We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
Brussels
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A nice place for a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has been renovated. The rooms are nice and cosy, with an elegant light grey painting. The swimming pool area is large, with a lovely design. The animation is overall les noisy than in other places around, though it can sometimes be a pain. The food is so-so, with the exception of the tasty Tunisian restaurant. The beach area is a bit disappointing and would need more care. The evening shows are so basic that they are sometimes almost hilarious. Themes are sometimes odd, with an evening with 4 Tunisian young guys trying to interpret Irish celtic dances: rather unexpected for Djerba :-) .
pOverall, a good place if your want to rest during a break.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    307
    79
    31
    2
See reviews for
295
243
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Describe the service you experienced
Me and my girlfriend went to Djerba Plaza last year. Looking back at the trip, we really had a pleasant stay and I want to review our stay.

The service of the hotel was very good, and the staff was friendly but there was some staff who I felt insulted by when i spoke in english to them. And that was the major problem at Djerba Plaza. Most of the staff did not speak english at all which we found very difficult. The staff was apart from that very good in German, French and Italian. These countries represented a big majority of the residents.

The food at the all inclusive wasn't as bad as I had been warned about before leaving, but it could be a little bit tasteless. Anyway, I didn't complain as I never went to bed hungry! One problem at the buffe was that the signs where in German and French and no one knew what it was in english...

The room we got was really nice and probably just a year old or so. We found a bottle of rose and a fruit basket waiting for us when we checked in. The beds where comfortable.
The cleaning was excellent and they didn't take the tips we left them some times.
Try not to get a ground-floor room with terrace towards the wall at the back of the hotel, it's not fun to watch...
CAUTION - Most of the rooms at the hotel where older and in arabic style. It's a matter of taste, if you want the older ones, but we looked at one to change, and didn't felt like we was at a four star hotel.

The hotel are situated at the coast, pretty far away from the closest village. This means that you need to get a taxi if your going to a store or a restaurant. This is acceptable due to the hotel has a big pool area which i have to say was excellent! A taxiride was really cheap and nothing to be afraid of!

So, what I liked best about Djerba Plaza was the modern rooms and the poolarea. The beach was also great but could be found in the whole mediteranian sea. In the all-inclusive, alcohol was included which was an extra plus. The service was overall very good.

The less good things... Where the languages spoken and that all signs and information was adjusted to german, french and italian. The location is a little bit of if you want to be able to just walk out and se something else without making a thing out of it.
The food could be a bit tasteless and the tunisian resturant was nice but we had been served some of it at the buffe. We didn't had the time to try the italian as it was open once a week, and nobody told us that or the fact that one have to book a table at check in to be sure about getting a table.

Pros
Clean hotel
The Poolarea was great
A private beach with a resturant (all inclusive)
The room we got was modern and clean!

Cons
The languages spoken
The location
The food wasn't bad, but lacked variation
Information about the a la carte - all inclusive

And for those with family and kids, the hotel seemed really good for kids as they organized volleyball, waterpolo and other activities. Not sure if they spoke English though...

Room Tip: Ask for the new ones (not sure about sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Been there last summer with wife and 2 kids (4&1). It is located 300-400m from the beach. Beach at the spot is very bad with sharp stones in the sea and sandy beach.
The swimming pool is excellent, together with kid's pool. Hotel has indoor pool. We wanted to use it one windy day, but entry was only permitted to spa guests, which would cost about 25TD (15EUR) per person, which was too expensive to pay.
Hotel is clean and the rooms are very nice with large LCD and large balcony.
Food choice is rather limited and repeating every day. Service in restaurants is very bad. Stuff has bad clothes and service speed is low. Once, my baby broken salt pot and waiter started to raise his voice at us and other time I turn down my order of drink because they brought it after 20 minutes and finished meal. Also, dinner was starting at 20.00h which caused kids to be very hungry (the are no shops around to buy anything). No kids meals.
Lunch was not included in rate and only restaurant you can eat is 100m from the hotel building (there are no other places to eat around) and is all open outside with parasols as only protection from the sunshine at 13.30. It was very hot there and the outside temperature was up to 30 only. Imagine how it is when it is 40+?
Kid's club is not good with only few toys to play with and animators paying more attention on available parents than the kids.
Swimming pool bar is open from 10.30 'till 18.00, so you can only imagine early drink.
Majority of guests are from Germany, France and Sweden and most of them retired and few with small kids, causing stuff speaking mostly German and French and very few English.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a really pleasent stay at Djerba Plaza hotel this summer. Big hotel with a excellent facilities and a welcoming staff. Friendly atomsphere, nice food, very good service,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to get out the most of their vacation.
We stayed for a week and we would love to go back another time, to the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersaurach, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great location, nice beach, edible food, but smokers everywhere--the rooms, the lobby, even the restaurants. Pros--spa is very relaxing, great hairdresser, nice rates for money exchange, great tours available from the tour companies, exceptionally clean and quiet rooms, close to Djerba Explore, safe beach. Cons--typical heavy German food with no variety except for evening entrees, smokers everywhere, store clerks a little pushy, no shopping within walking distance. Only suitable for smokers.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

