they accepted this and left you in peace. The beach bar was great for lunch, overlooking the sea, we saw dolphins lolloping in the sea on one occasion which was fantastic to see, and camels walking on the beach. Well worth the price, Enjoy the relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, however, the staff were lovely, the pool areas - there were 3 to choose from - were beautiful. You couldnt imagine a more delightful beach, although when the weather is rough out at sea quite a lot of seaweed gets washed up but this is removed daily. There is lots of choice on the buffet at mealtimes and the wine is drinkable (if you dont like the white wine, keep trying it, we found that no two bottles tasted the same although they had the same label). We did all get tummy upsets so take your Diacalm with you.
Its probably not up to our four star standards but it is clean, no bugs were seen thank goodness.
Taxis are dirt cheap for local trips like the crocodile farm (fantastic).
The rep Rachid is extremely helpful , the Berber Village trip and Tatouine are great even with three teenagers!
Just one tip - only change the money you think you need because you get ripped off big style when you try to change it back to euros at the airport.
All the entertainment is in French which can get a little annoying as they know they have many different nationalities staying, that being said, once they know you are English you will be left alone to relax!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

the hotel was clean enough and the food edible but unless you want a REALLY quite holiday this is not the place.if you have got kids there is not much to do here we are four adults and we went to bed at 23.30 to midnight every night the entertainment that is on is all in french i believe this is only the second year that it as been taking britsh holiday makers so i MIGHT come back in about 5 years if its still going by then. you might want to take a good fly squatter with you and if you go all inclusive the bar shuts early and the beach bar you have to pay for all your drinks, if you are paying they will serve you at the table all inclusive you stand at the bar and wait your turn

Room Tip: we requested a balcony and sea view got the balcony on the ground floor looking at a footpath :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramar Djerba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Djerba Palace

Address: Route Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramar Djerba Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the tourist area of Midoun in Djerba, in the middle of a large park, about 200 m from the sea, with direct access to the best private sandy beach on the island, through the sand dunes greenery and the palm.The hotel DJERBA PALACE, four stars is 25 km from Djerba-Zarzis International Airport, 16 km from Houmt Souk (the capital of the island), 5 km from Midoun and near the golf course of Djerba 3courses of 9 holes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Miramar Djerba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Djerba Palace Hotel Midoun
Miramar Hotel Djerba
Miramar Djerba Palace Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramar Djerba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.