We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter break with outstanding hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Djerba la Douce

Save Saved
You added Club Med Djerba la Douce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Djerba la Douce
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ile de Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Midoun
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great winter break with outstanding hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my first Club Med experience and I arrived with an open mind and to open arms. I came away with a group of 5 friends in early December with the intention of playing tennis in the winter sun 'tous le jours'. The numerous clay courts were in great condition and the indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room was 'exactly what the doctor ordered' after a day on the courts. All of the hotel staff were excellent. It was not very busy at the hotel during my stay, which was perfect. The food was of a high standard and despite the relatively few guests, a wide range of options were available. I would certainly recommend visiting this resort in early December if you would like a relaxed winter 'pick me up' with some activities to keep you busy. Also, It has the added bonus of being cheaper than at peak holiday times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    395
    141
    63
    31
See reviews for
490
158
97
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jabbeke
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the first time we post a review on tripadvisor as we feel obliged to share this experience with you.
We booked a holiday at clubmed djerba la douce from 27th till 3th of November and are from day 1 disappointed as it doesn't meet our expectations at all.
We just expected more value and quality for the money we paid. Clubmed normally has the image of offering this, but sadly this club missed this opportunity completely.
Although we see here and there efforts are being done to make the club more modern, it remains outdated...back to the eighties....
Local people are working hard to keep the place and environment clean, but this is not always easy in these circumstances. The smelly seaweed at the beach is removed daily with a noisy bulldozer but not always succesfully, leaving it not to be very attractive to spend your day on.
Our room at the Azizza is with the beach view (nice view!) as asked for but the inside of the room is very basic. Beds are of good quality. No wifi access in the room.. (wifi very limited and not always working and only nearby Calypso reception). The airconditioner in the room has clearly missed some cleaning and or maintenance as it showed evidence of moulds and dirt. The showerhead is full of scale and required urgent replacement. The only positive is that every day our room is nicely cleaned, but this is to be considered as normal in every hotel, don't you think so?
Going to catering... Clubmed is (was??) known for offering nice food buffets but also here nothing very positive. The warm food is put under heating lamps or put in large heating bowls, this is very basic and what we got is dried out fish or meat which were cold when put on our plate. The icemachine where kids get their icecream from is dirty and the cooling elements blowing the cold air over the icecream are full of mould. Putting everywhere signs that people need to desinfect hands have no sense when basic good manufacturing process requirements, like good cleaning of equipement, are missed. My friend suffered from day 1 of a stomach bug and the people of the bar nor the doctor didn't look suprised at all...common practice so it seems ?
May be a detail, but there is no freshly pressed orange juice at breakfast and coffee is not very good (cold and poor Quality). Breakfast is every day the same, lunch and diner chang daily but in the end I feel seeing and eating every day the same food.
But what even shocked us more are the cats overall present in and around the restaurants. Not one, but more than dozen cats looking for food during our breakfast, lunch and diner. There is a warning that kids shouldn't touch them as there are known to be full of illnesses and diseases. It is unacceptable to see that cats jump ON the table the moment we went looking for our dessert. Believe me your appetite is fastly gone...

Room Tip: Azizza building, with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As a Club Med resort,you tend to know what to expect but here the standards have fallen too far.
We stayed for a week in August and on the resort was very full,but that does not excuse serious lapses.
On the plus,we stayed in the Calypso building which was renovated about two years ago,had its own pool and the rooms were fine and clean.The grounds are magnificent and well maintained,no shortage of loungers and plenty of sports as usual,sailing,tennis etc.
The beach is ok,,but could not be described as golden sands and clear blue water..more mass of seaweed.
The main concern is the lack of hygiene,from the staff and in the kitchen.We were twice served uncooked poultry and we all suffered stomach bugs and when you looked around the place is not clean.When I witnessed a perspiring waiter wiping his sweaty brow as he was setting tables and then continue touching cutlery..I think I got the drift.Tables were not cleared or cleaned properly and the local staff showed an air of resentment bordering on scorn.
It was the first time we had witnessed this at a club and there was a distinct lack of joie de vivre displayed by the local staff,which usually adds to the club med experience.
So you'll get the sun and the facilities,but you'll get a boring cuisine(parts of which could cause serious illness) and we are sure there is better out there.
I also felt that the management were indifferent,as when told that at breakfast that the eggs were cold,the restaurant manager said I should report it to the girl at the griddle..not his problem.

Room Tip: Book the Calypso beach facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent a week at Club Med Djerba La Douce (4-11 Aug) and was almost happy to flee to Djerba La Fidèle.
The CDV was - part from his evening trapeze shows - rather invisible and distant as was most of his team, except for a very few ones but to name: Fernando, Aurélien (Bar Calypso) and PJ.
There was indeed a lot of seaweed but you can't blame CM for it. They are doing their best to get rid of it.
The geneal atmosphere was so so. The place ai overcrowded and the staff (particularly at the restaurant and bar) was kind of stressed by the crowd and probably exhausted by the Ramadan.
Hygiene is a problem: I've been having serious stomach problems since my stay there (I've been travelling to many different places in North Africa).
All in all, if you are a family with teenagers, it will probably be the perfect place for you otherwise go to the neighbouring club where they still know wat CM entertainment means.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

great beach and pools. Food really diverse and delicious. Ambiance very Club Med. my kids age 14 and 15 had the time of their lives. one small problem though.....no wifi in rooms, have to to go and waste time in a special wifi room. necessary as internet connection super expensive in tunisia. but overall a great place!

Room Tip: beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Djerba la Douce, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Djerba La Douce Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a great time and that you enjoyed the Resort facilities and the quality of the food.

We hope to welcome you again soon in one of our Resort.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Just spent one week at djerba la douce, my 3rd club med experience, had such a relaxing week I would highly recommend this village..the GO were all extremely friendly, very family oriented, perfect weather. The only small critique is the beach has lots of seaweed and the water wasn't as clear as I was expecting. Rooms were quiet, clean, grounds nice, food pretty good. Service excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A welcoming and smiling team
Accomodation met our expectations

Some problems with the flow of water in the bathroom

Room Tip: We slept in bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Djerba la Douce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Djerba la Douce

Address: Ile de Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Midoun
#6 Family Hotel in Midoun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Djerba la Douce 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Djerba, the mythical Club Med Village of Djerba la Douce enjoys constant sunshine, a clear blue sea and a pleasant and steady wind to fill the sails of its catamarans. With its hotels and bungalows and their flowering patios, inspired by Tunisian architecture, this Club Med Village offers an encounter with the Orient, both through the art of looking after yourself and through its refined cuisine. Relaxation and sport are there to suit your every whim, at any level of intensity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Djerba la Douce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Djerba La Douce Hotel Midoun
Club Med Midoun
Midoun Club Med
Club Med Djerba La Douce Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Djerba la Douce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.