We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place on the seafront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lagune

La Lagune
Spiaggia La Fidel, Midoun, Djerba Island, Tunisia
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Midoun
Cuisines: Tunisian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very cool place on the seafront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Delicious fresh seafood grilled on the spot delicious very cool place on the seafront
for all those who like natural atmosphere without whites tablecloths:)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    60
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We spent an afternoon on the beach here. Business was pretty brisk at lunchtime, so we decided to wait until early evening. By the time the sun was setting and the locals were swimming their horses off the beach, we had the place to ourselves and were on our way back to Houmt Souk by the time the evening diners began to arrive. My partner had a mixed plate of calimari and prawns whilst I opted for the fresh grilled dorade (sea bream) which was a snip at 15 dinars (About £5.50), all served with salad and frites. Absolutely delicious and highly recommended. No alcohol served but for us that wasn't an issue.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

very nice views, lovely trip on horses or carriage but the lagune has only 20 cm of quite hot water around

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“too much hype on net nothing that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013


when i asked how big the prawns will be ??the waiter showed me with his fingers about 15 cms or 6 inches and said 12 pcs. and price was about 12 euros a plate.
we ordered the grilled king prawns.they were not king or tiger prawns. they mixed some large shrimps about 10cms (4 inches) and some 8 cms (3 inches).the were not properly grilled
as the inside was mushee and dripping out as soon as we try to open them.they dont serve beer and august month is very hot!!. they r off the main road 10/15 min walk (depending on your age and stamina)they could not call a taxi for us.
it was windy that day , tables on beach and tablecloth trying to fly off every 30 sec or so..to conclude .too far from hotel 15 min
on a windy area(beach) meals get cold fast, service was too long will not recommend for lunch trip unless one wants to stay on the beach for the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gambas on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the exterior, although it appears to be in the middle of nowhere this is a lovely place for dinner.

They serve prawns (huge ones) with chips and salad. No alcohol but the food was delicious! There was no menu and we were served a soup with bread to start, gambas then some melon and mint tea to finish. This was 52 tunisian dinars (although he kept insisting that the soup, melon and tea was for free- I personally think he built it into the price).

They speak some English and the restaurant definitely has character. Worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lagune also viewed

 
Midoun, Djerba Island
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to La Lagune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lagune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.