We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but 4 star!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba to your Saves list
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone touristique BP 82, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Midoun
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but 4 star!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, but it is just simply not the best hotel in Djerba!
#1 is Hasdrubal Prestige
#2 is Radisson Blue
#3 is this hotel
I was the first time in Djerba and my agency couldn’t help me to make a right choice.
The Thalassa & SPA were ok. I took 4 day package and spent 3 hours per day doing different treatments.
I didn’t like much massage.
My suite was ok, but nothing special.
I liked beach and pool area. And I dine outside of hotel in the hotel restaurants that I mentioned before.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    54
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
127
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
FRANCE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I was in Hasdrubal with my godmother in September especially for the Thalasso
We were very impressed upon arrival with the luxury of the resort
All the staff is very polite and will do anything to help

Thalasso was good as it was our first time . Will only suggest less wait between 2 cessions and less talk from the staff in front of the guests
If you like massage, ask for Elgia, she was the best
Overall was excellent
The housekeeper was great and was taking a excellent care of our room daily
The best was the restaurant . Thanks Ali, Zizou, Mohamed, Gigi and Amor for such an exceptional service.The food was excellent.
Animation definitely has to improve
The sea was beautiful and the long beach was excellent for walk
A lot to do....don't miss Chenini / Tatouine , horseback ridding, the desert....

We will be back , it was a very nice experience

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

The Hasdrubal Hotel turned out to be a great choice without any regret. The hotel is rated 5-star for the local standard, and the service can indeed be rated 5-star according to the western standard, although the furnishing of the room is less than a 5-star western standard.

First of all the check-in procedure was first-class. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted at the entrance and the luggage was picked up. We were then chauffeured to the sitting area and served with refreshing juice as the check-in being taken care of by the bell man. However, I have to add that after we checked into our room, we waited for quite some time (20 min) for our luggage and it never came. Having arrived after midnight, we were pretty eager to rest early. In the end we had to go down to the reception to find out the whereabouts of our luggage. Turned out, the staffs were very occupied due to another big group of tourists who had just arrived. However, after being reminded that we needed it asap, they were kind enough to send the luggage to our room within the next few minutes. The staffs were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Aside from the daily room service, there was also an evening room service. Someone came in the early evening to make sure we were not short of towels or anything.

The room was very spacious, furnished in Arabic style. Aside from the bedding area, there was a small sitting area, and balcony/terrace. In addition to the standard towels, we were also provided with sandals and bath robes, which one could use when going to the spa.

The beach was of top quality! The sea was very nice, the sand very white and soft. The surrounding was very quiet, one can truly feel relaxed there. Directly across from the hotel was a shopping center, where one could shop for souvenirs. There was also tennis court, beach volley ball, etc. There were several swimming pools. Two unheated outdoor pools, one heated outdoor pool, and one heated in-door pool. I never tried, but I suspected the pool directly outside of the additional heated sea-water pool in the spa was also filled with sea water.

Another thing to be noted is that the people who stayed at the hotel were very elegant and well mannered-people, a big contrast to the previous hotels we stayed in. Here there were almost no loud people, and we (in early 30s) could easily be one of the few youngest there. That really helped in creating a quiet dining/pool/beach area. No loud partying or getting-drunk crowd here. All the guests were very friendly and greeted each other politely whenever they met. It’s perfect if you want a relaxing vacation not surrounded by loud/drunk people.

The food was acceptable. You get live piano music every night at dinner. There are usually two appetizers, 3 main dishes, and two desserts to choose from. For the appetizers and desserts you can choose from the buffet or the menu, which were always soups and mixed ice cream. Overall the food was acceptable. Occasionally, you get one of those “typical Tunisian appetizers” at the buffet and they were much better. At the bottom of the menu it also mentioned that there was one or two “local dishes of the day”, which was unfortunately written only in French and partially in German. We missed that small section and did not have a chance to order the local specialties until the last day of our stay. They turned out to be much tastier than the “western food” available there.