- Bathroom Temperature Regulator definitely out of service .... seems to be a central Problem as other guests suffered from the same issue
- Indoor Restaurant without conditioner at 38° !
- The lobby stops the conditioner from 1pm to the Sunset (saving policy ....)
- When internet is down it can take them 3 days before they fix it

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Okay, let's get the basics out of the way first.

1. This is primarily a German & French speaking part of Tunisia. I wouldn't recommend going along without a decent grasp of one of these languages.

2. This hotel, and many others along the coast, look after you well, have good all-inclusive food & drink, but that's it. There are no bars, restaurants or shops within walking distance. You will need to jump into a taxi, even to visit the closest local shops.

3. Djerba Airport is horrible, and simply not equipped for it's current numbers of tourists. You get off the plane, and hit a one-hour queue to get through customs. By which time the next plane has arrived, and the process starts again.

The hotel is good, we paid 840 CHF each (about £350) for a week's all inclusive holiday.

The hotel is nice, but the rooms fall into the "basic" category, rather than something resembling 4-star. You get a "free mini-bar" which translates to a free bottle of Sprite, Coke, Water and Fanta each day. The "all-inclusive" option pretty much pays for everything - food, soft & alcoholic drinks by the pool and in the bars, and bottles of water. You will find it difficult to spend any money here !

The swimming pools are huge, the sunbeds are free and plentiful around the pool, but soon run out on the beach. It should be noted that the beach is about a 10 minute walk down a path. It's strange the hotel isn't directly on the sea front, as there's nothing but wasteland between the hotel and the beach.

Anyway, on the beach are more free hotel sunbeds (if you can get one) and a hotel bar, where you can enjoy more all-inclusive drinks and lunch, if you wish.


Onto the bad points.

We were there during Ramadam, which means the staff don't eat after sunrise, and before sunset. There are two side-effects to this: by 5pm, they are starving, and tend to ignore you more. Also, if you go along around sunset time (7.30pm-ish), then don't be surprised to find no one around at all for about half an hour.

Customer service throughout the hotel was very good, with one exception: the outdoor hotel snack bar, La Sirene, has the worst customer service I've seen. They would literally ignore you sometimes, even going as far as nodding to you (three times on one day) as you try to get their attention to be served, then they'd continue emptying ashtrays, chatting with the Germans, and ignoring you. Terrible service.

Evening entertainment was pretty dire, which, given the lack of alternative things to do nearby, was a shame.



So, in all, would I recommend this hotel ?

Well, if you want to relax, do nothing, and stay very close to a hotel at all times, by all means, by for it. Personally, I would prefer to go to a more established resort in Tunisia.

There are two markets worth visiting, in Houmt-Souk, 17Km away (about 7 CHF, £3 taxi away), and in Midoun, 5Km away (3 CHF, £2 away). If you don't like markets, well, enjoy the hotel, as that's all that's left.


My tips:

1. On all-inclusive, you are allowed one meal served from a menu, typically at the outdoor La Sirene restaurant. You have to book ahead, and it's worth giving a go.

2. Go on, splash out. Spend 10 CHF (about £4) on the taxi each way from the airport to the hotel. Particularly on the way back to the airport, it saves you arriving at the same time as 80 other people on the coach. Given how slow the airport services are, this will save a lot of time.

3. Also at the airport, after checking in your luggage, remember to spend any leftover Dinars BEFORE you go through the first security gate. Once you're through the first "passengers only" section, the only method of payment they accept is Euro's. You've been warned !

  • Liked — All inclusive covered everything, even wine & spirits
  • Disliked — Nothing else around, terrible service at La Sirene.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: Zone Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#5 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Plaza Hotel And Spa
Djerba Plaza Hotel Midoun
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.