The spa was not operated by the hotel. Overall the spa experience was good. It was clean and heavily staffed. However, if you don’t speak French or German, then expect to have a bit of hard time there. At the receptionist there’ll be people who could speak French/German/English, but the people who worked at the spa generally speak only French (in addition to Arabic or course) and very little German or English. Overall the service could be improved. Sometimes you feel that you’re being rushed from one treatment to the other without giving you sufficient time in between. They were also not doing very well in terms of providing you with information, explaining you what you’re getting, and what it does for you, and why it is good. The first day I went from one treatment to the other without really knowing what I was getting myself into. The second day was more or less the “repeated version” of the first day so it was better. But overall, they didn’t do a good job (partially due to the language barrier, I do not speak French and they speak very limited English or German) in explaining me what I got. I finished the 3-day treatment without knowing much more about the treatment than before. During the treatment period the spa clients also have full access to their indoor aromatherapy room and salted-swimming pool, unfortunately this was also not explained to us by the staffs and we had to discover it ourselves from the booklet.

The massages we received were good, although I couldn’t say the same for the facial/beauty care. The first day their schedule was full I was rushed in, being wiped some tonic on my face, put on some mask and left alone there for 10 minutes, later someone came to cleaned it away and in 15 minutes I was done. The second day the facial was started at least with a proper cleaning procedure.

All the tour companies offer more or less the same version of extra trips. We took a trip to the south of Tunisia through the desserts, to Tataouine and the Berber villages. At the price we paid, the trip was very well worth. Do not do the trip to the Flamingo Island! It’s one of the biggest tourist traps I’ve ever seen. Basically, the idea was to put bunch of tourists in a so-called pirate ships, sailed across to an abandoned island and served them lunch and then bring them back. The island has absolutely nothing (really, absolutely nothing, just one flat island, no trees, buildings, nothing), and rather dirty with abandoned bottles and stuffs here and there. The quality of the beach at Hasdrubal was much better and view was much nicer that we wondered why we wasted our time there. Upon arrival at the island, we were given 1 hr to wonder around before lunch, since there was absolutely nothing to see on the island, most people gathered close to the lunch location after 30 min. What came with the trip was waste of a day of our limited time in Tunisia. Plus I should add that there’s no bath room on the island (again there was absolutely nothing there), so one has to use the so called “5-star” bathroom on the ships, which stink like hell and had no flushing water. A better trip would be to take a day to wonder around the Djerba island, which has much more sights and activities to offer than the Flamingo island, which has absolutely neither flamingo nor dolphin like what they claimed.

Finally, I was pleasantly pleased that the Tunisian (at least those in the touristic industry) were very punctual, we were always picked up punctually and they usually arrive punctually at the appointment.

Overall, the stay at Hasdrubal was wonderful, for the price we paid, it really set the standards high. We definitely recommend it and will definitely consider going there again!

  • Liked — Service and friendliness of the staffs as well as the people staying there
  • Disliked — The repetitiveness of the food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Went to Djerba for a relaxing one week break, wish I could've stayed two. Fabulous hotel and thalasso (prices very competitive). The rooms are very spacious with a large balcony overlooking gardens or sea. Service impeccable, staff highly qualified, helpful and friendly. Good food - buffet style - with a different choice of tunisian dishes every day. Lovely beach - what more can you want!! The thalasso is just great going back next feb/march for a week's cure.

  • Liked — space, hygiene, separate toilets, big bathroom, big beds, restaurant, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

I went to Djerba with family and friends, for our summer holyday. We spend there 8 very pleasant days.
Staff is friendly, good food, rooms with lots of space.
We had a problem, at check-in, because we booked an extra bed for a 11 years child, but it is an hotel policy that the extra beds are only for 9 and below (because the beds are small). Traveler agent was the responsible for that, as did not advise us. One of the possibilities offered by the hotel manager was to book an additional room, but we ended up by having tree child in 2 side by side twin beds, without complaints from the child (good chance for pillow wars...). As a compensation for this incident we had a bottle of Tunisian wine and a fruits basket in our room, with the manager's compliments.
A final word for the waiter in the café Maure. Very well dressed with typical dress, very professional, friendly and worm.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba

Address: Zone touristique BP 82, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#1 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#1 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#4 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hasdrubal Thalassa And Spa Djerba
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba Hotel Midoun
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel Djerba
Hasdrubal Thalassa Midoun
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.